Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.79
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2010
This is a great book, written by one of the unsung heroes of football - a man who worked extremely closely with the greatest managerial partnership ever! There's loads that I didn't know about the dealings that went on and the gambling! Would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in the Great Man of football.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
This is a superb book by Maurice Edwards recalling the life and times of Brian Clough & Peter Taylor as their chief scout. There was a lot of stuff that I was totally unaware of before reading the book including a certain link between Peter Taylor and Manchester United. What exactly? Read the book and see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
I was expecting a series of anecdotes and fun revelations about the famous pairing. Unfortunately, these were few and far between. This book is basically a biography of a chief scout - the first 25% of the book is his playing career and struggle to buy a post office, not what I was after. The rest of the book is a meander through a list of some of the authors favourite scouting achievements and Brian and Peter are, frankly, somewhat an after thought. A well intentioned book but it doesn't provide any insight or amazement to an already well stocked topic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2010
I have to say what a letdown this book was. While Maurice Edwards seems a totally decent guy and comes over as such, his close proximity to two of the game's greats is barely reflected in the book. I bought this expecting some wonderful insights and behind-the-scenes stuff about Clough and Taylor - but after a while I found myself trudging through mundane accounts of past events with no really new revelations. The title is enticing, but the content is a real case of not doing what it said on the tin. That Maurice was close to these guys is obviously not in question, but as you struggle to get to the end of the book, you can't help thinking it is a fantastic opportunity missed. By the end I honestly didn't feel I knew the two of them any better which was the promise in the title and the whole point of buying it. Good idea - poorly executed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2012
Worth buying put over well by Maurice. He seen them from a totally different side and I really enjoyed this book. He`s pretty down to earth and just writes his stuff as he did it and saw it,so there no unecessary drama. He does let you into to some sides of both Characters that you may not have heard before. Classic demonstration of why Brian and Peter were better together than a part.
A good read but not a page turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
A very good read , interesting and informative about the behind the scenes world of football. Very entertaining insight into the life and times of Brian & Peter a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
A lovely change to hear how a modest man can do great and valuable work and unfortunately gain minimum recogniton even from the beneficiaries of all those years of toil.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
An excellent book. A good insight into how Brian Clough and Peter Taylor worked together during their lifetime in football.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
A must read for those who believe Cloughie was the best manager England never had
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
I must say this book was not what I was expecting but on the otherhand I really enjoyed reading this book, It was very intriging and interesting to read about how transfers where done and how much teams actually payed for players in such an era when football wasnt the bits and glam that it is in these days and it showed that anyone who took an interst and had a eye for football could get involved in with such big football clubs in these days the closest you get to been involved unless you make it as a footballer is sunday league or been in the crowd watching and supporting your team.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)