Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2013
Joe Pesci is typed cast as a New Jersey thug. He plays the co-owner of the Love Ranch (Mustang Ranch) Charlie Bontempo (Joe Conforte in real life). His co-owner wife, Grace (Sally Burgess) is played by the classy Helen Mirren. They had owned illegal brothels, which appears to have been easier than the headaches associated with legal ones and having to deal with "25 psychotics," as Grace puts it.

The movie captured the bikini clad girls of the era. There is brief nudity and sexual situations as one would expect from such a movie, but it is minimal considering the topic. Of course Pesci drops the f-bomb like only Pesci can. The movie failed to capture the frequent celebrity appearances at the ranch. Rather it focuses on the year 1976. Grace finds out she has cancer and maybe six months to live. She tries to tell Charlie, who is too busy with the talent. Charlie gets an idea for Argentinian boxer Bruza (Oscar Bonavena) to train at the ranch to attract clients. While at the ranch Bruza and Grace have an affair. The movie is based on a true story and did a fair job in following it. The closing dialogue of the movie implies that the ranch's tax problems came shortly after the shooting of Bruza in 1976. That is not true. It wasn't until 1990 that the IRS took over the Ranch and Joe Conforte fled to Brazil. The Mustang II ranch shown at the end of the movie was erected in 1982.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2011
Having been a fan of Dame Helen's for quite a while i have come to learn that if her name is on it ,chances are it's gonna be good,but this was something else !!!!
By all accounts this movie has ,what i consider to be a winning formula : Brilliant actors + an amazing director + a beautiful story ,to me this equals a high quality piece of film,but it doesn't seem to have been recognised as such!!
I think it deserved much more than the limited release it got and i ,for one will be buying a few copies of this and recommending it to anyone that will listen !!!!!
If you haven't seen it yet ,i implore you to buy it and give it a go,you WILL NOT regret it :)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
What a brave choice for Helen Mirren! This couldn't be more contrary to her role as The Queen or most other roles opted for by actresses of her generation but she pulls it off with splendor and ease as always, showing just how amazing and versatile an actress she is. The story is unconvential, which makes this an even more interesting choice for her and the end result is raw, emotional and gripping... I cried loads!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
I bought this simply because it is a Helen Mirren film and I wasn't disappointed! Not one of her big, famous roles, but still a good showcase for her talent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 26 November 2010
The year is 1976, and Grace and Charlie Bontempo operate a legal brothel in Reno. Ever the hustler, Charlie buys an up-and-coming boxer from Argentina whom Grace at first dislikes, but later comes to love.

The movie, based on a true story, is tawdry and unpleasant, loaded with profanity and so tedious it was hard to finish. Helen Mirren looks like she hates being in every scene and her innate dignity doesn't fit the low-life character she plays. As her husband, Joe Pesci is repulsive and hard to watch while Sergio Peris-Mencheta lacked charisma as the boxer.

The whole story seems as dry and dull as the Reno desert landscape. The movie isn't entertaining, it's just a boring story about unsympathetic losers.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
I'm Spanish and I bought this film because I love Sergio Peris-Mencheta and I couldn't find "Love Ranch" in my country. I was very surprised by his performance in this film. He plays very well his role. The only I didn't like was that there weren't any subtitles, even in English, and sometimes I didn't catch the dialogues...anyway It's easy to follow the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
funny,lovely,cruel,kind,sad.
top actors made the film, worthwhile watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
Helen Mirren is absolutely wonderful and perfect.
One of the best of many from Helen Mirren.

Beautiful love story.
Beautiful picture.

Thumps up to the director Taylor Hackford.

If you loved Ms.Mirren, you gonna loved 'Love Ranch'

I would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2016
An extra star for Helen Mirren but don't waste your time or money on this. I had high hopes for this but it really is a misfire. Pesci does a variation on his old Scorsese roles, Sergio Peris-Mencheta is ok but the material just isn't worthy of a film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Film arrived promptly and in good condition. Really enjoyed this film it was an easy watch and a must for all Pesci and Mirren fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)