Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2017
just beautiful music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
Great CD - used it to help with school play rehearsals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
An excellent collection of songs from the film & cover versions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2004
I absolutely love the film Beauty and the Beast and needed the soundtrack. I have nearly all of the Disney soundtracks and this soundtrack, along with the Aladdin and The Little Mermaid soundtracks are the best. It contains all of the music from the film, and unlike with some of the soundtracks, none of the characters voices over the songs have been edited out. The best songs on this soundtrack are Gaston, The Mob Song and Beauty and the Beast and even the reprises are brilliant. With this edition you also get a new song, Human Again and a demo recording, but the quality of the classic songs surpass the new song and the demo recording. Prepare to be blown away.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2005
This wonderful CD has fifteen tunes drawn straight from Disney's hit movie, Beauty and the Beast. The prologue includes the poem-like story of the Beast, and then the CD launches into the songs. They're all here (though not in the order that they were in the movie, sadly), even five instrumental tunes that were in the background during exciting scenes.
The paperwork for the CD is minimal, with no "extras" or anything to recommend it. But, the music is great, making this CD a great purchase for anyone who has to take car rides with kids (like me). Highly recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
It doesn't beat watching the visuals with it- but if you have seen the film (and I warn you sternly- you MUST before purchasing this) you will love being able to sing along to it while getting on with domestic life.
The 'Beauty and the Beast' tune is famous (nice voice J.B Fletcher!) and, obviously, so is 'Be our Guest'...But best of all are Gaston's vain, manly, arrogant, booming ditties. Gaston is one of the most underated villians ever...anyone who has come into contact with his villianous charm will love the git forever in the same way we adore Darth Vader and Gollum. Disney are making a live-action movie of 'Malificent'...and did one about Snow White where a lot of attention was given to the Evil Queen (Charlize Theron)...also in their sites for this format is Cruella Deville...

Great. Now let's hope they do one of Gaston! Tom Hardy was made to do it...(oh, and live-action Belle? Jenna Louise Coleman. Hell yeah.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2000
Really the first of Disney's great feminist heroines, Belle in Beauty and the Beast is brought to life by the wonderful lyrics of these great songs. Gaston is lyrically brilliant - wonderfully creative rhymes and great jokes. One of the finest Disney soundtracks ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2000
The soundtrack is simply stunning - I wish I'd had the opportunity to see the musical. Heart rending extra tracks, in addition to the classics "Beauty and the Beast" and "Be Our Guest". A must for all Disney fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2007
This soundtrack marks the tenth anniversary of the release of Disney's 1991 classic BEAUTY AND THE BEAST {this CD was released in 2001.}

Beauty and the Beast is about a strong willed young woman {Belle} who longs for "much more than her provincial life" and gets it, when she breaks an enchantresses spell put on a Beast and his castle.

This CD features every song and instrumental piece of music from the movie ~
tracks 1 to 15 and track 18 {played over the end credits} plus three extra pieces of music ~ track 16, track 17 and track 19.

The songs:
1. Prologue - 2:29. Here, the narrator informs the audience how and why the Beast became a Beast. The narrators voice belongs to David Ogden Stiers {the voice of Cogsworth the clock!}
2. Belle - 5:07. I saw Beauty and the Beast when it played my local theatre, and this particular song sounds exactly like what I heard in the theatre!
3. Belle {reprise} 1:05.
4. Gaston - 3:40. A superb song, brilliantly sung by Richard White {Gaston} and Jesse Corti {Lefou.}
5. Gaston {reprise} 2:04.
6. Be Our Guest - 3:45. The glorious Jerry Orbach {Lumiere the candlestick} sings this song as Yves Montand!
7. Something There - 2:19. Paige O Hara {Belle} shows off her beautiful voice.
8. Human Again - 4:55. A song never included in the original 1991 film, but has since been included on subsequent videos and DVD's because it gives an insight into the enchanted objects point of view.
9. The Mob Song - 3:30.
10. Beauty and the Beast - 2:45. Angela Lansbury {Mrs Potts} recorded this song in 1 take!
11. To the Fair - 1:58. An instrumental piece.
12. West Wing - 4:25. An instrumental piece.
13. The Beast Lets Belle Go - 2:22. An instrumental piece.
14. Battle on the Tower - 5:29. An instrumental piece.
15. Transformation - 5:50. An instrumental piece.
16. Be Our Guest {demo} 3:29. This song was originally meant for the character of Belle's father, but the team gave it to Belle, because they didn't want to waste the song on a secondary character.
17. Beauty and the Beast {Work Tape and Demo} - 3:58.
18. Beauty and the Beast - 4:07. Celine Dion and Peabo Bryson at their very best!
19. Death of the Beast {Original Early Version} - 1:29.

Duration of CD = 64 minutes & 50 seconds.

As well as the songs, you get a booklet of song words with this CD, and they begin with a few words from Alan Menken {he and Howard Ashman wrote the songs for Beauty and the Beast} ~

This special tenth anniversary release of BEAUTY AND THE BEAST is accompanied by an extra sense of emotion. My friend and brilliant collaborator, Howard Ashman is no longer with us. So, I'm especially pleased that several "behind the scenes" recordings have found their way on to this disc. I think they'll shed some light on our creative process as we shaped these songs.
The previously unissued original cue for "death of the beast" was the first attempt to musically convey the emotion in this pivotal scene. It was felt at the time that something more ethereal was perhaps better suited to the moment the animators were striving for. So we recorded a new cue, which was used in the final film.
When listening to these work tapes and demos, I can't help but feel Howard's presence in the room. I dedicate this album to his memory.

If you've never seen Beauty and the Beast, it won a Golden Globe, a Grammy and it's the first and only animated film to ever be nominated for the Academy Award for Best Picture. Also, it came early in the Disney Renaissance (1989-1999, starting with The Little Mermaid and ending with Tarzan.}

Young or young at heart, Female or male, this CD will enchant and enthral anyone who listens to it.

UTTERLY FABULOUS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2001
Another example of the wonderful musical resources available to the disney empire. The quality of vocal and orchestral work on this album is second to none from the gentle strains of "Something There" throught the knockabout humour of "Be Our Guest" and on to the soaring finale this is an enthralling musical journey.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)