Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Hellraiser [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 February 2018
I had heard of this film before, but had never seen it. A friend recommended it to me, as I like horror films. I found this DVD on Amazon, ordered it and then sat down to watch it last night.

I have to say, I thought that the film was very strange. Some of the acting was also a bit "off" and the plot was a bit odd too. The film was also quite violent and gory, so it was a bit too gruesome for my tastes. However, I did manage to watch all of the film and I thought that it was at least watchable. I doubt that I will ever want to watch it again, though, as I am not really keen on films with too much violence or gore. It was amusing to see Andrew Robinson (who played the killer in Dirty Harry and also appeared in the Stallone film Cobra) in this film as well. I did hear that the film is loosely based on books by Clive Barker, but I won't be looking them up. This version is also, apparently, the uncut version of the film, but I hadn't seen it before and am unable to confirm that.

I think this may appeal more to gore fans, though sadly it wasn't for me. I give it three stars, which I think is quite generous. I have heard that there are quite a few sequels to this film, but I doubt that I will bother with any of those. As a one-off view, though, this film passed the time quite well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2016
Clive Barker's unique artistry fuels his first big screen debut. Ashley Lawrence is the innocent drawn into a deadly web by Clare Higgins's Julia, who is in full sexual bloom in her tryst with a vampiric Uncle Frank. Wonderful physical special effects and a real sense of poetry connecting all the threads from beginning to end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2012
Hellraiser is an unabashed horror film with demons, monsters, torment and strange things in the attic. Clive Barker is as macabre a storyteller in his way as Edgar Allan Poe. His work writhes with a dark imagination and there's no doubting its genre; this is true horror, not torture porn, not stalk 'n' slash, just pure, gruesome strangeness.
Barker's plot is crisp and economic: Frank (Sean Chapman) buys a puzzle box from one of those stock Oriental characters who sell strange objects, and on solving it is sucked into a world run by sadistic demons, called Cenobites. He somehow escapes them to become residue in his attic floor. The house is now owned by his brother Larry (Andrew Robinson) and Larry's wife Julia (Claire Higgins). Julia had an affair with Frank when he was human, and after Larry cuts himself blood spills on Frank's resting ground, partly giving him form. Frank and Julia then conspire to bring men upstairs, kill and let Frank drain them until he can gain a body. Also around is Larry's daughter Kirsty (Ashley Laurence) who'll have her own encounter with the Cenobites.
This is a very gory film; the special effects sometimes reminded me of those in John Carpenter's The Thing. There's a lot of hooks through skin, crawling skeletons and flayed bodies which look like cadavers; these images are naturally disgusting, but they're crafted with imagination. The Cenobites' world is a grim visual place which manifests itself with some neat visuals, and their violence is delightfully weird. They're fun to look at too. Though he's featured on the poster and DVD cover "Pinhead", as he's known by fans, is a fairly minor character. He's never named or explained in this film, but we sense his leadership. I may be wrong, but I think he's the only Cenobite who speaks. There's also one who looks like H. R. Giger's alien from the Ridley Scott film.
Kirsty's a good heroine. Unlike some she isn't a cliched nice girl; she shows signs of independence and sexuality. Claire Higgins, meanwhile, looks great as Julia, despite her 80s wardrobe. None of the human characters have much psychological depth, but they're sharply and effectively drawn. This DVD comes with interviews in which Higgins almost makes a feminist point about Julia that amused me, because the character came across as a weak and selfish slut. Nonetheless, hers and Frank's misadventures will enthrall many genre fans; to quote Stephen King: "I have seen the future of horror and his name is Clive Barker".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2017
Took me back to my 80s when films like this scared me to death. But even though it is dated it is still a great film.:-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2017
Arrived on time, great dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2012
How do they make stuff like this? Creepy stuff this movie! They sure do not make them like that these days!
This was ordered by the same person who ordered Blast from the Past, and there is one pleased customer! I am pleased that you always have what I want in stock!
I am already placing future orders on my wish list, so I will be ordering more soon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2014
One of the greatest horrors ever made. Yes, the fashions and some of the effects are very 1980's but the imagination and inventiveness make this still a very effective horror: great performances, too, especially from Doug Bradley who, like Hopkins' Hannibal Lecter, manages to be the heart of the film despite only minutes of screen time... Sometimes, the legacy of the film is brought down by the slew of sequels (10 at the moment I think?) but this is where it all began. Parts 2 and 3 are great too... Advance with caution after that!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2014
This is the beginning of Hellraiser this how it starts theres a box and inside this special box is pin head and the cenobites if you solve the box pin head comes for your soul it is exciting and gripping pin head calls it a knightmare
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2017
Happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2016
the best horror film ever made forget the exorcist etc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)