Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
50
4.4 out of 5 stars
Between Two Lungs
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 March 2011
Lets get one thing straight, this is not a new Florence and The Machine album it's just the original Lungs album put together with a second disc that includes one real new track and a reworking of another track. the rest of the second disc includes remixes and live tracks. It also includes new artwork.

The original album is great of course and for people not familiar with it and might know only one or two tracks then this would be the perfect time to get it. the album includes all six singles that have been released from the album from the haunting "Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)" which has Florence in full Kate Bush mode. "Drumming song" with it's heavy drum beats and catchy chorus is great. "You've Got the Love" which is a cover version of The Source and Candi Staton is probably the song you will know best and as covers go it's very good.

The first single released from the album was the brilliant "Kiss With A Fist" which has some great lyrics such as "a kick in the teeth is good for some". "Dog Days Are Over" opens the album with the sound of harps before the the drums come in to drive the track on, it works great. "Girl With One Eye" is a track you could imagine PJ Harvey doing with it's stripped back sound and talk of doing damage to a body part!

The second disc open with single "Heavy In Your Arms" that was used on the soundtrack to The Twilight Saga: Eclipse, it of course wouldn't have sounded out of place on the main album. Next up is a reworking of her cover version "You've Got the Love" with English rapper Dizzee Rascal called "You Got the Dirtee Love" which the two performed live at the 2010 Brits Awards. The last six songs on the album are acoustic performances from the iTunes Festival 2010 that have been previously available. The Horrors remix "Hurricane Drunk" and Yeasayer remix "Dog Days Are Over" There is also two tracks recorded from the Hammersmith Apollo they are "Strangeness & Charm" and "Swimming".

This is the fourth version of Lungs to be released and if you already own the album you have to ask yourself is it worth paying for the album again for the second disc or should you just download the tracks you don't already have. However for people who don't already own the album this is a great release!
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2010
Contrary to the previous review on this CD, there are TWO new songs on the disc! Yeah not great if you already have the original, but there are remixes, plus the Dirty Love song she did with Dizzee Rascal at the Brits this year and other live versions of the songs. I love Flo and think this is a great album - but it's by no means a must buy if you already have Lungs. Not sure where this trend of revising albums has come from - because let's face it if you knew a more padded out version was coming you probably wouldn't buy the original! But it is a good listen :D
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
This album has kept me creative for sooooo many hours of my life. The weird sound that Florence and her 'machine' gave to the music -happy yet sad, real yet haunted- has become a drug to me. When songs like 'Howl', 'Heavy in your arms', 'Cosmic Love' and 'Blinding' begin, i instantly vanish from this world. Her voice is so powerful and original that she got in my list of favourite artist extremely easy. I feel like the music has been waiting so long for something like that... Sadly the Deluxe i bought does NOT contain 'The hardest Of Hearts' wich is probably my favourite of Florence but it does contain rare material like 'Hospital Beds', 'Swimming' and the wonderful 'Strangeness and Charm' wich is live. She has soaked me into her parallel universe and i think i'm gonna enjoy it here while waiting for 'Ceremonials'...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Very quick delivery, in perfect working order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2011
Full of imagination and easy to listen to. The live material has prompted me to try and see them live. Amazing haunting quality to her voice. Stunning. Buy it now!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2012
I always knew Florence and the machine were stellar musicians and yet I was still surprised at how good Lungs was. If you're not a reaally dedicated fan though and are cash strapped I would suggest just buying Lungs by itself rather than Between two Lungs. Nevertheless, the songs in both discs are beautiful with Flo's voice swinging between soft sweet melodic musings and powerful penetrating vocals.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
After nearly 4 years Florence and Machine's first album still sounds fresh and original. The deluxe edition is worth getting purely for the inclusion of Dirtee Love (feat Dizzy Rascal). Still an epic album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2011
Wasn't really sure about this before I bought it, but now I've lived with it for a number of months I can safely say that I'm glad I did. Unlike other reviewers I hadn't already got the 1 disc album so it made the purchase better value, especially for 'You've Got The Dirtee Love' remix with Dizzy Rascal. Great collaboration. It's by no means my favorite but I still stick it a lot in the car and crank it up. Very of it's 'moment'. Don't know whether it'll last, but it's certainly one to mark a point in time...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
Florence + and The Machine is, in my opinion, a musical Genius. I bought this - her first album under it's "Deluxe" form - after buying Ceremonials, her second album, which is more mystical than Between two Lungs (or Lungs). But the lyrics on both albums are as strange as one another and the music is just as brilliantly composed and arranged, making Flo's wonderful voice shine.
Just perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2011
I am super satisfied with this. Not only did they deliver way before my depressing estimated time of delivery but it was also in great condition when I got it. I love Florence + The Machine's music so getting these in the mail unexpectedly really made my day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Lungs
£4.50
Ceremonials
£6.00
MTV Unplugged
£5.99
LUNGS (PL)
£13.46

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)