Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 January 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This set contains a DVD on each of the key areas contained within the driving test, these being the practical, theory and hazard perception and finally car maintenance. The first DVD I looked at was that of the practical, and at this point I thought the set was going to turn out to be rather poor. However, it did get much better, so have no fear!

==Practical==

One thing I did notice about the practical DVD was that it contained a very comprehensive amount of detail, although some of the things they showed seemed quite obvious. (I suppose it's better showing too much than too little though) There were also practical demonstrations on nearly everything, from checking the lights to testing the brakes and from navigating roundabouts to the correct starting off procedures.

The presenting of this DVD did seem quite amateurish in nature in places, for example, the presenter jumped when she pressed the horn to test it! It also came across as being very script read and there was quite a bit of repetition across clips. For example, there were six video clips on negotiating roundabouts (i.e. different types, leaving at different exits etc) and in each clip, the instructor asked what the correct give way procedure was at roundabouts.

I also picked up on a couple of discrete errors (At least, they were errors when I was doing my test!) First of all, they parked at a dropped curb and in addition to this, they crossed their arms over the steering wheel. As mentioned though, I thought this was the worst DVD of the set, and even if it is helpful to some degree, it's no substitute for actual hands on experience.

==Theory and Hazard perception==

This actually spans two DVDs, and I have to admit that on the whole, these are very good. The theory DVD contains all the possible questions that will come up in the test, so if you practice them enough, you shouldn't have any problems passing. It also contains a copy of the highway code, which it's definitely worth a look through, as I'm still learning things I never knew, even after five years of driving! The practice tests aren't quite as good because very similar questions can come up, and this is something that definitely won't happen in the actual test.

The hazard perception DVD gave a very detailed explanation of what hazards are and how each type should be dealt with. By employing a police driver, they have managed to show many situations which contain hazards and how to negotiate them safely. The videos can be quite jumpy on occasion however, and I also found that they didn't always register the clicks when a hazard was spotted, thus losing valuable points.

==Car Maintenance==

The final DVD shows how to look after your car and the checks that should be performed on a regular basis. Detailed explanations are given of types of tyre damage and how to check the treads and pressure. Oil, brake fluid and wind screen washer checks are also shown, alongside other miscellaneous tasks such as how to change the wiper blades and how to jump start a car. The latter is very important as the consequences of getting it wrong could be very nasty.

Therefore, on the whole, this is a very useful compilation of discs which should help any user to pass their test. However, it is important to remember that the DVDs aren't a substitute for practical experience and you should ensure you get plenty of this before sitting the test.
|11 Comment|Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 March 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In terms of reference material, its absolutely excellent - and I believe would help anyone prepare for a test or first lesson - or even just refresh someone who is a less confident driver.
I think for instance it would be ideal for someone yet to undertake lessons as a "warm up", and a perfect idea for anyone who hasnt driven for a long time and has lost confidence - or for someone from outside the UK who can drive, but wants to familiarise themselves with UK driving (PARTICULARLY Americans - learn from the safety of your own home just how to negotiate the freakshow that is the British Roundabout!!)

That said, I would strongly recommend that if possible, you opt for the PC version rather than this one; its a brilliant tool but the format spoils it slightly by making it comparitively slower and more "klunky", and of course it is unable to save your progress/ info.

This is mainly why I would suggest that if you ARE learning from scratch to take the PC version if you have access to a computer - it just, theoretically, gives you more. That said this is a fantastic addition to any learners reference material, or to give you a little prep before going on the road. You even get PROPER L plates included in the pack which I thought was unexpectedly generous - I saw these were included, but pictured them as being a bit naff - theyre not!
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 15 December 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a brilliant package for anyone just learning to drive! Consisting of 4 DVD's, each one covers a different part of the test; Theory questions, The Hazard perception test, Practical driving lessons (including a mock of a real driving exam with feedback from the examiner) and a DVD covering basic car maintenance and looking under the bonnet. (this is much better than it sounds and also includes things like changing a tyre, replacing bulbs and jump starting a car)

I guess the manufacturers have gone for DVD's rather than a computer based package so they can be played on a variety of different machines; DVD players, Xbox, PS3, PC's etc but one drawback is the slighlty slow response times - this is especially annoying on the Theory Test disc which has hundred's of questions, but not too bad on the other disc's that make up this set.

With a set of magnetic 'L' plates thrown in and a full up-to-date digital copy of the Highway code included, I cannot fault this set, and as a gift to a 17 or 18 year old just learning to drive it is perfect.
|11 Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 January 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The 2012 version of this is available here: Driving Test Success All Tests DVD Premium 2012 Edition (Interactive DVD)

I would advise getting that instead of this version, which is now out of date (though, still probably very useful, and you can probably get it cheaper second hand)

Also, if you have a PC, then I'd recommend the PC version over the DVD one, as it will be more responsive: Driving Test Success All Tests Premium 2012 Edition (PC)

(Note: I gave the low star rating due to this being an outdated version, rather than due to product quality)
|0Comment|Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 July 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've stayed away from these sort of instructional products since they started appearing but when I got the chance to try this I found that it is a really helpful DVD. Easy to use and work through with real life situations (with the hazard section proving very helpful).
It feels like a very complete, succinct product. Backed up with a good instructor it can prove an excellent companion. I'm nowhere near taking my test but I feel more confidant.

I think that having it as a DVD is also a good shout so you can get the best of both.
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 October 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I gave this to my daughter as she was just starting to learn. It's an extremely comprehensive package, comprising of 4 DVDs. The advantage of DVD over PC-ROM disks is that a) you can pack a lot more data on the disk and b) you can play it on DVD players, Xbox and PS3 as well as on PC. The drawback in this case though is that Focus have not provided any facility to store results as they primarily created the DVD's for playback machines only.
That aside, there's so much here to get into, it should really boost your chances of passing first time.
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 May 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Driving Test Success All Tests DVD Premium 2011 Edition

As other reviewers have said this is an impressive and well thought out product. With a set of magnetic 'L' plates thrown in and a full up-to-date digital copy of the Highway code included - as a gift to someone learning to drive, it is perfect. I wish I had this when I was preparing for the theory and practical tests.

This training DVD, is packed with virtually everything you need as a beginner and enables you to be fully prepared for your test.
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 January 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This item is a well packaged comprehensive product to suit learner drivers irrespective of their age. This package covers all aspects of driver training, through the theory and practical tests, highway code and has tips for safe driving in the future. As a dvd, it can be played using different media but is a bit slow to respond. On the whole, it is an excellent package which would make a great gift for any learner and provide a good revision base for test preparation. It is also good value for money.
One person found this helpful
|11 Comment|Report abuse
on 19 January 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an impressive and well thought out product.
I have not listed all the features etc as they covered by the manufacturers description, but this training DVD, is packed with virtually everything you need as a beginner to driving to enable you to be fully prepared for your test without the practical driving. There are as some other reviewers have pointed out a few areas which could be explained a bit better, but overall I would highly recommend this to any learner driver.
|11 Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
the dvd version is not as good as the pc cd-rom version in my view! simply because it is a bit slower to use!!

having said that it is a great buy if you are not a pc user...

it leads you through all sections of the test...

worth buying as it will help you with the dreaded test and is better than learning from a book!!!
3 people found this helpful
|11 Comment|Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)