Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
68
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2017
Gripping from the first, the plight of David Tennants character all gripping stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
A really good story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
Really well written script, went much deeper than most films. Hadn't realised David Tennant was such a good actor, he played the part perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
Many people will have missed this on television because it was broadcast at the same time as the unmissable Downton Abbey. However, if anyone omitted to record it, let me just whisper to you that it consists of the most compelling acting and original script writing.
Single Father is refreshing in that it avoids all the cliches of bereavement, of parenthood, of family relationships. The unexpected turn of events rings true. Single Father even avoids all the cliches about Glasgow, showing the city in a more realistic light.

Acting of the standard that David Tennant unfailingly produces can mean only one thing.....Arise, Sir David!
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
I was one of those people who had missed 'Single Father' because of Downton Abbey and purchased the DVD pretty quickly on recommendation of a friend who had seen the drama on the telly. I was not disappointed.

Although sometimes hard to watch (I'm not good with grief), I found this 4-parter absolutely un-put-downable and would highly recommend it to anyone, not only David Tennant fans.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
I'm a David Tenant fan so it wasn't hard to like this - a great and moving story with a good twist at the end.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
It was OK. I had hoped it would be a bit more exciting but it wasn't, but it was OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
I have watched all four episodes of this brilliant drama and cannot recommend it highly enough. It tackles some very challenging issues with a reality that is refreshing. The acting is fantastic, enabling the viewer to be totally absorbed by the story line. As a father myself, I can feel myself being transported into the emotional turmoil the death of a partner and mother to your children would bring. The fact that there is a lightness to this story as well means you are able to continue watching all the way to the end, being entertained and challenged at the same time.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
Single father is a story about the mourning of a very loved one, a wife and mother ; despite this, it's not a despairing story. It tells how the family manage to cope with their sorrow, life everyday and some unexpected secrets...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
I've watched Single Father many times and I just love it! David Tennant and Suranne Jones have such great chemistry and the kids are just adorable! I can highly recommend watching it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)