Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
7
4.7 out of 5 stars

on 19 November 2011
I think it's fair to say that October 2008 was an important inflection point for many people's understanding of REST principles. It occurred when Roy Fielding expressed his frustration at many so-called "REST" services not embracing the hypermedia constraint. His blog post was entitled "REST APIs must be hypertext-driven", and when I first read it I didn't understand it. At all.

Since 2008 the world has been playing catch-up, and in terms of published books I would say that "REST in Practice" is the key book that provides would-be service designers with the full background they need to fully embrace REST, to be properly RESTful. And there are many benefits in doing so, as the book explains.

So this book is an essential read, basically. After reading it, and after thinking and considering and doing further research online, I went back to Roy Fielding's blog post from October 2008, and this time I understood it.

Although I regard it as essential, I dock a mark from this book because a) I disagree with the "in Practice" title, b) at times it's a tad verbose: less would have been more, and c) too much implementation code is presented for my liking, which wastes space. The real point of this book is to describe modern REST design; I felt the code was totally unnecessary.

So this book give the background understanding. Armed with that, I am getting great joy from using the "RESTful Web Services Cookbook" reference (also from O'Reilly). The Cookbook is the real "in Practice" book. Ironically the Cookbook has no implementation code... there's no need. Instead of code it has Recipes, and this approach works really, really well.

Any REST book from 2008 or earlier must be carefully evaluated in light of understanding the hypermedia constraint. For folk starting with REST, my advice is to start here with "REST in Practice".
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
It is very well written, very didactic, taking the time to explain the REST concepts and philosophy. Now, it is mostly geared towards .NET and Microsoft's Window Communication Foundation (WCF), which incidentally nicely illustrates the power of REST as an integration architecture, since REST is not at all a Microsoft concept, if you know what I mean. So, excellent if you are a .NET developer or a Microsoft architect. All the same if you come for a different background, but have Microsoft Visual Studio at hand in that case (I used Visual Studio 2010 to run the examples, to good effect).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
Good book on practical REST.
It assumes you already know something about REST and its "philosophy" and presents the different aspects of REST with a single example that grows from chapter to chapter.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
REST in Practice should be on every software architect's bookshelf. It doubles up as both a well-thought-out tutorial and an indispensable reference to implementing RESTful web services. Pragmatically presenting its ideas in a such a way that does not favour a specific technology, it steps through many real-life situations and successfully manages to capture the original intent behind HTTP and the World Wide Web.

Fundamentally, this book throws open a window to an architectural style that there is little reason not to use when building distributed systems.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
Ignore all other books, this is the REST book. Well written, covers almost all the possible use cases and the code examples are still applicable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Very well wrtiten, on a subject that is complex, vast and dynamic.
Provides a very good insight into practical concerns, architectural principles and challenges as well as pragmatic standpoints of design & implementation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Explains rest so clearly, fantastic book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)