Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

An isolated mystery becoming gradually sinister when a group of stranded people begin a parlour game which turns murderous. The scene is set from the first page. A thoroughly entertaining one off mystery from Agatha Christie, not amongst my personal favourites but a good read nonetheless.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Originally broadcast back in 1990 this is a superior Agatha Christie story handled expertly by dramatist Michael Bakewell and regular Agatha Christie radio drama director Enyd Williams.
As someone who has enjoyed BBC radio drama for over 5 decades this is certainly in my top few plays to date. Yes, I did have an idea about who dunnit early on but I still found it a surprise as to why they dunnit!
The play is full of well known voices and Geoffrey Whitehead was excellent as Inspector Narracott. Listen out for that well known actor John Moffatt but not as Poirot this time. Archers fans will also recognise Jack May who was for many years Nelson Gabriel. This was a fast moving 2 hours plus and I will listen to the play again soon. Good value.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
I've read this book before and both times enjoyed it. It is set in the times of a hard winter with a bit of the ouija board thrown in.

Based in a very remote part of Devon and near a prison to boot this story sets up many possibilities for a good adventure/mystery and doesn't fail. Plenty of intriguing characters to suspect and the murderer is certainly not the person I initially expected it to be despite having read it before.

Very good read and easy to get stuck into. Would recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
An enthralling Agatha Christie story that I so enjoyed, - all novels and plays by Agatha Christie never disappoint me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
One of Agatha Christie's good stories without Poirot or Miss Marple, well dramatised and acted. Not a masterpiece, but pleasant to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
never heard of skis on Dartmoor but can see they would be useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
A gift for my brother who was double chuffed to find a four leaf clover inside :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
The Sittaford Mystery is a classic Agatha Christie puzzle. Isolated by a snow storm a small group of people hold a séance in which the death of Captain Trevelyan is announced. At approximately the same time, the Captain meets his demise. So barring the spirits being real, how could someone at the table know this? As Inspector Narracott investigates it becomes clear the residents of Sittaford are not all quite who they seem, but none seem to have a motive to murder the Captain. The pleasure in the story is the rum mix of characters - especially her amateur sleuth Emily Trefusis, most of whom Christie manages to move into the suspect’s frame, and the plotting wherein all the clues are present, but the reveal is still a surprise. The story is told in a light breezy manner and is entertaining fare.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
The village of Sittaford is snowed in. The cast of characters are cut off in this hamlet in the middle of Dartmoor. Mrs Willet and her daughter Violet give an afternoon cocktail party where they decide to
divert themselves by "table turning". The table has a message for one of their guests that his friend Major Burnaby has been murdered. What are the Willets doing leaving South Africa to spend a winter in the snows of Dartmoor? There's even an escaped prisoner from a local jail on the loose. Mrs Curtis a local landlady is very concerned.
This is Dame Agatha at her best isolate the principles and move the characters around until - viola a solution and a darn clever one at that. A must for Christie fans. Make a cocoa, turn up the electric blanket and join in the fun. Don Wardell KWXY Radio Palm Springs, California.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse