Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
26
4.0 out of 5 stars
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2012
Gameplay, graphics, interface, etc. is great. I found it absolutely addictive to the max.

HOWEVER...
Despite the fact that the box indicates "Compatible with Windows Vista and Windows 7", it most definitely isn't!

I am running Windows 7.

I kept getting to the same point on the first campaign map and the game would crash. Even with the graphics settings turned down.

Searched the internet and found I was not alone. It would seem that a number of people have found a "modified" file that has resolved the issue, although that didn't seem to work for me either.

Ultimately, having got addicted, I very soon got bored. Uninstalled it and played Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD) instead
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
great fun .. if you like model trains, but find the physical aspects of setting up a track difficult .. then this is the perfect game .. a digital train set with gaming aspects .. a lot of fun with basic and gaming commercial aspects and options built in .. enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
I bought this as a replacement for my original downloaded version which I lost when my last laptop went pear shaped. My only criticism is that I wish they would bring out some new scenarios, I have pretty much got every one of them off to a tee now. I still enjoy it though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
What a great game at a bargain price.
Great as a two player on the local LAN.

The game does crash occassionally, but it auto saves.
2K games have a patch that I downloaded from their website which solves some of the minor glitches.

There is an up to date fan site with additional maps for download at SMRSimple .com

There's a fix available to stop the crashing on Windows 7 and Windows 8 at the SMRSimple .com
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
At last my all time favourite PC game working under Windows. Love the new 3D graphics. Yes it does crash once in a while but so long as you save regularly it is no great problem. I find it pays to shut down and restart the PC then it does not crash very often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Compared to railroad tycoon 3 this game is very bad 1.you can't zoom out which is so irritating 2. you cant lay track the they way you want 3.no list of trains stupid 3d thing 4.campaign is just pointless 5.buttons missing you can't just delete what you want only certain stuff... i want a realistic as possible while being a game this railroads is similar to civilization the way it looks which is not good i want more real like railroad tycoon 3...not cartoon crap.

I have had no compatibility issues installing at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
The game itself is great, and I have enjoyed the challenge of building profitable rail networks ahead of the competition and scouting out the best routes and resource movements to achieve this goal ... however, the game does spontaneously (and consistently) crash at later stages, which makes for a frustrating experience!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
occasionally the program will just stop if you try to do too much in one go.you then lose the game and have to restart at the last auto save point or at the beginning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
Pretty fun, and while not as indepth as other railroad simulation games (E.g. Railroad Tycoon 2) it's lack of features ironically makes it more enjoyable. This is because the game is VERY simple to pickup and play, and is very pleasant to look at whilst playing. The only real issue in terms of graphics would be that the game is gripped by an odd slowdown issue within the engine which can cause performance issues even in computers more than capable of running the game.

All in all, an enjoyable albeit simple game perfect for younger players or the in-experienced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Super game, pity the signals don't function properly and the issue with two trains on the same track driving through each other should really have been sorted out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)