Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 August 2017
We see the first courtroom mystery for M. Poirot in the emotionally charged Sad Cypress by Agatha Christie. The plot revolves around a possible miscarriage of justice and Poirot becomes determined to dig out the truth. Elinor Carlisle is charged with the murder of her childhood friend, following a sad series of events, involving love, betrayal and heartbreak. Evidence against her seems almost impossible to refute.... but the case just seems too neat and simple for our little Begian detective, who feels that there must be more to it than meets the eye. Only Poirot stands between Elinor Carlisle and the hangmans' noose. It's an interesting case for Poirot and an engaging, turbulent and intense read. A complex plot, red herrings aplenty, deep characterisation and with a denouement which is quite superb, this one may well have you guessing until the very end...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 June 2017
Amongst my favourites, Evil Under the Sun does not disappoint. M. Poirot, hoping to enjoy a little sojourn in the sun, takes a holiday. Murder is never far behind. A beautiful actress and one of the hotel guests, Arlena, is murdered on a nearby beach. A host of suspects and a host of motives. M. Poirot exercises his little grey cells once more with astounding results. Perfectly plotted, sparkling dialogue and with a conclusion that, of course, is beyond belief but, as a reader, that we are ever keen to believe such is the genius of Christie. Highly recommended. (The BBC audio dramatisation of this novel is also superb and well worth listening to.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 June 2017
Following the terrifying ordeal (for M. Poirot!) of a visit to his dentist, (complete sympathy there!), M. Poirot becomes involved in a convoluted case of murder, politics, finance and identity. He must follow up the apparent case of the suicide of his dentist, being convinced that it is not suicide at all but rather murder. The well known nursery rhyme is used as a basis for the story where nothing is quite what it seems. An enjoyable tale with a somewhat fantastical conclusion but nicely done, reflecting the perhaps tumultuous era in which it was written. You will not be disappointed. A good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
Agatha Christie never disappoints. Definitely one for her fans. Poirot is the same old genius sleuth and the plot leaves you guessing. I won't spoil it by going into the detail of the plot because it's so readable, aren't all Christie's novels, you can't put it down. If you haven't read this, why not? I've been trying to complete all Christie's novels and short stories and am finally getting there but there are so many and while some of the characters are like old friends, the stories are not of the formulaic kind. Yes Poirot is a genius and in the end his little grey cells solve the case but every book is fresh with new ideas and new twists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Brilliantly written and one of my favourites, Poirot goes on holiday for a rest and soon finds himself solving a murder instead. Young, beautiful and flirtatious Arleena Stewart is murdered on a sunny beach. Poirot soon find himself amongst a nest of vipers and opening a can of worms. Nothing and no one is quite what it appears on the surface and motives are in abundance. Poirot can't help but feel that this crime has been committed by somebody who knows what they are doing and has got it off to a fine art as it were.

Can Poirot solve this mystery before the holidays are over?

Very good book. Would recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
Vintage Poirot. As is almost always the case, you have to reach the very end of the book before you have any inkling as to who the murdered is. With Christie you can't adopt the Midsomer Murder trick of looking to see who is the least likely candidate and know that that almost certainly will turn out to be the murdered. In Christie's books it might or might not be the least likely person, or even someone beyond that! Or it might be a seemingly obvious person, but somehow she manages to put in so many twists and turns that you end up thinking it can't be. Genius. In this book you get many options - Secret Service, anarchists, family, financial motives, economic de-stablisation motives, personal motives and much more. I guarantee that you will not work out who the murderer is until Poirot, splendid as ever, reveals his, her or their identity/identities at the end. Superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 September 2010
I understand the criticisms posted elsewhere, but in my opinion this novel's complexity is one of its major strengths. Questions of identity are key to most of Agatha Christie's novels, some of them more believable than others. In 'One Two Buckle My Shoe', she makes it pretty obvious early on that identity is an issue, particularly in relation to one of the female characters. The plot and collection of characters are such, however, that almost everyone appears to have something to hide. There is a danger that this device is overdone, but for me, Christie makes it convincing. Contrast this with her previous novel, 'Sad Cypress', which, though enjoyable, is almost routinely formulaic and one-dimensional in its concealment of identity. I first read 'One Two Buckle My Shoe' as a child in the early 1970s and find it as satisfying now as I recall finding it then. Though not one of her top ten novels, I still think it's a masterpiece.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 September 2014
I didn't like this as much as the other Agatha Christie novels I have read. While I enjoyed the setting on a small island off the Devon coast with just a small hotel and an attractive coastline, the actual explanation for the crime struck me as unrealistically complex. Poirot's ratiocination is also suspect: he begins by identifying who he thinks is the most likely culprit, constructs a sequence of events that allows for that outcome, and it turns out to be true. This is no Sherlockian working up of evidence dispassionately to lead to a conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
This is my review of the Kindle ebook version. I read it quite a few years ago as a paperback and it has a good twist, but when you take into account all the things and timings that had to happen, it does seem a little bit like Christie was having a bit of a laugh herself. I loved the film version, which was even more camp than could be imagined; loved the David Suchet episode, which was more in tune with the book itself. Still drives on a timeline that relies on a lot of coincidence. Would still recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Great book that I just had to finish, once started you can't put it down until you know the truth and see how it was done, another Agatha Christie masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse