Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
33
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2011
A real insight into a fascinating period of history. Before this series I had no knowledge of Garrow and his pioneering work for justice, now I feel him as a real force for good. The settings and costumes are sublime and the personal story, with its own injustices, is really compelling. Excellent acting completes a perfect series.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
OK "nice" seems like faint praise,but it is "nice" in the best possible way,well acted well written nicely crafted period drama.
Watching the extras it is very interesting the amount of research and attention to detail that went into the making of this,down to actualy using part of a genuine,leading barrister of the days opening address in the divorce proceedings.
It is a fascinating look into another world with all its manners,prejudices and brutalaties not just the cases themselves.
OK not all the cases dramatised were Garrow's but all are genuine "of the moment" cases and also the outcomes.
Superb acting from everyone ,this is a must see gem,my only complaint is that events at the end seem to have drawn to a conclusion,I hope not ! Really, Really would like to see a series 3,it would be,well,rather nice ....
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
William Garrow, the man who gave us proper cross questioning in court, and did many trials por bono is back with us for a second series. Garrow who is still probably better known in the legal fraternity in the US than over here, was a pioneer. He made what we consider to be a proper trial realisitc to people, from what could be argued was a one sided affair beforehand. Not of the Establishment he was looked down upon and made many enemies.

I think there has been some confusion amongst some reviewers and viewers from the first series, and that may continue with this series, so I would like to make clear that Garrow himself did not always represent the cases as shown in the series. A case in point is the first episode which has him representing slavey and corruption from a very well known case at the time. This was a trial for fraud and was not even tried at the Old Bailey, let alone having Garrow representing it. He would no doubt have been aware of it, but he wasn't in a position to take part in it, he had only just come to the Bar himself.

So, there is a lot that isn't strictly true here, but the cases involved are all genuine or inspired by real cases of the period. Also in this series there is a lot more between Garrow and Lady Sarah Hill, whose husband wants a divorce.

So, once again, this isn't strictly true fact for fact here, but this is definitely great viewing.
33 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
As a fan of the first series I first was a bit sceptical about the second--but the stories were even better!
It has a different director and DOP, which shows, alas, the scripts and the acting performances are still as magnificent as in the first series.

There is a twenty minute documentary on the dvd about the real William Garrow, which gives a nice bit of information, also actors filmographies, english subtitles and a photo gallery.

Highly recommended! Roll on, third series!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
I looked forward to the delivery of series 2 and when received watched all four episodes in one sitting. I haven't been captivated this much by a series for a while. All actors were superb and I do hope there will be a series 3, even if there is a fictional account of what became of Lady Sarah and Mr Garrow. It is too much a wonderful love story to stop now.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
When Garrow's Law first came out, I was hooked. Now years later, I sat through it all again and was still enthralled. A brilliant well acted series; and the fact that it was based on a true story made it all the more fascinating. I would watch it again and would most certainly recommend it to anyone who, like me, loves period drama...............
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Absolutely outstanding. More so because this great man actually existed. A rare man of integrity and fairness.
The acting is superb - the storys - court cases - are brilliant and based on actual cases.
I just wish we had people like Mr Garrow around today in powerful positions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
If you want to watch British BBC historical drama at its best you could little do better than Garrow's law, for this is classic drama of the highest order. Andrew Buchan and Alun Armstrong are a formidable pair of actors as well is the cast that brings William Gorrow to life in fictional Georgian England. Based on historical archives from the old Bialey Court's of justice in London. This is drama of the twisting turns of the evolving adversarial system of cross examination within the fledgling court system. It is gripping to say the least so watch time and time again this evolving and engrossing TV Drama series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
One more episode to go. What a brilliant series. A historical drama that at least bothers to both sound and look like the period. So many are made with a 'modern' feel that I hate. I expect some of the stories are padded for more dramatic affect but that is okay. I hope there is a series three. I had to buy both series one and two as Australian tv chose not to show it. They would rather show 'Hollywood style' historical drama like The Tudors. Absolute rubbish. Please BBC keep making quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
This one just got better. The stories intertwine with Garrows own legal problems as he tries to defend his honor and love and against false charges of adultry. At least it wasn't a hanging offense. But other crimes like stealing and buggery still were. The tension is higher therefore during this season and the actors are all up to the challenge. Not only that we get a glimpse back into the brutal world of the 1700's , and the english system was far superior to most of the worlds courts at the time!, we also get very accurate historical sets as well. This one looks great and has a extra in words about the true Garrow. What a man he was by any standards! We all owe him and thankfully this show is out there to familiarize us with this law reformer who coined the term 'innocent until proven guilty". His influence can be felt in the U.S. as well as other countries as his cases were legendary in those days. This show is well worth your time , as it moves fast and is engaging om many levels. Rupert Graves plays a excellent villian too. His insane jealousy causes him to lose his own son and that is just a part of how bad he is. Alun armstrong plays a tough lawyer too , he's always done a great job which is why it's great he's in here. (he's great in New Tricks" too.) Watch this show ,you will be glad you live today and glad to have such well made courtroom drama available to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)