Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
Wicked
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 September 2013
great album, a long lost find for me, it is well worth a listen to for a bit of nostalgia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2010
Sinitta is the daughter of famed hi-nrg star and actress Miquel Brown. Sinitta started her pop career on Fanfare Records in 1986 with her infectious pop/hi-nrg anthem "So Macho" which was a global hit. This was followed by further top 10 dingles and her debut album which hit the charts in 1987. This follow up album is just as good, but lacks the polish of Stock Aitken & Waterman. The best tracks are "Love Love Love" & "Body Shopping". If you enjoy lightweight, bubblegum pop disco, this will be the album for you.
55 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2010
Wicked sinitta's second album contains more SAW songs than her first album BUT none of them is as great as TOY BOY and G.T.O were great songs.
Still there are some hot tunes like the PWL remix of HITCHIN' A RIDE plus the knight after special remix of LOVE ON A MOUNTAIN TOP the magic merlin's mix of I DON'T BELIEVE IN MIRACLES and the top tune and only top 5 hit of this album RIGHT BACK WHERE WE STARTED FROM.
Add some new unreleased SAW tracks which u can find only in sinitta's new hit compilation double cd which is available now in the market and u have a great re-issue.
For the fans of SAW this cd deserves to be in your collection and we wait more to come like the up coming GET EVEN from BROTHER BEYOND and more from PAT and MICK, KIM APPLEBY, SYBIL, BANANARAMA...etc...
77 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2012
This review is for: Wicked (Cherry Pop - 2CD)
The "Wicked" album was long out of print, so a straight forward reissue would have been good enough. However, Cherry Pop pull out all the stops to give loads of hard to find mixes and some previously unreleased tracks, which makes this an essential purchase.

The Ralf René Maué 12" Remix of "Hitchin' A Ride" was previously only available on a German CD single, so it was good to see that included here. It is very different from the PWL version.

"Body Shopping" would have made a great single, but the versions included on Sinitta's The Hits + Collection 86-09 are better mixes. So it is also worth getting that CD too.

Although we get 4 mixes here, for me the ultimate version of "Love On a Mountain Top" is the original promo 12" version which was clearly based on the current big Italo House track of the time; Starlight's "Numero Uno", so it had to be released in a different version to avoid plagiarism charges. The re-recorded version is here as the Everlasting Knight Mix, but the original version is available on Sinitta's The Hits + Collection 86-09 (another good reason to buy that one). Some of these mixes here are also duplicated from that CD, however they are relevant to this release.

Over all, this is an excellent album. All the 12" mixes from the time are included along with the remixes, instrumentals and B-Sides on a generous 2 discs with excellent sound quality. What more can you ask for?

Here is the track list, complete with track timings:

CD1

01) Right Back Where We Started From 3:14
02) I Don't Believe In Miracles 3:28
03) I Just Wanna Spend Some Time With You 3:28
04) Hitchin' A Ride 3:39
05) Lay Me Down Easy 3:43
06) You Keep Me Hanging On 3:31
07) Love On A Mountain Top 3:26
08) Love Love Love 3:46
09) Where Do Nice Girls Go? 3:44
10) Body Shopping 3:22
11) Don't Tell Me Not To Cry 3:57
12) It Would Be So Easy 3:31
13) I Just Can't Help It 3:46
14) I'm On My Way 3:53
15) I Don't Believe In Miracles (Merlin's Magical Mix) 6:18
16) Right Back Where We Started From (Left Back On The Side Mix) 7:17
17) Love On A Mountain Top (An Everlasting Knight Mix) 7:49
18) Hitchin' A Ride (PWL Remix) 6:42

CD2

01) I Don't Believe In Miracles (Club Remix) 5:56
02) Right Back Where We Started From (Maxine's Night In A Gale Mix) 5:18
03) Love On A Mountain Top (The Knight After Special Remix) 5:50
04) Hitchin' A Ride (12" Remix) 8:00
05) Body Shopping (1990 Mix) 3:30
06) How Can This Be Real Love? (Extended Version) 5:21
07) I Just Wanna Spend Some Time With You (Extended Version) 6:46
08) You Keep Me Hangin' On (Extended Version) 5:40
09) How Can This Be Real Love? (Original Mix) 5:49
10) Body Shopping (Original Underground Mix) 6:01
11) I Don't Believe In Miracles (Instrumental Club Mix) 4:55
12) Love On A Mountain Top (Bonus Beats Dub) 4:19
13) Don't Tell Me Not To Cry (Extended Version) 5:04
14) Lay Me Down Easy (Extended Club Mix) 7:07

I have also reviewed: Sinitta! (Cherry Pop - 2CD)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2014
One of the best pure-pop albums of all time, in my opinion. Not one bad track on it. You won't be disappointed if you buy this!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2014
Please avoid this, its far too cheesy and friends who examine your record collection while you nip up to the bathroom will be gone by the time you return if they find it.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2011
It was about time they release a proper deluxe version of this album with all the extra material, well done Cherry Pop
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2016
love this album and have done since the 80s when it was in the charts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse