Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2014
This is the real deal! I mistakenly bought THAT other Purple compilation, the one with the butchered and edited tracks, which rapidly got disposed of at the nearest charity shop. I should have bought this in the first place. No hard rock fan's collection is complete without it. Cheers
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
Great album......i have had it for years.This edition is worth the price alone for the bonus dvd with the late great much missed Mr Jon Lord interviews inbetween the video tracks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
Heavy rock at its best,classics that will never die unlike the music of today.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 December 2011
I have waited a while for this to drop in price,first bought the vinyl in 1980 and it was one of my first cd's(a particularly poor transfer).

This however is the business,the original track listing was excellent and the 'bonus' tracks are ALL worthy inclusion,only really Mark III's 'Mistreated' a genuine oversight.

Whats not to like when a discs includes... 'Smoke on the Water','Woman From Tokyo','Black Night','Child in Time','Burn','Stormbringer' & 'Soldier of Fortune'? not to mention 'Highway Star','Hush' and 'When A Blind Man Cries'.

Throw in a dvd with various clips and Jon Lord commentary and you've got a winner all the way.

The best compact 70's Purple compilation money can buy (Hush' aside).

a superb release and bargain to boot.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
Deepest Purple was first released in 1980 as a TV advertised compliation from EMI. It was Purple's third number 1 album in the UK after Fireball and Machine Head (it was knocked off the top spot by that poor seller Back In Black by AC/DC!)The NWOBHM was in full swing and various Purple off-shoot bands were at the forefront of the rock scene of the day - Rainbow, Gillan and Whitesnake. The cynic in me could easily say it was a total cash-in of previously released material and followed a long line of compilations since Purple had split in '76. I won't say any of that though! Time has been kinder to this compilation more than 24 Carat Purple, the original Singles A's and B's album etc and has been used as the introduction for many a novice to the band. The reason for this is that it purely and simply gave you Purple's most famous tracks - no live versions, no obscure b-sides or lesser known album tracks, all on one CD (or originally a single LP).

Which begs the question did it really need re-released for a 30th anniversary especially after the plethora of compilations that have been released since 1980 and its own CD release later on? For this release the album has 4 extra tracks and a DVD of various video clips interpolated (Made In Europe anyone?) with Jon Lord talking about each track. The videos range from the original single/TV promos, live tracks from already released DVD's and some cracking footage from Made In Japan's Space Truckin'! (low quality, but this mythical footage bowled me over!) The Jon Lord interviews are pretty good, although fairly brief. Shame they couldn't have got some of the rest of the band involved (we all knew Ritchie's answer already).

The 4 extra tracks:

1)Hush - i agree this should be in as its one of Purple's most well known tracks especially to non-hard rock fans.

2)When A Blind Man Cries - its a great track, but it was a b-side. This should be one for further listening when fans want to delve a bit deeper into Purple. A great Ritchie solo. PS they use the '97 remix here not the original '72 mix.

3)Soldier Of Fortune - see above. An album track from Stormbringer but for further listening too, not for a compilation to try and pull new fans in. They should have used Into The Fire or Mistreated perhaps?

4)You Keep On Moving - this should be in too as it represents the only MK4 album with Tommy Bolin. Great track. Single edit though.

All in all the music is 5 stars but I've knocked a point off for the cost. At £11.99 its a bit pricey when the original CD was going for 3.93 recently! Who is it aimed at I ask? Long term fans will have these tracks multiple times already (MIJ video aside) and newbies will baulk at the price and go for something cheaper.

Once it comes down to a fiver I recommend it highly as an introduction to a great band. After this listen to In Rock, Fireball, Machine Head, Burn.........
99 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Any rock music lover should have this in their collection !! the second cd gives you an insight into how the tracks came together , its been in the car since i bought it , makes my journeys much more enjoyable !!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
A decent collection of dwe purple songs. Most fans will already have these songs but for someone who just wants some good songs this is a great stop off point & a good addition to any collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
Nice additional tracks with MK1's Hush being a no brainer.
A shame the savage edit of 'You Keep On Moving' was chosen as opposed to the full album version.
No 'Mistreated' which was DC's calling card for many years.
I would have added 'Gettin' Tighter' to give Glenn Hughes' pipes
some decent representation in the Purple story.
Can't quibble at 'Soldier of Fortune',totally essential.
Mr Lord gets sniffy at Mr Coverdale lyrical prowess on the bonus dvd
which itself is a handy round up of mostly prime-time Purple promos at a bargin price.
Some new to me like 'Child In Time' with supposed Eastern(?)European people
cut in over the Doin' Their Thing visual but with the studio cut as the audio.
'Burn' is the Cal Jam footage(VHS version I believe)which is noteable highlight
because the Hits & History DVD Set didn't
feature this essential footage.
Original studio single edit of 'You Keep On Moving' audio dubbed over the Rises Over Japan footage.
Great value for money.Simon F
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
brings back memories of groing up some brilliant tracks plus dvd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Excellent mix of their music, enhanced sound better than ever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse