Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2017
I enjoyed this book as the finale of the series but preferred the earlier books hence four stars rather than five. The difference being that in the other books in the series the fantastical part of the story remains intertwined with reality. Having said that as an adult reader coming to these stories late having deliberately avoided them at school because of I didn't like being told what to read I'm probably not the target audience. I enjoyed the series overall though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Did not think this was quite as good as the rest of the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
I have bought the Dark is Rising series several times and it has been well received by all the children (including me) who have read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2001
Silver on the Tree is the climax of the sequence, when all the characters join together to fight the Dark for the last time. This is absolutely unmissable, but you have to read the other four first (that might sound daunting, but you'll skate through them). This is Susan Cooper at her best, gripping the reader and drawing them into the strange, dark world she has created. Anyone who likes Gothic fantasy, adventure on a large scale, plenty of believable characters and a whopping big race against time should read this.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I adore the whole series and have ever since I was a child. Before Potter and Pullman there was the world of The Dark and The Light, bound up with Athurian Legends and the history of these Isles. Truely magical for all ages with a strong moral lesson that under pins the narrative in such a way that it is entirely natural. As relevant today as when it was written.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Great final to all these books in the series. Read the 1st 4 as a teenager and recently reread them after finding them in the attic in my mothers house. Was delighted to discover there was a 5th book I did not know about. Particularly liked all the Welsh references being from Wales.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
A book (and series) that works on more than one level and encourages suspension of disbelief. I loved it! A shame the series wasn't longer. It was especially interesting the way several strands from earlier books came together.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Really really enjoyed this series of books which I found out about by accident. Ready to read more by the same author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
The final book of the story which began in over sea under stone. A great finale. Wish there had been more
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
I love this series of children's books. The light and the dark - and insight into the human world. Magic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse