Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
69
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2017
gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2010
This is another enjoyable Dexter novel from Jeff Lindsay. This book sees Dexter as a new father, and his little girl, Lily-Anne, is giving him a new view on life. He decides to give up the dark ways, and focus on being a good father. Deborah on the other hand needs Dexter's dark side for help on her latest case, which involves a cannibal kidnapping!

Due to severely pared down gore, this book reads more like a detective novel than a traditional Dexter novel, but is very enjoyable none the less. Jeff Lindsay writes better and better every book, with dialogue and pacing better that before. The plot in this one is a little weak however, with a couple of very obvious plot twists (probably best to call them plot kinks really), and some rather obvious sign posting.

Another disappointing evolution is Dexter's new found humanity. This essentially manifests as him being bossed around and manipulated, as well as being less focussed. This is a strange book in the series in some ways, being quite good, but in completely different ways than the previous Dexter novels. Recommended as a book in the series, especially with the intriguing reintroduction of an old character, but not a classic.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Well, now that Dexter is the darling, doting daddy of Lily Anne, his newborn daughter, his psyche is taking more of a turn for the normal. After all, not only is he married, but he has a child now. Could anything be more human than that? So, Dexter is even feeling human emotion, at times, which is somewhat trying to his Dark Passenger, who yearns to get out and play. Of course, Dexter would not be Dexter, if there were not a situation that required his specific skill set.

When Dexter, a blood splatter expert, becomes involved at the behest of his detective sister with the disappearance of two teenage girls, all hell breaks loose. What Dexter discovers is not just an ordinary group of Goths with a vampire fetish, drinking blood, but a secret cabal of cannibals, ready and eager to devour human flesh.

Once again, Dexter is captivating. With sardonic humor and self-deprecating wit, he is quite amusing, even when faced with life and death decisions. Alas, his detective sister has become less so. In fact, as a character, I now find her one dimensional and downright tiresome. She is a one note joke, adding a discordant note to the book, as she has become unlikable. This is a shame, as she is a tie to Dexter's mentor, Harry, who enshrined the code by which Dexter and his Dark Passenger live.

Still, the book is enjoyable, overall, and fans of Dexter will not be disappointed. Readers will turn the last page of this book and find themselves eagerly awaiting the next book in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
Is this book as good as the first two Dexter books? Sadly not. But it is something of a return to form after the mediocre third and fairly unspectacular fourth books in the series.

I would however like to echo what some other reviewers have mentioned regarding the "dumbing down" of the gore levels compared to other books in the series. Dexter's description of his killings isn't nearly as visceral or hard-edged as they have been (particularly in the first book), and for me this is partly due to what seems like a slight lack of anger and motive on the part of Dexter. His motive has changed from rage at the thought of (for example) children suffering at the hands of a deranged priest, to just wanting to make sure there are less bad people in Miami to hurt his new-born baby. I would plead with writer Jeff Lindsay to create some more evil characters for Dexter to really get annoyed about, even if it's just for his "minor killings" which are aside from the main plot.

Despite this, the book is still a very enjoyable read. As with most of the other books there are a couple of plot holes which aren't fully explained, but these really don't distract the reader too much. Certain aspects, including part of the ending can be a little bit predictable also, but the climax still manages to thrill in the classic Dexter way.

This probably isn't the right book to get started with if you are new to the Dexter series, but if you enjoyed the first two and were disappointed with books three and four, I would encourage you to give this a go. I certainly wasn't disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
I found it difficultto rate this as I gave up on it part way through. I really enjoyed the first 3 books, book 4 was good,mainly because Deborah was in a coma for most of it and I really hoped that she would lighten up but oh no. The 5th book begins with Dexter all loved up over his new baby but his joy is short lived. Deborah rings him up and demands he go to a crime scene despite being on paternity leave and he actually goes! When is he going to grow a pair? This book sbould be called Deborah crushes Dexters danglers. It's unbelievable! Is she capable of doing anything withoutDexters help? I'm afraid I won't be reading anymore of this series unless I see a book entitled Dexter decapitates Deborah.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
You sense Jeff Lindsay is quickly running out of steam just the same way his main character Dexter Morgan is.

Lindsay's "Dexter" series, which launched thrillingly under a curdled yellow moon five instalments ago, waxed quickly, reaching a crescendo with its Showtime TV serialisation which itself flourished madly and is now in its fourth or fifth series. Dexter's literary progress has been somewhat more stately, and for good reason: it's tough to know where to go with a set-up as singular as Dexter's. By instalment 3 Dexter was already presenting Lindsay with scenario dilemmas: an avenging vigilante psychopath operating under cover as a mild-mannered forensic scientist in bloodthirsty Miami (so much so Hong-Kong Phooey) - is such an improbable set up even for a one-off, let alone a series - that plot developments are inevitably constrained. After all, there are only so many times a supremely gifted and unscrupulous evil-doer can figure out Dexter's saucy secret before it becomes implausible that no-one else does.

And while, on one hand, there's not really anywhere a character like Dexter can go: he can't settle down and get married and have kids; he can't share his secret; he can't give up his nocturnal urges *and* stay interesting - on the other hand what gives these novels their dramatic impetus is precisely that Dexter sails so close to the wind that, to remain plausible as an ongoing proposition he has to do these things. Dexter's cover requires him to be close to people, and the relationships he chooses (with his adoptive sister, a girlfriend, a suspicious workmate) are by their nature volatile, that Dexter simply can't stay in suspended animation either: each novel contains a little more self-discovery, each novel somehow compels Dexter on to prosaic and dreary normalcy.

On so it is, by instalment 5 that, having exhausted other options including the freaky supernatural one (episode 3 - didn't work) Jeff Lindsay has no choice but to allow a now married Dexter (this sociopath once without a sexual, let alone romantic, tendency in his body) to become a father and start to feel the stirrings of human emotions. Which kind of defeats the point.

Each of these compromises makes the character less interesting, and oddly the same goes for the surrounding cast. Debs is muted, Chutsky barely represented (despite figuring largely in the plot), even Vince Matsuoka seems to have lost his perverted interest in what goes on. Nor does the primary antagonist, this time, have any special connection with Dexter much less special knowledge of Dexter's dastardly doings (perhaps to retain plausibility, but at the cost of piquancy), is thinly drawn and indeed isn't even introduced to the action until the final act.

And nor is there the spectre of a Sergeant Doakes or a Detective Coulter on Dexter's case and closing in for the home team, ratcheting up the tension and posing the squeamish questions for the reader (such as, "why am I pulling for a psychopathic murderer over a policeman who has correctly figured him out?").

In fairness there is a tension of this sort, introduced by the return of a character from a former instalment, but even that seems half-hearted, not enough is made of it, and it necessitates some awkward plotting, requiring Deborah to be conveniently absent or unconscious on a couple of occasions to avoid running into this chap. Now Lindsay's plotting has always been a bit thin, but daylight was showing through here and on one or two other occasions you could see significant developments (including the denouement) coming a mile off.

Lindsay's playful prose, juicy characterisation and gift for wry observations about the venality of modern life has always outstripped his plotting in any case, but even that feels careworn here: there are only so many times jokes about crazy driving on Miami freeways pay off, and the characterisation is generally flat (though there's a great running joke about Rita's incoherence). Deborah's sizzling invective of earlier novels is reduced to a habit of repeatedly punching Dexter on the arm.

In short, Dexter is Delicious feels a lot like Jeff Lindsay going through the motions. Dexter may have been delicious once, but it is all tasting a bit stale on the fifth go-round. Lindsay is a terrific writer and, for all my bearishness, this is still a much better read than most in its genre, but all the same Dexter feels depleted, dreary and dismal. It's time he were retired, so Jeff Lindsay can invent another delicious character to thrill and dazzle us.

Olly Buxton
22 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2010
First thing I'll say about this book is that quite simply it has little affect on anything.
Sure new character plots are introduced with some coming and leaving, but overall nothing has any real affect by the end.

Is this a bad thing? It depends, the plot isn't as mytsterious or fun as it has been in the past, but its a bit oddball - even if it is slightly cliched and has a truely sickening conversation when there is a plot twist, which is so removed from reality its extra freaky but also extra funny.

This is not the tv series - Lindsay seems to have gone down an almost 'comic-book' like story telling path. Characters are one-dimensional yet add to the plot and humour in their own very specific ways and the plot is pretty much more of the same as we get in every book.

Lindsay seems to have decided this series should have numerous stories, and it seems he is writing it into a market so that fans of the books will keep buying each instalment despite it never really going to the same levels of imagination as we get in the first book and the fourth.

I really feel though that the series needs some edge - something big. Something different.

Unfortunately this book can be filed under 'filler' and more of the same, and while well-written, frankly if you miss it then you'll only miss one thing that happens right at the end and will likely be brought up in the first chapter of the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
I have loved the previous books and the TV series but found this latest book a disappointment. As said in some of the previous reviews the plot is a bit thin, though if you are going to try and ride the current wave of interest in vampires etc. this is not a bad way to join the party, which brings me on to my next point: way too many mangled metaphors and repetition of phrases like "on point." and Lily Ann's name.
Angel and Masouka are virtually absent and although there is some very amusing writing, the laughable dialogue of the English villain "Dearie, Duckie, Love" etc. really spoiled the action scenes at the end, sounded more like a low life from that dreadful Eastenders.
Did anyone edit this book for overuse of certain words or authenticity? Overall it felt like a 3 course meal with the main ingredients left out. If this had been first in series I probably would not buy any more.
On the other hand if the author was trying to create the chaos, soul searching and general befuddlement felt by most new parents who question their role and competence as a parent as well every other facet of their lives when their first born arrives then he has done quite a good job and there is some short lived amusement to be had in a serial killer who gets no sleep and is regularly peppered with baby vom. but it is short lived! so lets hope Dexter gets his mojo back for the next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2010
After the brilliance of the first two DEXTER novels, Jeff Lindsay produced (in my opinion) two equally disappointing additions to the series. However, I am pleased to report that DEXTER IS DELICIOUS is a return to top form in no uncertain terms. The writing is sharp, vivid and funny. The characters are well-realised and for the most part the dialogue -- to use a well-worn cliche -- positively crackles. The plot's pretty good, too, revolving as it does around a flesh-eating cult known as The Coven. The characters of Dexter, his wife Rita, his sister Debs, his fellow forensics expert Vince and his step-kids Astor and Cody are all faithfully reproduced in the popular TV show, but the Dexter of the books is definitely moving in a different and intriguing direction. I eagerly await the next instalment! My only gripe here is the reappearance (SPOILER ALERT!) of Dexter's brother Brian. I have nothing against this character except that his dialogue is so hopelessly formal and phoney that whenever he opens his mouth with a "I bid you a fond farewell, dear lady" or a "Come now, brother dearest" I'm immediately (and I'm sure, unintentionally) reminded of the dialogue between THE SIMPSONS' Sideshow Bob and his brother. Brian's appearance sounds the only hollow note in the book, which in all other respects is wholly and entirely recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dexter is Delicious is the fifth of the Dexter series by Jeff Lindsay. Dexter, new father of Lily Anne, is dazed to find he no longer interested in indulging his Dark Passenger's needs: a bit of a dilemma as Astor and Cody still need mentoring for their own needs. This new Dexter would, ideally, like to steer them in a benign direction. Cody's insistence that someone is watching them proves right when Dexter's brother Brian turns up, seeming all affable and family-oriented, and this can't possibly be good, can it? And work is proving interesting, with a couple of missing teenagers, one of whom turns up roasted and eaten, prompting ideas of vampires and cannibals. Deborah is behaving quite strangely, distracted, perhaps, by the ticking of her biological clock, rather louder since Lily Anne's debut into the world. This instalment has Dexter hanging out in a nightclub refrigerator, a boarded-up trailer and an abandoned amusement park at dusk; all the while we are entertained by Dexter's glib tongue and ready wit. The conversation inside the refrigerator is priceless. The reader is treated to vivid imagery and Lindsay is the master of juxtaposition of the incongruous. As always, Lindsay gives us sharp dialogue and an original plot with some twists I didn't see coming. I look forward to reading Double Dexter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here