Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 November 2017
I am very happy with my purchace,thank You very much sm
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2017
an outstanding band - I'd almost forgotten how good they were
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2017
I didt know i liked them so much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2017
Crowded House are capable of making anything better!! Hooray for the magnificent Crowded House.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2017
Great CD love the music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2017
fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2017
Great collection of favourites
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2017
Just brilliant songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2010
Don't get me wrong, big fan of Crowded House and all things N Finn but I'm struggling to see the point of this newest compilation other than to fulfil record label contractual obligations. The "Recurring Dream" Best Of from 1996 (just one "Very" in the title rather than two!) is a bona fide 5 star, expertly compiled CD with a similar and generous 19 song track listing. They even wrote three brand new singles around it to give fans something new. For 14 years it's been the perfect introduction to the band for newbies and a nicely compiled reminder for longer-term fans. Essential listening really.

This latest "Very Very" Best Of seems a bit unnecessary for a number of reasons and I suppose it's no surprise it's been released not long after the band's latest studio album "Intriguer" and just before the Christmas period. Their record label are obviously keen to chalk up some bonus Christmas sales on the back of the CH name which is not unusual but they really should have included slightly more here to entice us. A glaring omission from this "Very Very" Best Of is that nothing from the recent "Intriguer" LP is included; not even the radio friendly "Saturday Sun" which was clearly meant as a single even if it was never officially released as such. This basically means the only new material here is "Don't Stop Now" and "Pour Le Monde" from 2007's "Time On Earth" which despite being great songs themselves don't really justify a whole new Best Of, surely? Finally, taste is of course subjective but I would never ever put "Chocolate Cake" on a Crowded House Best Of. Some bonus royalties for Tim there no doubt ;-)

I did however buy this anyway for what I guessed would be improved sound quality or mastering but to be honest I struggle to hear any improvement over "Recurring Dream" which was already a pristinely mastered CD anyway. The bonus DVD here is nice if a bit throwaway. Musical promos can be a niche interest most of the time but if you enjoy viewing them then I suppose you'll like it. It's interesting to see them rolling back the years in their 80s and 90s incarnations I suppose.

5 stars for the music (of course) but 2 stars overall for this particular compilation. A slightly pointless object which for the same price you could buy about three other CH releases from Amazon UK and get a broader taste for the band. For any newbies reading this I recommend the aforementioned "Recurring Dream" compilation, "Time On Earth" & "Temple Of Low Men"... in that order, you won't go far wrong!
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Woodface
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)