Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Elaine Paige and Friends
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 November 2010
I bought this because i love anything olivia newton john does and was surprised at how good the rest was. Elaine with john barrowman doing where is the love is my second favourite track here, nice to hear john duetting with his first leading lady and doing a great job on this cover. Her version of andew golds "thank you for being a friend" is also stand out for me, great to have another version of the golden girls theme by these 2 golden girls. I also own elaine queen cd single and her stages cd which are favourites of mine only wish her recording of "Abbaracadabra" the early abba musical was freely available.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2010
I can recommend this album. When Essential Musicals was realised a few years ago it was clear that Elaine's voice had changed and it had effected her vocal style, so what would she do with this collection?

It's a selection of more well known romantic numbers - not the kind of songs Elaine has typically chosen to sing in the past but a nice change. On a lot of tracks she keeps the power down which is a deliberate effort to blend with the co-stars and not turn the record into a power contest, appealing to an easy-listening audience.

So is there a return of the Elaine Paige of old? Yes. These are the songs that make the album for me. 'It's Only Life' is the one 'new' track (e.g. not a cover) and on this song from the outset Elaine puts in power and feeling. With no offence intended to Sinead, you find yourself wishing Elaine had vocalled the whole track as it is the song she has made entirely her own and it is a classic Elaine Paige song.

Another big favourite is the final track, where the tempo finally picks up just a little for a great closing track, 'Thank You For Being A Friend' where Elaine and Dionne Warwick really sound good together. The second half of the album is my preference - we move from the better known songs to ones that allow the vocalists to bring a little more depth.

The album as a whole. I would have liked to see a bigger mix of tempos and there are definately songs that have come out better than others. The only problem I feel boils down to this being the product of a record label producing what they think will sell. Elaine Paige should be power and emotion, she should not try and sofen her vocals for an easy listening audience (not on too many tracks anyhow!). And please push for more new tracks, the one we have is definately the sort of thing we want to hear!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2017
This is so dreary that it's a crime against music. Flat, common, little voice that detracts from all the dull song choices. Why mega-stars like Olivia agreed to sing with her is a mystery. And how can amoureuse possibly be sung as a duet? The music police should lock Ms Paige up and throw away the key! I normally give CDs that I don't like to the charity shop but this is so awful that I'm going to bin it so that no-one else to suffer this assault on their ears!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2010
Elaine's latest offering sees her paired with some remarkable voices interpreting some wonderful well-known songs, some not so well-known songs and a new composition from the very capable hands of Tim Rice and Gary Barlow.

The album is perfect Sunday afternoon listening (after Elaine Paige on Sunday on BBC Radio 2 of course) or while you enjoy a candle-light romantic meal. Particular favourites are the duet with Olivia Newton John, and the album closer with Dionne Warwick.

The only draw-back of the album, and this is a tiny little thing, is that it doesn't stray too far away from that 'Easy-listening' tag; there are no moments that will make you sit up and think 'wow!' - but that's probably not the album's intention: the intention I assume is to relax you and indulge you. Elaine's voice is light, and there's no 'broadway belt', but on the evidence of this album, if this is the direction that her voice and indeed, Elaine herself is taking, then it's a welcome move.

Sit back, crack open a bottle of wine, and enjoy the moment, and if you have someone to share the moment with, then this is the perfect album.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2010
We first listened to this on a long car journey and it was very pleasant with songs that we liked and remembered. Our only criticism would be that the people Elaine were dueting with did not get much of a look in and it was mainly Elaine Paige. We bought it because of the duets but were a bit disappointed that sometimes their voices were only on for a few seconds. But Elaine was in good voice and if you want to listen to something pleasant and undemanding that soothes the soul then this is the CD to buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2010
What a great way to start a cold November! A great job Elaine (and friends). The album is a complete move away from theatre-songs and all those entail for Elaine but not at all a disappointment, with some great tracks. The album mostly consists of "modern standards" as duets with a whole host of well-known artists, including pleasing if at times, quite surprising choices given Elaine's back catalogue to date. The album is well produced and certainly shows Elaine's ability to perfectly phrase and master whatever she sings with the perfect balance of feeling for the songs and consideration for the person singing with her - it is a rare skill perhaps, to be able to sing with integrity and feeling without deminishing the contribution of the other artist in a duet, but Elaine does it without fault. We should have known though, that Elaine is well-able to deal with something completely different given her past triumphs such as "The Queen Album" et al! Thank you Elaine for showing us again what a great artist you are!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2010
Elaine always pleases. As someone commented earlier this is a great easy listening CD, and some of the artists she performs with are Neil Sedaka, Leann Rimes, and Michael Bolton. If you like melodic music which is easy on the ear, accompanied by Elaine's great voice, then do buy this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2010
Really pleased with this new album, fantastic new duets with a great vast majority of stars. Stand out tracks are with Olivia Newton-John and Michael Bolton. Elaine in fine voice as usual. Pleasant, relaxing, fantastic.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2010
nice very nice, i love it, i buy this cd for olivia newton john who sings Amoureuse with elaine paige
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2010
Kids back at school, hubby at work, Elaine Paige and Friends at top volume! Bliss! Stunning voice, lovely duets. Pure indulgence. Favourite at the moment is "All the Way" with Michael Bolton.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)