Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
36
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Storyteller's Collection
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 24 November 2012
Good album collection that will bring back lots of memories for those who liked this band in the eighties.
On listening to it though, it does seem a bit out dated by todays standards but saying that, it is a damn sight more listenable to than todays modern "rock" bands!!
I had seen them live on a few occasions and this reminded me of the passion and energy that they portrayed when on stage.
Listen and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Magnum should have been huge and came close in the mid 80's but they remain one of Britain's most overlooked rock talents. This compilation is well put together and a good starting point for anyone looming to get into their music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
A fantastic compilation for fans and occasional listeners alike. I bought it for the car as I have most of the tracks on tape oreven vinyl. I actually prefer them live and have seen them many times over the years, this compilation is a great balance from their albums, the songs are the story of Magnum so the title is pretty apt too.
I have read some criticism of the production in the 80s but it is what it is, this is how they wanted to sound then, they could reproduce it live which not all bands could do, I have always enjoyed them, some albums more than others, I won't name them as then I would get petty.

This is Magnum, enjoy their melodic sounds and great stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
I do not normally buy these compilation Albums of Magnum songs as I have all the original songs anyway and the band do not benefit from these releases. However this is an exception as I wanted something for the car. Overall it is a good selection of songs from the pre SPV days there are also some B sides and that are worth listening to as well. If your not familiar with the band than this is a great starting point for older material
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
One of my all time favourite compilations of Magnum and their work. All my favourite tracks are included and a must for any long car journey. It's a great album that I adore to listen to when I'm not sure which album to play, however that said, I do love the original albums to each and every track too. No compilation will replace my love for the original albums. But this is a fantastic compilation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
Excellent album purchased after being blown away by The Visitation. This band has come onto my radar late but now gets more plays than any other at present. A comprehensive selection of songs to enhance my collection. It was bought after much deliberation whether to buy individual albums or not and not regretted at all. Would highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
A pretty well thought out collection. However some b-sides and "rare gems" have been included at the expense of obvious classics such as Vigilante, How Far Jerusalem etc. There's never been a compilation ever released that's pleased everybody. This is a good, but not great effort. The omission of Vigilante cost it a big fat star!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2011
Im glad I bought this album as it has several of my favourite tracks and it is great night time listening it helps me unwind after a busy day at work. Brilliant song writing by the highly underestimated Tony Clarkin complimented by Bob Catleys soaring vocals everything just falls into place excellent listening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
Hearing the old Magnum classics in digital format is like popping into you favourite restaurant. No matter how many times you go back you know you will only get the best. C'est le vie :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Magnum rule excellent best of, love all there albums especially there early stuff so melodic and heavy as well if you don't know of magnum you don't know what your missing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)