Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
434
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
These 1920s poems are a mixture. Some have dated, some are rather whimsical, but the majority make wonderful soporific bedtime reading for children! Telling children to listen without looking is very neglected nowadays. Poetry is easier for a very tired parent to read than prose, and listening to poetry without looking at the pictures is the best way for children to get sleepy. Market Square, the Little Black Hen and Sit Thomas Tom are my favourites, and of course The King's Breakfast is legendary!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2017
I just glanced at this book of poetry and could not put it down, it took me back to my childhood,absolutely wonderful
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
A children's classic; we like to give it as a sixth birthday present. My older granddaughter liked to have individual poems read aloud to her, but the younger one read it straight through herself. Good for any child who likes books, although some may appreciate more when they are a little older.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
A timeless book beautifully presented. The pages are a good quality paper with a ribbon page marker. My Grandson and I have loved this as bedtime reading since he was very little and now he is six what better way to celebrate his birthday than his very own copy to keep; for his own children hopefully one day. Delivery was prompt and the book was well protected. couldn't be more pleased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
My children grew up with Christopher Robin and I love the magic and rythmical use of language in this book. My grandchildren are into more contemporary books but I recite a poem from WWWVY and they love that - so I am gradually introducing more poems from the book. They particularly like the rythm of "James James Morrison Morrison Weatherby George Dupree, took great care of his mother, although he was only three". I think using poems like this helps their appreciation of language and music as well.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
A delightful book. I was giving a copy for my 6th birthday which I loved so when my eldest grandchild reached that same age recently, I did the same for her. She loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
Bought this for our new Great Nephews. Still have my own original version - 60 years on from the day I received it.
A wonderful collection of delightful poetry and illustrations.
I can still recite most of them from memory.
Hope it becomes as well loved and well worn as my own original !
Wonderful !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Isn't it just such a lovely book to read...my daughter came to me and asked if i had this book when i was six or rather if this book was given to me when i was six...i would like to apologise from here on, but i did lied and say YES!! proudly, i have read it to them since i received at bed time and they do so enjoy every words and i do so enjoy reading it also.xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
It's the book I had as a child and bought it for my granddaughters 6th birthday. I love it even if she's not so convinced yet!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
Everybody should have a copy of this book - not just children. I know the whole book by heart - that is how much I love it. My copy is 55 years old and looking 'loved'. Read 'The Kings Breakfast' and then resist a recitation every time you serve marmalade of a morning! The poems are easy to learn - ideal for the young reader. Fun to recite together - which is the foundation of loving books.
Young friends receive a copy of this from me at the earliest opportunity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse