Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
83
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.74
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2003
I havnt enjoyed a book like this in a long time! A thoroughly gripping book about love, family and of course hidden secrets!Eveleen is such a strong character who is determined to succeed Magaret Dickinson made an excellent job. I would reccomend this book to anyone who loves a can't-put-it-down book!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2007
This is not the kind of book I would normally read, but been stuck in a quiet period at work there was nothing else to do so I started to read the first few pages.

My typical book choice would be a fantasty or a Crime Thriller so I really didn't expect much, how wrong could I be?

Within the first few pages I was hooked, the book is so well written and very engaging. I truely cared about the characters, laughing, crying and shouting along with them.

I finished the book in two days and am now going to buy the sequal, a wholely unexpected but gratefully welcomed addition to my reading list!

Whatever your taste I reccommend you read this book and get in touch with true humanity. :)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
The heroine of this soothing and soothingly predictable romantic novel is a beautiful (of course), young country girl, Eveleen, who successfully emerges hopeful, and cleverly virginal, from sexual oppression by the squire's son and from the trauma of being driven from her tied home. Eveleen nobly takes responsibility for her mother and her feckless brother on their journey, first to work for a hypocrite Christian Uncle and thence to the Dark Satanic Mills of Victorian and Edwardian Nottingham. The mother, Mary is driven temporarily witless by her husband's death and the consequent removal of the family from their tied holding and she becomes a greater burden for the youthful heroine. By pure chance, Eveleen finds work in a factory which turns out to be owned by the handsome (of course) old flame of her mother's, who might have been her (illegitimate) father. Fortunately for Eveleen and the story line, it turns out not to be so, because the old flame's son, Mr Richard, is equally handsome, dark, and presumably, heir to his father's successful business, and naturally, he falls in love, on sight, with Eveleen. He becomes her knight in shining armour and moves tactfully but inevitably to protect and save her from her several tribulations. Despite her brother James getting her cousin Rebecca pregnant and running away to sea, at last, everything ends with prospects of happiness all round, except for poor old Dad, who died early in the saga, and Rebecca who dies in childbirth leaving Eveleen with the baby. I found the author's ploy of keeping Eveleen ever pure, yet making her a mother by proxy at once ingenious, and amusing, yet touchingly realistic for the times portrayed.
What takes this novel out of the run-of -the-mill is the extraordinarily well-researched detail of the small world the characters lived and worked in. The second hero#ine) is the Ruddington Framework Knitters Museum, on which Eveleen's Uncle's framework shops and home are precisely based. This real background lifted the whole saga into vivid reality, and after the formulaic early pages, I was enthralled. There are echoes of Pride and Prejudice, but set in a lower stratum of society and with a less cerebral, but equally complex and fascinating set of characters.

Margaret Dickinson is a very experienced and popular writer and is generally very readable and enjoyable. Particularly so in this case. The amount of research that went into this book is evident, but not gratingly obvious; knitted into the pattern of the story faultlessly.

Tangled Threads will contrast and complement nicely the stock of more weighty academic and factual publications sold by the Museum. Margaret Dickinson's imagination has populated the Museum site with lively and romantic characters.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
I am from Lincolnshire, so could relate to some of the places mentioned in this book. I got so wrapped up in the story ,I finished the book in one day. She writes in such away , you feel as though you are with the characters them selves. Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
I have really enjoyed this book. It filled in the blanks from the other story. It was great to see Mary happy at last. Margaret Dickinson gives the reader a story to get your teeth into and leaves you wondering if the next book might carry on with everyone's life and the baby. Would be nice for Jimmy to come home and met his daughter
. More please
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2016
Author: Margaret Dickinson
Title: Tangled Threads
Genre: Contemporary Fiction, Family Sagas, Historical Romance, Literature And Fiction,

I was given this book along with twisted strands.

Book Dedication: For Dennis

This book has 464 pages and 60 chapters in it.

I would tell people that you should step outside your comfort zone with books because it is good to add more authors and genres to your reading portfolio. Even if you do not read books like this.

I normally read books of this genre but l also stepped outside my comfort zone with authors and genres l am so glad l did because l have read so many great books and come across some great authors.

Synopsis: A spellbinding saga of family ties, heartbreak and rediscovered love. For Eveleen Hardcastles life gets no better than growing up on pear tree farm in the Lincolnshire countryside. Her family works so hard for the dunmore estate and Eveleen finds it impossible to resist the charms of their employer's son, Stephen dunmore. But Jimmy, ever quick to antagonize, ensures that his sister's clandestine trysts do not remain so for long . Mary Hardcastles reacts to the news of her daughter's affair with a shocking ferocity, which seems to be born more of bitterness than maternal protectiveness. But what is it that fuels Mary's resentment towards her daughter? Unable to ingore her own feelings, Eveleen continues to meet stephen in secret. But deception has a cruel price to pay when her beloved father is found dead from a heartattack, and worse yet, stephen, far from providing Eveleen with the comfort she craves, deserts her in her hour of need and callously evicts the Hardcastles from the farm, suddenly homeless, Eveleen is left to take the family reins and fights to make a new life for her family in Nottinghamshire. Then she makes a stunning discovery about her mother's past which changes their lives for ever.... Eveleen's brother get a girl pregnant so they are kicked out and have to take the girl with them and they have to find yet another home and they make the boy marry the girl who he got pregnant and the boy then ran away to join the navy and when the girl dies in childbirth they are left to raise her daughter and the girl never gets to meet her father.

Review: I found this book really easy to get in to and hard to put down once l started reading it l also have the follow on to this book twisted strands and l am happy to be able to read the follow on and I was hooked on this book after reading the first page. It was sad to read that Eveleen's father passed away due to a heartattack. When her brother gets a girl pregnant they make him marry her. It was sad to read that the girl died in childbirth and her husband had ran away to join the navy. I was glad to read that Eveleen and her mother was raising the poor girl who did not meet her mother and her father was no where to be seen because he was in the navy. It is horrible to read that Eveleen gets all the blame for everything that happened and her brother gets no blame. They had a home until her got that poor girl pregnant so l think he should get the blame. I thought family was supposed to stick together not fight. It is upsetting that they havw to break the news to Rebecca's father that she died in childbirth and that her daughter was alive and well. I wish that Rebecca had lived and she was raising her daughter and they did not have to give her father bad news about his precious daughter.

About The Author: Margaret Dickinson was born in Gainsborough, Lincolnshire, Margaret Dickinson moved to the coast at the age of seven and so began her love for the sea and the Lincolnshire landscape. Her ambition to be a writer began early and she had her first novel published at the age of twenty-five. This was followed by a number of further titles including the clippie girls, fairfield hall and welcome home. Margaret is a Sunday times top ten bestseller.

About The Book: This book comes with two different covers and l really like the cover and the blue is a really nice colour not too bright and not too dull.
Star Rating: Five Out Of Five Stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I always admire the research that Margaret Dickinson must do prior to her writing.

For me if I read about a time or place that I have knowledge about, and its all botched up I seldom finish the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
I would really love to meet Margaret and ask her so many questions, her novels bring real life into perspective and thanks to her my sleepless nights have brought me great comfort. I am a true devotee to her novels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Margaret Dickinson knows how to put a good story together and I feel she does her research well. Her trilogies are good and you just want to read the next book. I would recommend this author to anyone who likes family saga's set in and around war time .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2006
Book Review: " Tangled Threads" by Margaret Dickinson.

The heroine of this soothing and mainly predictable romantic novel is a beautiful (of course), young country girl, Eveleen, who successfully emerges hopeful, and cleverly virginal, from sexual oppression by the squire's son and from the trauma of being driven from her tied home. Eveleen nobly takes responsibility for her mother and her feckless brother on their journey, first to work for a hypocrite of a "Christian" Uncle and thence to the Dark Satanic Mills of Victorian and Edwardian Nottingham. The mother, Mary is driven temporarily witless by her husband's death and the consequent removal of the family from their tied holding and becomes yet another burden for the youthful heroine. By pure chance, Eveleen finds work in a factory which turns out to be owned by the handsome (of course) old flame of her mother's, who might have been her (illegitimate) father. Fortunately for Eveleen and the story line, it turns out not to be so, because the old flame's son, Mr Richard, is equally handsome, dark, and presumably, heir to his father's successful business, and naturally, he falls in love, on sight, with Eveleen. He becomes her knight in shining armour and moves tactfully but inevitably to protect and save her from her several tribulations. Despite her brother James getting her cousin Rebecca pregnant and running away to sea, at last, everything ends with prospects of happiness all round, except for poor old Dad, who died early in the saga, and Rebecca who dies in childbirth leaving Eveleen with the baby. I found the author's ploy of keeping Eveleen pure, yet making her a mother by proxy, ingenious, amusing, but touchingly realistic for the times portrayed.

What takes this novel out of the run-of -the-mill is the extraordinarily well-researched detail of the small world the characters lived and worked in. The second hero(ine) is the Ruddington Framework Knitters Museum,on which Eveleen's Uncle's framework shops and home are precisely based. This real background lifted the whole saga into vivid reality, and after the formulaic early pages, I was enthralled. There are echoes of Pride and Prejudice, but set in a lower stratum of society and with a less cerebral, but equally complex and fascinating set of characters.

Margaret Dickinson is a very experienced and popular writer and is generally very readable and enjoyable; particularly so in this case. The amount of research that went into this book is evident, but not gratingly obvious; knitted into the pattern of the story faultlessly.

Tangled Threads will contrast and complement nicely the stock of more weighty academic and factual publications held by the Museum. Margaret Dickinson's imagination has populated the Museum site with lively and romantic characters. Eveleen promises to become a local heroine of some note in the book's sequel, "Twisted Strands".

Despite an ingrained aversion to the genre, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and can recommend it to anyone even slightly interested in the cottage industry era, the Ruddington Framework Knitters Museum in its hey-day, or a very satisfying novel.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.74
£4.74
£5.22

Need customer service? Click here