Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Water
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
109
4.5 out of 5 stars
Water
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.29


on 25 October 2013
This starts steadily then takes off. He has a great jazz blues voice with an equally good jazz backup that varies in style and mood according to his songs-well matched. That to me was the beauty of this as that he moves smoothly through different emotions. Definitely worth listening to if you are a jazz blues fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
Having been introduced to Gregory Porter on Jazz FM I bought both of his albums and I can't stop playing them! He has a superb voice and performs each song with such ease and clarity. I can't wait for his next CD!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2016
excellent - I bought Perter's discography and I am very happy with the purchase and the music experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
I heard him singing Feeling Good last night on Radio 3. I was immediately struck by his fabulous and warm voice, the love child of Nina Simone and Richie Havens. His version of Skylark comes close to Ella's magnificent version, with the power that Aretha brought to hers in the early sixties. And no annoying vocal tics that make you want to grab some singers by the throat....but that may just be me being a bit grumpy, and is not a threat obviously.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
Good album - songs and musicianship are really high standard; great live too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
Gregory describes this as an album of love and protest inextricably twinned to the emotional drivers in Jazz and as a power to the people. The best track on the CD is the brilliant story of the riots in Detroit USA entitled 1960 What. Without a doubt, this is the best Jazz tune of 2011.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
I HAD HEARD A FEW OF THIS ARTISTS TRACKS AND THEY WERE GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME TO BUY THIS C.D
HOWEVER OVERALL NOT REALLY TO MY TASTE.IN MY OPINION MORE BACKGROUND MUSIC AS NOT A GREAT JAZZ LOVER.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Smooth jazz voice of Gregory Porter shines through on all the tracks of this album. An earlier work but you can see the potential which were acheived with the later albums.
Brilliant album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
A breath of fresh air in the modern music scene where awful manufactured boy bands and girl bands dominate, or boring hip-hop and RnB is force-fed as the "alternative" music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
Amazing.... not much more one can say
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Be Good
£4.99
Nat "King" Cole & Me
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)