Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2017
Love the soundtrack but does not play on my IMAC or stereo, just rejects
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2010
What a masterpiece!!!

This 2 CD set is amazing! Murray Gold's stirring soundtrack will bring back memories from David Tennant's amazing and heartbreaking final episodes.

The highlight - the 2nd CD, music from The End of the Time. "Vale Decem" the final aria to the 10th Doctor will have you weeping as you remember his time as the keeper of the TARDIS and his regeneration.

Would recommend to all!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
***This is a review about the technicalities of the CD pressing, and NOT the music itself.***

For reasons unbeknown to us mere mortals, the BBC have seen fit to press this CD from lossy masters. Lossy, for those not familiar with the term, basically means that the audio is compressed and data/frequencies are discarded in order to reduce the file size. MP3 is a lossy format. Compact Disc is a lossless format, meaning the audio has full bandwidth (a full frequency response to 22khz) with no loss of data, frequency or subtleties.

In other words, the master recordings for this CD have been pressed to CD from a format like MP3, instead of full quality lossless masters. You can check this by simply extracting one of the tracks from the CD to a format like WAV and examining the audio spectrum in a program like Adobe Audition CS6 (PC). Any areas of black denote the missing audio data, which cannot be recovered. The result is a compressed, slightly muddy sound that lacks depth, sheen and quality.

This is a very disappointing situation, as Mr. Gold's music deserves a lot better treatment. It would be interesting to see how this happened; indeed similar situations befell the CD releases of both G.I. Joe - The Rise Of Cobra and the Lesbian Vampire Killers OST. Whilst Silva Screen were quick to rectify the situation on the latter, the BBC seem to have taken the stance of Varese Sarabande on the former and stood by the "quality" of their aurally inferior product.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 November 2010
Silva Screen Records presents "DOCTOR WHO - SERIES 4 - THE SPECIALS" [ORIGINAL TV SOUNDTRACK]" -- Murray Gold, once again has struck it rich with this latest release from the classic series of "Doctor Who", as they say there is "Gold" in them thar hills --- Much musicality within each cue and track that makes this a wonderful listen, even if you're not into soundtracks or film scores --- The fans and collectors alike will not be disappointed --- Who knows what's in store in the Season 5 soundtrack, it can't get much better than this one.

Mr. Jim's Ratings:
Quality of Sound: 5 Stars
Performance: 5 Stars
Mixing: 5 Stars
Overall: 5 Stars [Arrangements & Song Selection]

Composer Murray Gold, is best known for his powerful score for "Doctor Who" which is widely regarded as a major element in the revival of the classic cult series --- This latest endeavor gives us a glimpse into why this project is so popular and has never faded from the small screen and the fans who clamor for more --- Each theme is arranged so that you're in the series with the characters, which gives you a feeling that you're involved and included with each scene --- This is a new listening experience that should catch on with other composers.

Stand up and take a bow ~ Ben Foster (Orchestrated & Conductor), Murray Gold (Composer/Producer), Reynold D'Silva (Executive Producer), Jake Jackson and Gerry O'Riordan (Engineers) --- must say this collection meets all expectations --- a real winner!

Total Time: 2 Disc Set ~ Silva #1340 ~ (11/09/2010)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 February 2016
I was really pleased when Murray Gold was asked to compose the music for Doctor Who as I love the way he composes. :-)

This double CD set contains the original music scores from all “The Specials” in the last year of David Tennant being Doctor Who.

Both CD’s in this set are picture discs. :-)

Murrays’ melodies were flowing, lyrical, romantic, haunting, powerful, mournful, plenty of action and darker themes when each episode needed it. I also love the choral work on tracks 1 on disc 1 and on tracks 1, 9, 19, 21, 24, 25 and 26 :-)

I also love how Murray Gold orchestrated these soundtracks.

You get a lovely CD booklet that has still photos from the show as well as articles and info about each track. :-)

This is an excellent double CD set and it also reminds me of “The Specials”.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2010
Some tracks very short, others hit the nail on the head. To all you Dr Who buffs it's a must as a collection item which is where it is now in mine
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
First and foremost, the music is simply fantastic. And for 2 CDs at the same price as one, it is a real bargain. The first disk comprises tracks from the first three specials, and the 2nd contains selected tracks from The End of Time. The music on the first disk is slightly variable, but does nonetheless contain a lot of enjoyable tracks. I particularly liked the ones from the Christmas special The Next Doctor. The 2nd disk is where it picks up, feeling more cinematic and epic in scope. Do not be fooled into thinking every cue from the End of Time is present, it isn't. People should stop complaining about what cues were missing and focus on the outstanding tracks which were delivered.

Secondly, the sound quality is amazing, the mixing guys should give themselves a pat on the back. Very crisp indeed. If you enjoyed any of the previous CDs then definitely buy this, it is the perfect end to Tennant's era on the show.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
Murray Gold's music from the specials was probably the most well-crafted of his soundtracks for Doctor Who. There were many stand-out and powerful tracks - unfortunately, some appear to have been missed.

The album as a soundtrack is superb. The music is well produced and there's a wide range of material. There are cartoonish adventurous pieces (A Bit of a Drag, The Cat Burglar), powerful epic melodies (Final Days, The Clouds Pass), sad and reflective tunes (The Fate of Little Adelaide, Vale) and suspenseful climactic tracks (A Dream of Catastrophe, The Master Suite).

Regrettably, some brilliant harmonic pieces have not been released, most notably from The Waters Of Mars and The End Of Time Part 1. Those brilliantly powerful tracks which you would assume would be a must for inclusion on the album are never heard, which comes as a disappointment to some who have been waiting for such a long time.

But there are some phenomenal pieces to enjoy. Of course, there is a faithful (if rather quiet) performance of Vale Decem and a fantastic unused cue which follows in the track Vale. Both tracks are huge successes which are difficult to stop listening to.

Overall, if you're a fan of Murray Gold and generally enjoy his music, this is probably the best purchase you could make. But if you're looking for particular cues used in the episodes, don't expect them all to be included.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2010
It was inevitable. With so many changes to the production crew, logo, opening titles, theme music, even the TARDIS, they'd never release the specials soundtrack on the same CD as series 5 (or 1). And they haven't let us down - including (to quote DWM) "55 minutes from the End of Time part 2" - that's more or less the whole thing!

The specials have an incredible soundtrack (one of Doctor Who's best so far, only to be superceded by "I am the Doctor" from series 5).

And with pieces such as "Vale Decem", "The Timelords' last stand" and "Four Knocks", who wouldn't want this? There's even "Wilf's Wiggle" for those who like the more cheeky cues.

A great buy, without a doubt.

Murray Gold: "I wonder if anyone will listen to it all the way through..."
Me: "Oh yeah!"

BS
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 October 2010
Disc one = meh, Disc Two = hell YES

I found most of Disc One pretty forgettable. But Disc Two makes up for it. There's a couple more average tracks, but most of it is glorious. There's some brilliant themes in there that I'd love Murray Gold to revisit in future Doctor Who music (there is definitely one great, if brief, theme that we hear in the first minutes of Series 5 when Matt Smith's Doctor is hanging out of the TARDIS, and according to the CD booklet the track "A Special Sort Of Bus" contains music which is used in Series 5...though I just can't work out where, so I'll just have to wait till the Series 5 soundtrack is out). Exemplary tracks are ones such as "The End Draws Near" and "Final Days". "Vale Decem" is of course lovely. And the penultimate track "The New Doctor" brings always a grin to my face when I hear it - not exactly the 'profound' stuff I've become accustomed to with Doctor Who music but it's just so darn fun, you can't help but love it. The perfect accompaniment to Matt Smith's first appearance as the Doctor. I don't know how I'm going to survive till the next soundtrack is out.

One final thing - several reviewers before me have been miffed because they feel a lot of the music used in the Specials has been left out/remixed too much. Maybe I just didn't listen hard enough to the music when I was watching the program, but I didn't feel that way. All the great stuff is on the CD, for me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)