Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 10 September 2016
This novel, seems to set out to be a gentle tale of the heroine, Jane's, return from California to her native Scotland. She has left her widowed father behind, and is delighted at the chance to return to her grandmother's house and the old haunts of her childhood. Her she meets up with Sinclair, her cousin, to whom she has always been close.

The descriptions of the sea and the landscape are beautifully done, and much of the book is enjoyable. But the dramatic events towards the end of the novel don't really tally with its original style and feel, and I cannot reconcile this book with the same writer who produced the wonderful The Shellseekers. This is fine for a fairly short, pleasant read, but I wouldn't really recommend it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2014
I got the impression from this book that the author was under pressure to produce a novel in a short space of time, compared to Coming Home it really isn't up to scratch, putting all that aside it was pleasant enough to read but I think could have been made into something much more.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2016
A good story about the quiet living girl & her cousin who never had to live quietly,cautiously money no object . When Jane comes home on a visit he tries to pull her into his world.This isn't how Jane sees it & tells him so. Later on he drives his car madly down the country roads & ends up being killed. His grandmother knew all of his ways & tell Jane he would never of had the money or house as it was all being left to her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2017
I loved this old-fashioned story so much. It had interesting twists and turns and the central character was very different from usual. Based in California and Scotland, it follows the story of Jane who has felt duty bound to her charming father, who is an author and also not very practical, and spent a number of years travelling around America with him in differing circumstances. Eventually returning to Scotland she finds her true purpose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2016
As always, Rosamunde Pilcher's books grab me and won't let me go until I sadly reach the last page. Each scene is set so that you feel part of it, each character is so real you don't want to lose them when the book ends. You become part of the story, a beautifully crafted piece of literature with a plot that grips you from the start and stays with you long after you have finished the book and sadly replaced it on the shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2016
This is a slow gentle story told by the main character Jane who lives in California,with her father (an Author) & dog Rusty, and spends days swimming in the sea, Jane's Grandmother who lives in Scotland is always saying do come & visit for a month or so, then one day a family friend is traveling that way, Jane is persuaded to travel with him, to see her Grandmother, & then the story develops,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2016
After a really busy spell "The end of Summer" came as a delight.
From an intriguing beginning in California we were transported to bonnie Scotland. The author weaved her spell of highland delights, to the extent of almost smelling the pines and hearing the sound of the water lapping the loch shore. Just the kind of book to rest the heart and mind, and nourish the soul.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2016
A well written, intriguing short story. I enjoyed this story about a young girl who lives in America but comes back to Scotland to live with her grandmother, where she was raised as a child. Things are different, including her relationship with her cousin Sinclair, who she adored as a child.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2014
After reading The Shell Seekers by the same author, I was looking forward to this book. However, I was disappointed. The storyline and characters were extremely weak and I was surprised when I reached the end because I was waiting for the story to develop, but it just seemed to fizzle out.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2016
Rosamunde Pilcher always produces a great book. An interesting plot of life and families. How the past influences the present. Great read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Voices In Summer
£3.99
The Empty House
£0.99
Coming Home
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here