Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2016
Any review I could write about this book would never do it justice. Others before me have done it so well. "Be stirred and impassioned by simple words" (sic). "
I have visited and roamed around Vimy Ridge and this book brings home only too well what can at best be imagined as one stands on the hallowed grounds of this nowadays magnificent piece of France that belongs to Canada...
Another review: "a devastatingly truthful work of fiction, and a masterful account of hell and healing. This is a grave, grand, and passionate book" says it all, and one also senses therein the agonising pain, fear, personal intent, bravery, camaraderie, loss of soldiers in battle - all very descriptively present in this book.
"The title Three Day Road has a truly layered meaning in the story" (sic).
The author has most certainly achieved his goal of honouring the Native soldiers who fought in the Great War and beautifully interwoven their folklore into his story-telling.
Once read this book is certain to linger in one's mind and not be forgotten easily. (less)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
There are no words adequate to describe how moving this WW1 novel is. The comradship of two (Canadian Cree Indians) soldiers trained as snipers whilst in the Canadian military troops fighting in Western Europe - the nuances of culture, behaviour and their strange place within the white majority. The skills they show and the madness which gradually envelopes one fo them. This novel is so close to fact - loosely based on a well decorated Native Canadian known as 'Peggy' during the time of conflict. If you are at all interested in the different ethnic minorities who took part on the Allied sides' if you have any interest in military history or merely looking for a strong engrossing novel with battleground as background - this is definitely the one. To also learn some of the culture of the Crees is more than a bonus - it is a gift.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2016
I enjoyed this read. It is a fascinating story, based on fact, of Indians taking part in the Great War and becoming excellent and invaluable snipers. The whole story with the Aunt telling her own story and her nephew recounting his war time experiences with his great friend - which actually in a bizarre way link together- is very well done. The only reason I'm not giving it 5* is because I felt the incessant description of the killings was a bit too long and somewhat over the top as it began to irk me. I just think the editor could have asked the author to shorten that aspect of the story a bit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2008
I was attracted to this book by the connection made to Pegahmagabow, a first world war indigenous Canadian who was highly effective sniper.The contrast between the humanist attitude of the Cree Indian and the machanistic murder of the first world war makes for an exciting counter point. Read this book, you will be enthralled by its lyrical qualities
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2010
Deeply symbolic and evocative account of two friends who abandon their beautiful and spiritual surroundings to fight in the First World War. The friends react differently to the horrors of war. I fell into this book and was surprised to find it had received so few reviews. A must read kind of book ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
A great read but so disturbing at times. A fascinating story well written and imaginative with its staging. Harrowing because my grandfather was there and survived , damaged but physically whole. We talked at length but never about his demons. Books like this remind us what was lost and what was lost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Amazing how the author weaves the narrative between people, years, locations and situations without losing the thread of a great story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2016
I have read many WWI dramatic novels and true memoirs and few are better than this tale of North American Indian prowess, philosophy and experience as WWI Canadian Infantrymen on the Western Front. A tale of friendship, challenges and a dying culture. A must read military, emotional, dramatic story set in the Canadian outback and the trenches of the Western Front.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2008
Three Day Road provides a haunting new insight into the horrors of the trenches, and the contrast between the underground hell of WW1 is contrasted with the clean open spaces of the Canadian wilderness. The mysticism did not always work for me - but the story and its atmosphere will live long in the memory
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
After visiting Vimy Ridge the book was recommended, it gave a graphic insight into world war 1 in France. Aside from the memorial and the grave sites Vimy Ridge still preserves many of the features outlined in this book. A must read and must visit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.62

Need customer service? Click here