Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
28
4.2 out of 5 stars


on 28 October 2017
Excellent, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2010
I like the missing manual series, and this book certainly helps to reveal all the features of Windows 7: it was a useful intro for me converting from Windows XP for sure. However, it often ends up simply being lists of what it does and so leaves you trying to figure out the 'so what' or practical implications; as if the person wrote the manual too much from the Windows 7 spec and not enough from hard earned experience of the product itself. There are further hints of this when some things mentioned in the book don't seem to quite work in practice. Just one example: the links toolbar which, if you add anything to it, always complains that you are trying to run a shortcut and this might be dangerous: therefore rendering it practically useless - this issue simply isn't mentioned in the book.

Finally, if you do read it from cover to cover, I challenge you not to find the author's attitude of 'you click on this button and this appears... yippeee yippeee this is SOO great' grating at times - I often found myself commenting aloud 'big deal - just like in previous versions of Windows'!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2010
Just got a Windows 7 machine then these is ideal to show you the capabilities and tips and tricks to get you used to this new operating system in super quick time.
Aimed at someone just starting this is a great overview on what's on offer and some helpful hints and shortcuts along the way.
If you have been using Windows 7 for some time don't expect to be riveted by the book as a lot of this will be covering things you will have learnt along the way using Windows 7 but for the new user especially if you have gone from XP to 7 then its a good buy to get you up to speed much quicker.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
.....Microsoft ship such information as this with every computer running windows 7? It could be on a disc or in their help files, then again their help files on win7 are absolutely useless as have their help files been with every edition of windows I have ever used. This book is a no nonsense approach to understanding and getting the best from windows 7 I could go on at great length but anyone who is computer competent or aspires to be wont need me to tell them that this purchase is worth every penny!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
This book is extremely useful and written in a very friendly manner. It is by no means a 'story book' and contains plenty of tips on how to utilise a lot of the features in Windows 7. One can find all sorts of little tricks to use and see if they of use to the individual.

No doubt it is neccessary to re-study the various sections to get the best out of the information. This book will keep real fans interested for many hours, reading in their spare time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
The missing manual series is, to my mind, the best series of books to help non techy people like me navigate their path through today's technology. Clearly laid out and written with humour they really are the manual that should have come with the product in the first place.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
Just what is needed.

A smashing reference for those new to win 7.

Well worth the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
I used to buy a copy of these "Missing Manuals" for each new operating system as they came out, but to be honest they all seem to follow the same formula and I seldom bother referring to them much.
It's easier to use Start > Help and Support or search Google for an answer as it is to plough through the book. Windows 7 was my last purchase in the series. They just aren't worth the outlay any more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Hate changing computers - I like what's familiar, so when we replaced the laptop we were stuck with Windows 7. Awful programme, so thank heaven for the Missing Manuals range of publications, I think we must have a full set. As with all of the books in the series it's clearly laid out, written in fairly intelligible English and only occasionally leaves you thinking ' run that past me again.'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
What a sensible title for this book. Having no experience of Widows 7 when I bought a recon. pc with this OS I needed guidance. On-line help or disc manuals are no help at all if you cannot get your machine to function!
Well written, witty and very helpful; thank you David Pogue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)