Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
The Bruised Reed
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99


on 2 June 2017
VERY GOOD BOOK BUT NEEDS TO BE READ SLOWLY SAY A CHAPTER A DAY.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
very precious spiritual book,to be treasured
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2015
A lot of the language is archaic and can sound more punishingly puritanical than it actually is. On the whole it's fairly encouraging.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2017
Bought it for a friend. Looks great; I love the Puritans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2017
Such a brilliant book well worth studying the contents in todays age
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2008
This book is one of the best Christian books I've read, and definitely one of the easiest Puritan books to start out on. A group of Christians from the 1600s, the Puritans were thorough theologians but put great emphasis on application to the Christian life. This edition has all the benefits of Puritan literature without any of the drawbacks, being immensely helpful for your personal walk with Jesus without the Ye Olde English language (the Thous have been changed to Yous, the sentence structure has been made more clear etc. without being an all our paraphrase)

The book itself is an exposition on Isaiah 42:3. Sibbes has two audiences in mind those who are downhearted in their faith and those who are dealing with the downhearted. He reminds both groups that Jesus does not crush the bruised reed, but cares for it. Moreover, he will "faithfully bring forth justice" which he explains is the kingdom of God in our hearts. He tells us that we all suffer and fall back into sin, but that Jesus will care for us and establish his rule in our hearts despite our weaknesses.

This book had a profound impact on the lives of the great men Richard Baxter and Dr. Martyn Lloyd Jones. If you are worried by the strength of your faith in comparison to others and are lacking assurance of salvation this book will help you by pointing you not to something in your life, but to the greatness of Jesus and his ability to keep you faithful to the end.

It's so short and so cheap what are you waiting for!
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2015
This book by Richard Sibbes is a great book of Consolation for those who are suffering. It will lift you up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2015
Have actually read this book in paper back which I got from my old church bookshop. Lost that copy so got it on kindle. Very good book, very comforting and reasurring, while still correcting and being tough where necessary. Very good and mature Christian reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2015
Excellent book and very thought provoking. Leaves you with much to think about.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2014
Good and a book of great insight
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)