Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
154
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2017
A good item. Not particularly one of Duffy's best albums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Not bad at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2017
Duffy's timeless beautyful music is dateless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
This CD is great Duffy has won again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
Rockferry was a great Soul/Pop record. Duffy's good girl image combined with the albums heartfelt tracks made for the perfect companion piece to the darkness of Amy Winehouse's 'Back to Black'. Unfortunately second effort Endlessly is a bit of a misfire. There are no standout tracks like 'Warwick Avenue' or 'Mercy' and the lyrics are one dimensional & overly syrupy throughout. Listening to the album it feels like the producers didn't really know what sound they were going for. On 'Well, Well, Well' (the first and only single) the music has more of a dance feel but it doesn't quite work.

Overall perhaps the biggest disappointment is that Duffy never sings at full power as she did on Rockferry tracks such as 'Serious'. Her unique voice was the core of what made that album so appealing but on Endlessly she does not display the same range. A few of the songs have their own subtle charm such as the Kylie Minogue esque 'Lovestruck' and string accompanied 'Breath Away' (which is quite good) but overall the album is forgettable and unlikely to have you hitting the repeat button. One for completists only.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 May 2013
"Endlessly" demonstates that Duffy can apply some "umph" to here music and does not have to rely heavily on ballads. For me this is a perfect complliment to "Rockferry" as it provides a contrast in style whilst having the same kind of quality feel to the material that would fit amongst the best produced in previous generations.

So I am actually annoyed that critics took a generally less favourable view of this album which clearly had an impact on it's performance and possiblly even knocked Duffy's confidence.

So I am going to say that I think those critics were wrong and I have not hesitation in awarding this album 5 stars and am pleased after reading reviews in comparisson to "Rockferry" that I enjoyed this album just as much.

I would actually say that Duffy demonstrates more versatility than Adele did on her first two albums ("19" and "21").

I understand Duffy has chosen to take a break before releasing a third album. I hope she comes back with gusto and demonstrates the critcism of this album was unjustified. Like "Rockferry" before it, there is not a single poor track on the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Sorry, this album is not listenable for me. I've not the remotest idea why this album got past the producer. The voice wobbles uncontrollably throughout. For an example, compare "Don't forsake me" on this album with "Warwick Avenue" on her Rockferry album. Same tempo, around 85bpm but it's like they've replaced the singer on "Warwick Avenue" with an old wifey with a washed-up hacking voice and an uncontollable vibrato. Sorry, I just don't get it. I loved Duffy's first album but she appears to have sank without trace. I'm guessing this album didn't help her career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It seems to have been an almost endless wait since Duffy's debut, the sublime `Rockferry', for her follow up album. Finally, here it is. But just what is it exactly?

With an original sound that reminded one of Lulu or Dusty Springfield in their prime, Duffy has tried to develop and alter her style a little bit. For me the slightly new direction doesn't work too well. She has moved away from the Phil Spectorish soul ballad backings that suited and framed her voice to a more modern sounding production that she almost has to fight against to make an impact. It doesn't quite suit her voice and does not provide as enjoyable listening experience as Rockferry. The best track on the album for me is `Don't Foresake Me', which follows the earlier style. There are good points here though - Duffy's vocal delivery is disitinctive and excellent, and there is some very good songwriting. It is just let down a bit by the choice of backing and production.

All in all the tracks sound a bit bland and samey, to my ears there are no real standout star tracks. They are all ok, and listenable, but no more than that really. With a bit more focus and a sympathetic production this could have been great, but not an album I will be returning to that often I think.

In all three stars. It's not terrible, but it doesn't really shine for me.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.89
£9.18

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)