Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 21 November 2010
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Never one personally for the latest in 'gadgets'; I thought I'd give this a try anyway, since it was offered via the 'Amazon Vine Programme' for 'Review'.

I have to say; the most off-putting thing about products like this, is probably the most boring part which is reading pages and pages of Instructions and Operating Manuals - and most of which are so poorly put together, they're often difficult to understand... However; not only were the Instructions for this fabulous little Video Camera minimal; you really didn't need them at all - it was just so easy to use!

As someone has already stated in their Review; within literally minutes of opening the box, you are operating this marvellous little thing and making your own mini movies! Never having owned any sort of gadget or Camera like this before, (not even a Camera Phone) I was quite astonished at the simple operation, but more importantly; the amazing results! Both picture and sound quality is superb, and the playback screen is actually big enough for you to watch and enjoy, and not some tiny little pathetic thing which is often the case with this type of thing.

This comes complete with a powerful little rechargeable battery, (only takes 4 hours to charge) soft pouch for storing and a carrying strap. It's extremely good quality all round, and having just looked at the price - dirt cheap too!! It's absolutely fool-proof; a child or elderly person could operate this. A good and crystal clear screen for those with not such good eyesight - it's simply flawless! You can save and store your movies on your PC using a nifty little built-in USB connection plug, and even play them back on your HD TV!

Very difficult to think of anything more to say about this Item, other than - go on - treat yourself for Christmas - you'll be glad you did!
55 Comments| 228 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 November 2010
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This has got to be the most straightforward piece of equipment I have ever owned. It is so simple to work that you don't really need the instructions to get started. If you do choose to read them you will find them delightfully simple and short.
With the built in memory you get 2 hours of good quality video that you can watch on the 2" screen on the device, watch on your HD TV, or import into your computer and watch on that. There is also a dedicated website set up by Flip to enable you to easily share your creations with friends and family via the internet. Talk about convenient!
The camera responds well to changes in light, and the image stabiliser works really well to steady your shakier shots.
It also boasts a 2X zoom function, and seems to stay pretty sharp at close quarters - a couple of feet away and it is still pretty crisp, even though the recommended minimum distance is 1.5 metres.
Connection to the computer is simple - just plug it into any USB 2.0 port, via the built in USB plug, and it will find and open the device so that you can see all your videos.
The software to download, edit and share videos is in the camera already and will also appear when you connect it to your computer. It charges up from the computer connection, so no additional bits and bobs and cables to get lost.
It works perfectly on Windows 7.
To make your movies even fancier you can add titles, music and credits, and all this for less than a hundred and fifty pounds.
If you have toyed with the idea of getting a video camera before but have been put off because of the price or complexity of them, then buy one of these and see how simple making movies really can be.
I notice that some film degree courses are using these now to get the students into movie making without the hassle - great idea!
Highly recommended - now to book my flight to Cannes!
0Comment| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
Flips are amazing quality. The battery needs charging to begin with before it works and sometimes you have to take out and re-insert it to reset flip, as I have had 3 now. The sound and visual quality of their videos are just top class and I highly recommend them. 10/10 for this product. I could not be without mine! Also a tip - charge flip initially directly using flips USB arm not a connecting lead as it will not charge battery enough for first time use. Then you're good to go and can use a 'compatible' extension USB lead after. These tips are very useful believe me. I wish I had known beforehand!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Great seller and a smooth experience, product exactly as described and also dispatch was smooth. I will surely buy from seller and also recommend too as well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
Easy to use and practical. A shame they don't make them anymore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
video camcorder used on nearly all the video collaborations. Very good but lacking in zoom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2010
I bought this Flip Ultra HD 3rd Generation after reading reviews in the gadget magazines. It is so easy to use! In just one day I have been to an exhibition, filmed some of the attractions and made a short video using the supplied software. I've also uploaded it to You Tube and emailed the video to some friends.

This is very highly recommended, light and easy to carry, fits in a trouser pocket, very easy to use, upload video to a computer, edit and send short movies to friends with.

Picture quality is incredible!
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
The Flip ultra HD is a great bit of kit. Really easy to use, which is reflected in the miniscule instructional manual.
You can be ready and filming within minutes (Out of the box, the battery does need a few hours charging to be fully recharged).
Picture and sound quality are very good. It's not a professional camera, but then it only costs around £100. Given that you can pay anything upto £1000 for HD camcorders, this is fantastic value for money.

There are next to no settings available on the Flip, it is very much a point and shoot product, but that is what I like about it. It does a good job in most enviroments, and you don't have to worry about having the right setting on the camera. Switch it on and you can be filming in about 3 seconds flat.

Important to note that this is an 8GB camera giving you 120 mins of film. This means that for every second of film you take - it uses around 1MB of disk space. You will realise this when you transfer the files over to your computer. A five mintute film will create a file size of around 300MB which is very large. You need a decent computer with a lot of hard disk space if you are going to store a lot of film. It also helps to have a decent processor if you want to make movies with HD files. However you can of course reduce the file size of films using various pieces of software. I have downloaded Microsoft Live Movie Maker which is free, and very easy to use. You can make montage's easily, but more importantly it allows you to compress the video's to more useable file sizes, so you can upload to Youtube / facebook. By compressing the file size, you are reducing the quality, but it's hardly noticeable.

Overall very happy with the product, I'm yet to see how the battery pack life holds up over time, I have a suspicion that it might degrade quite quickly, and will thefore rely on buying standard batteries in the future - but I may be wrong.

For the price - excellent value for money.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 November 2010
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This video camera sets a great example in how new tech should be. It does an excellent job and is extremely easy to use,surely what most people require of a gadget!
To charge the battery the camera needs to be connected to a computer by the pop out USB port. I used a USB extension lead to do this as the USB connector on my computer is 30cm from a level surface and I didn't want to dangle the camera in mid air! 3 AAA batteries will also power the camera.
Filming is extremely simple. Press the red button to start, another press to stop; the up and down buttons control the zoom function; that's it!!
One minor criticism is that I would have liked an HDMI lead to be included as the camera uses a non standard mini HDMI socket. I was very impressed with the playback quality on my computer but have yet to view the results on my LCD tv owing to the previously mentioned lack of cable.
Overall an excellent product well worthy of 5 stars!
11 Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
Just arrived and within 5 minutes went outside to make a short video of the snow! My husband gets very impatient if he has to read through a lot of instruction but this was so easy - just turn on and start the recording. Downloading onto the computer took seconds as the software is housed with the camera so it is virtually automatic. We are off to India next week and am looking forward to sending lots of videos of the sunshine to our friends.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)