Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2017
fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2016
Absolute beginners, the song - is in my opinion the most beautiful love song EVER written. The moment when you stay open in front of each other. When you are more fragile, than you ever will be. Carried just by an emotion - an emotion strong and beautiful. The ,moment of absolute truth - when you truly understand each other - when you start to give up much of yourself - just to see someone else truly happy. This is the most beautiful gift one human being can give to another.
If you listen to this song you immediately understand what true love is & that one, David Bowie, is able to put it into one song - one melody beyond words - truly there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Given that the eighties and the invention of the CD invented a new form of musical nostalgia that has set many people on the treadmill of buying classic albums again and again and.... Why not have a 50's musical on sets not dissimilar to West Side Story,set in London?

The film is a strange beast, it was overhyped and failed to deliver and the critics savaged it and people stayed away. However it did generate several hit singles by big name artists of the 80s, so I bought the soundtrack album. There were two options, the single album with the photo montage cover that covered the main hits plus plenty more, or the double album with the painted cover which I chose. That had a lot more instruemental tracks by someone I'd never heard of named Gil Evans. You may want to do a quick search on that name, or "Miles Davis and Gil Evans" before reading on.

I must also point out that I may be reviewing a deleted product as I can't find an Amazon listing with the full 22 tracks.

So contrary to what other reviewers may say, this music has genuine 50s pedigree. The producers were Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley, responsible for making Madness the biggest chart act of the eighties and producing other Stiff label artists.

Anyway, I bought, got it home and played it. It took a while as, I think, the playing time of the album is longer than the running time of the film. The music really surprised me at the time. The hit singles that made the charts sounded typical of the artists, but on the album they are all in expanded form with breakdowns and horn arrangements by Gil Evans that give a really effective hybrid 50s/80s form. The tracks credited just to Gil Evans were either by someone else I'd not heard of named Mingus or "cool" arrangements of other artists contributions.

It's not all jazz, there are nods to the mods and rockers (the novel was a big influence on Paul Weller) and a good chunk of Afro-Caribbean music as a central part of the plot dealt with racial tensions between the "Windrush" immigrants and the white working classes. Letting the artists write the songs paid off well here because the race riots of the early eighties were still fresh in peoples minds, and created an effective cultural link between the decades.

There are weak spots - That's Motivation is too much like a typical "musical" number and David Bowie singing Volare is a novelty that soon wears off. The only real crime against the 50s is Smiley Culture singing/toasting (look it up) a version of So What.

I'm giving it five stars despite the occasional weak track because there is such a quantity of great music here. So the film was not great, but the songwriters and musicians here (I forgot to include Jerry Dammers and Ray Davies) all had a real respect for the musical and cultural tone of the book, and it makes a great album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Bowie struck pure gold with this one. Yes its commercial, its a love song, but its beautiful and timeless. I heard he cried when he wrote it. He probably cried again when it was kept off the number one spot by Diana Ross's Chain reaction. Bad timing for the release, It would have destroyed most other singles that year in sales!! Enjoy!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
The film doesn't have good reviews but I loved it, saw at the cinema three times on its release and bought the vinyl soundtrack, so this is basically a trip down memory lane, you either love it or hate it. Good value moneywise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
Apart from the excellent title track, this collection of tracks highlights the hottest R&B from the late 1980s. Sade, Style Council and some perfection from Slim Gaillard and Gil Evans culminate in a stylised version of 50s cool with the gloss of 3 decades later. Fantastic.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
In good condition. Cheers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Perfection on vinyl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
did not buy this for myself but the person who has it would recommend it . . . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Yes i liked it, due to me liking that kind of music...thanks

I will also buy the dvd soon...hope it will be just as good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)