Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2013
First heard this live recording on Sky Arts, immediately bought the Blu-ray edition and have now added this version to my MP3 collection. Have listened to many versions of the Brandenburg Concertos and for me this is the finest; superb interpretation and musicianship throughout. Orchestra Mozart consist of highly talented musicians from other Orchestras under the fastidious direction of Claudio Abbado. Giuliano Carmignola is brilliant as are Reinhold Friedrich on Trumpet and Ottavio Dantone on the Harpsichord also I must be honest and confess I never tire of listening to and watching Lorenza Borrani, Concert Master of the wonderful Chamber Orchestra of Europe.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
Withthenformation of Orchestra Mozart, Maestro Abbado, is now able to perform works other than the huge forces that for example, Mahler requires, as in CA's Lucerne Festival Orchesdtra. He has turened to bach and in a most, surprisingly authoritive way. Tempi, can be on the fast saide, but with playing of the calibre of Orchestra Mozart, this doesnt worry the present listener. superlative playing and recording to boot with Abbado being one of the team as well. Strongly reccomended.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2012
Heard this on Radio 3 in this version and just had to buy it. It is a really good rendition of this piece. The playing is second to none in my estimation as I have several other versions this is by far the best. The use of period instruments definitely adds that certain something. Excellent
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
Very pleased with this purchase. This version of the concertos is significantly different to those that I have heard before and it really lifts some of the pieces.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Wonderful music played brilliantly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Superb performance, good sound quality. It's a live recording so you get some minor background noises, but the performance and mastering make up for it in a big way. If you're a fan of "sound stage" where you can literally "feel" the room (Teatro Municipale Romolo Valli, Reggio Emilia) this is one for you. Is Abbado getting better and better?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
My family and I have really enjoyed listening to this recording. The recorder playing is superb! I would highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
In a number of instances, local councils are playing classical music in public places to stop teenagers from milling about, particularly after night. It is proving to be surprisingly effective even if there is a limit to what it can do to curb the waywardness of youth. Why so? Classical music - and I pick this up from my own kids - is considered to be effeminate, enfeebling and downright prissy. On pain of death, I am told to turn down Mozart whenever we enter a drive-through or stop at the lights where pedestrians are nearby.

We come to the disc in question. The Product Description tell us: "The maturity and wisdom harvested from a lifetime of making music on the highest levels ennobles Maestro Abbado's leadership. The sublime simplicity of their performance of the Brandenburg Concertos illuminates the complexities of Bach's incomparable demonstration of the unity of Logic and Love."

Dammit, I have the stuffing: where is that Thanksgiving Turkey when I need it?

This music means something. It has stature. For the receptive listener, other vistas arise and not least the close of the Fifth Concerto's allegro where one senses that the hour-glass is running out for Time itself which in any event is tired of being and longs for oblivion. It is not there to titillate. It deserves a better fate than to be glorified lift-muzak.

As I hear it, there is no sense here that Bach is addressing the grandeur and tragedy of life. Niceness is regnant. One of Abbado's systemic weaknesses is his inability to 'bet the house' (he might be able to do it in Mahler - I would not know); there is more evidence here.

Refinement and civility will only get you so far in BWV 1046 - 1051. While Abbado adopts the mannerisms of period practice - a threadbare orchestra, clipped phrasing and zilch vibrato - he lacks the potency of its best practitioners (and in passing, it sounds like he is using 430HZ - I stand to be corrected - rather than the Full Monty of 410HZ). The Harnoncourt from 1964 might have been our first glimpse of the Wild Man of Borneo but at least he is passionate about the Brandenburgs - hooray for a visceral response (Bach, Js : Brandenburg Concertos Nos 1 - 6 [1964]). Likewise these miraculous works are played gutsily by J S Bach: Brandenburg Concertos 1-6. A comparison with Brandenburg Concertos [DVD] also broadcasts how ennervating Uncle Claudio is.

This survey is not without its uses. Here in Australia, the summer is past, the harvest is over and we are not saved. Yep, it's bogan breeding time (bogans = yokels = red-necks). Inflammed by the heat and cheap booze, there's sure to be an infestation next summer. As a rate-payer, I intend to set up a perimeter defence at the local shopping mall, using this recording as the main deterrent. Under the circumstances, it'll be more potent than a bowie knife.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£30.99
£12.24

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)