Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.79+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2010
If you are into rock music and looking for a band with that alternative edge, this debut EP from the American all-girl alternative rock band Warpaint may be perfect for you. After listening to their latest release 'The Fool' I bought this and was just as blown away. With the soulful vocal harmonies, funky rhythm section, uniquely collaborative songwriting and a guitar sound Robert Smith would envy, Warpaint have separated themselves out from other rock bands and made a great initial effort.

Note that this physical EP also has a bonus track, 'Krimson'.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2012
Music to warm the cockles of your heart. This album gets better and better over time. Too many releases receive 5 stars. Don't know if the bands friends write some of these reviews but rest assured this is not the case here. This is their best release by far and everyone i play it to falls in love with it. Reminds me a little of Sonic Youth Evol - no bad thing. Only wish it was longer - FABULOUS.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
this cd took me two listens to get into, but once i did, warpaint became my favourite band. Beetles is an amzing song and my favourite. Burgundy is recorded live, and i think you loose out on some of the harminies that are more equally balanced in the rough trade recordings, but the song is still great.

the best thing about warpaint is the way their songs do not follow the generic song structure, but often change suddenly. however this does not make the songs dissjointed, it makes them intricate and fascinating.

the style of the music is nothing new, but the songs are excellent. the harmonies are haunting and it all feels overwhelmingly genuine.

"Warpaint" their full length cd is also brilliant. i would recomend purchasing both, listen to them a few times and i promise you will love them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
Bought this on a whim 18 months ago having seen them on a Glastonbury 2011 video. Excellent album. Warpaint are an all girl LA indie band with a whimsical, floaty sound and interesting time shifts. I listened to this and their other album almost exclusively for a couple of months when I first got it and am still not tired of it. They may take a little getting used to. If unsure check them out on their website, they have lots of free videos you can watch or try you tube.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2009
Le cadavre exquis (exquisite corpse) is a parlour game where players draw or write on folded paper without knowledge of what had previously been added or what was to come. Naturally, it was popular with the Surrealist movement who sought to gain artistic freedom from its exploitation. It isn't clear quite how this relates to Warpaint's debut EP but it at least hints at a willing sense of expression that whets the appetite from the onset.

Warpaint are three young ladies from Los Angeles who used to be four until the rigorous demands of Hollywood plucked their drummer from their midst. A replacement came easily as the band had John Frusciante on board to mix the debut. Drawing widespread and merely tip-of-the-iceberg-type comparisons to Chan Marshall of Cat Power fame, Warpaint slowly worked themselves out of Hollywood and into hipster acclaim. Their six tracks never rush, happy in restraint and always comfortable in taking longer than strictly necessary to make their point.

Exquisite Corpse floats around the space it creates. The chilly vocal encroaches on Beach House country. The simple guitar echoes as iconic lifts ebb and flow. Plodding spookily, "Beetles" wakes with one minute to go contorting into a sultry bass line. The tempo is again upped for "Elephants" and the vocal momentarily quivers under treatment . The lengthy "Billie Holiday" borrows the lyrics from the Motown classic "My Guy" and proceeds to leave them outside to shiver in the cold while folk-ish acoustic guitar plucks away frostily.

If this track makes them then it will be at the expense of the under-rated Mechanical Bride who perfected this glacial waltz with 2008's Part II Eps. Either way, "Billie Holiday" is neither cover nor tribute and whilst Warpaint may lift, they are nevertheless decidedly unto themselves.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Warpaint are an absolute special band and it's hard to tell which of their albums is my favourite. But if I had to chose, it might even be their first EP. It starts with a song that couln't be more beautiful, it is a shame that they don't play it live anymore. Stars and Beetles are the best Songs on this EP but I would happily buy any music of this quality, anytime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
The very first time I heard Warpaint, I liked them. Now, I simply love them.

Elephants was the first song i heard, and thought it was amazing. The slightly distorted vocals are brilliantly topped only by the instrumental sections. Elephants though is only one part of this 6 part EP, with each song complementing the other perfectly. Their sound is an acquired sound that for some could take a few listens to get into, but if you simply like well composed, well produced records with hint of "I did this in my bedroom" then this is brilliant. Though the songs are fairly slow, they have a vibe that takes you to a summer place.

I bought their album "The Fool" first, which is seemingly in the wrong order, but purchasing this is the perfect partner for their full album, and the progression is already apparent.

A highly recommended piece from an under rated band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
A bit disappointed really. Too much warbling and filler trying bt failing to sound 'ethereal' I'm afraid. Maybe I should've got the first album proper but now I've spent £6 on this I don't want to risk it. Sorry Warpaint - I was so ready to love you...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Overall I'm a very big fan of warpaint, great album! The product came fine with no damages and was happy with the product when it arrived.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Fabulous band, great short album. Eventually went back and filled the back-catalogue. Now got to get JennyLee.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)