Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
55
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
Excellent. First rate acting and the lead lady fills the shoes of a strong willed American woman that eventually hits the shores of Britain and high society and holds her own in a male dominated scene.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Superb in every way. Nancy Astor was a remarkable woman and the DVDs that tell her story do her full justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Not the best historical series I've ever watched, The acting unconvincing. However, not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
The Nancy Astor disk is not playable on United States disk players, but only on those in the UK. I do not find one with the correct USA number on your website, but only UK numbers. What to do? I'd like to return it but need advise about how to do that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
This was a stunning visually and engrossing watch. Nancy from a young child was lovely. Got a glimpse of the workings of an aristocratic society when they encounter a full blooded yank! Will not disappoint.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
I was amazed at the positive reviews of this drama. While all the supporting actors did well enough, (apart from the wooden performance given by her father), I found Lisa Harrow's performance as Nancy pretty awful. Apart from her atrocious Southern accent, (which, at its best, pronounced 'ou' as 'oo' and, at its worst, moved between Hampstead, to Ireland, to Scotland and back), there was no light and shade in her performance so that the character was completely one dimensional.
The script was tedious and too much time was spent on the character's early life, waiting for something interesting to happen.
The best thing about it was the costumes and cars! Not one of the BBC's best!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2011
Nancy Astor is an excellent period drama. It wasn't at all what I expected because I didn't really know much about Nancy's political career so it made this really well produced DVD all the more enjoyable. Fantastic cast and acting, a fabulous wardrobe and we've recommended it to others as a "must watch" drama.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
This life of Nancy Langhorne, who became Nancy Astor, comes as a 3 DVD set, with over 7 hours of viewing, so pretty good value. The sets and staging are lavish, and the narrative convincing. It would be interesting to compare with other biographies of the Astor family. It was a slight pity that her niece, Joyce Grenfell, does not get any mention, but you can't have everything. Overall this is well worth watching. Originally made for TV in 1981-2, one of Pierce Brosnan's early appearances.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
If I'd been Nancy Astors' husband I would have ditched her straightaway. What an annoying female I know it was an old series but to sell it as though it was a new remake not very honest. I couldn't stand to watch more than two episodes.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
There was nothing at all about this series that I found appealing. The story was very slow to develop, the acting wasn't really top-notch, and the southern-belle accent of the lead actress was simply irritating. Unusually, I found nothing at all in the title character appealing, and this in itself ensured that I wasn't going to like the series. In truth, I skipped a few of the later episodes, and moved on to the very last one to see how it all ended up. I've acquired a huge collection of DVD's over the years, and this I'm afraid is very much at the bottom of the heap.
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)