Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
136
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2010
So here we are another DVD set of the much loved and longest running comedy show in the world (which was cruelly axed this year after 37 years), however due to Universal calling the series 9 set series 9 & 10 us brits are one series behind with the numbering (which is why certain retailers are listing the actual 17 & 18 series) so what is expected on these sets are actually series 16 & 17 and the specials made at the time of those series, so if we get them two series what can we expect, well there are some very funny episodes from this time such as the defeat of the stoneworm, adopted by a stray, the space ace, the most powerful eyeballs in west yorkshire, bicycle bonanza, the first human being to ride a hill captain clutterbucks treasure, the thing in wesleys shed and brushes at dawn just to name a few, and of course the two specials from this time are the very funny a leg up for christmas and a special mention must go to the man who nearly knew pavorati which guest stars Sir Norman Wisdom, who passed away a few days ago, if we get these two series then it will be a fantastic release to one of the greatest shows on british tv ever, so come on playback release all the episodes ASAP, because one thing is certain, even if the show has been axed us LOTSW fans will never let the show die.

the list of what is expected on this release

Series 16 (dvd 17)

1st January 1995 "The Man who Nearly Knew Pavarotti" (Special)
8th January 1995 "The Glory Hole"
15th January 1995 "Adopted by a Stray"
22th January 1995 "The Defeat of the Stoneworm"
29th January 1995 "Once in a Moonlit Junkyard"
5th February 1995 "The Space Ace"
12th February 1995 "The Most Powerful Eyeballs in West Yorkshire"
19th February 1995 "The Dewhursts of Ogleby Hall"
26th February 1995 "The Sweet Smell of Excess"

Series 17 (dvd 18)

3 September 1995 "Leaving Home Forever or Till Teatime"
10 September 1995 "Bicycle Bonanza"
17 September 1995 "The Glamour of the Uniform"
24 September 1995 "The First Human Being to Ride a Hill"
1 October 1995 "Captain Clutterbuck's Treasure"
8 October 1995 "Desperate for a Duffield"
15 October 1995 "The Suit That Turned Left"
22 October 1995 "Beware of the Elbow"
29 October 1995 "The Thing in Wesley's Shed"
5 November 1995 "Brushes at Dawn"
25 December 1995 "A Leg Up For Christmas" (Special)
1212 comments| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
As always the content is excellent; that goes without saying. A great addition to anyone's collection.
But why are the releases so slow in coming? Whatever marketing department responsible has got it all wrong. Within a couple of weeks of the release of 17/18 it is showing on the GOLD channel. That can't be good for sales.
The quick release of the rest of the series before they get on TV would certainly boost sales.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 April 2013
Half way through disc three, I savour each swig of joy. As soon as Ronnie Hazelhurst's music is heard I'm ready to relax in the company of fine fellows. And, of course, let us not forget the formation tea-drinkers; the formidable women in their lives.

This is my third dvd set of the finest vintage comedy. Mostly wide-screen, two shows are 4:3 for old time sake perhaps? I am trying to collect those with the dream-team-trio including Foggy. Its not just the slapstick, the baffoonary, for me Roy Clarke's scripts paint a picture of a world where no harm can be done. Not even at the end of Nora's brush!

Maybe one day technology will allow me to own every episode without taking-up any shelf space. Until then a case of fine Wine is four silver discs of pleasure. To be savoured, again and again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2010
i have ordered my copy from amazon,i have all these episodes on video too,i was brought up on watching summer wine-but to me it was the late 80s and the 90s when this gem of a show really shone,foggy being hypnotized was really funny,then when foggy thought he was related to the oglebys of ogleby hall,adopted by a stray is the crow man[wurzel gummidge]going off in the wilderness and leaves all posessions-the van and his missus/dame ednas sidekick-madge with the badge,all the episodes on this set are belters,a must buy,this is a show where every character,maybe auntie wainwright,edie pegden,nora,compo,clegg,ivy from the cafe,you know what they are gonna say,but its great,you know ivy is gonna bash someone over the head with her tray[usually compo]edie is gonna put down the paper on the floor for greasy oily wesley,and howerd and marina are gonna be caught in the woods or on the moors canoodling,a fantastic show and anyone who purchases this set will not be dissapointed.
33 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
I didn't watch this series when it was first aired because I thought it was just a pensioner treat but I saw a few repeats recently and I must say it's quite a good chill out. It's a well-written, pleasurable watch if you follow the characters and it's easy to enjoy the, sometimes silly plots. It also has some occasional laugh out loud moments that border on the classic.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2011
what can i say i have seen all episodes and from beginning to end they capture your heart and take you on a rollercoaster ride of ups and downs through the absolutley beautiful holmfirth, how can they not make you smile i have seen all dvds over and over and they never fail to amuse and make me laugh, pity they couldn't have carried on forever the caracters are so well put together it is a joy to watch and i will continue to watch .Last Of The Summer Wine: Series 17 & 18 [DVD]
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
I just about fell off my chair watching the first episode with Eddie driving on top of a heap of dirt. These programmes are just so funny. And it is a good nostalgia for me as I am from Yorkshire. My father had that dry sense of humour. Now I'm in South Africa these shows mean just so much more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Brilliant, as ever, though the characters are really showing their ages now. There is not so much slapstick as previous series and Compo is not put throught the physical ringer so much (understandable at Bill Owen's advanced years) but as well written, produced and acted as in previous series. If I have one complaint about this series it is that there is rather too much of the incidental characters (Smiler and Aunty Wainright, notably) and that tends to detract, rather than add to, the storylines in some episodes. Others rely on them as the main protagonists, and this is a shame, rather. Still, a piece of television history - and at so little cost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
I cannot say enough about summer wine it is a gentle whimsy from a different era and as such is both timeless and classical most that starred in it are now deceased but not forgotten RIP to all of them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
Last of the Summer Wine is almost as old as me. I grew up with and love it. They are all fairly samey but its knowing what you'll get that makes it such an old friend -- with all Roy Clarke's stuff -- you know exactly what you'll get.

Of course it wasn't the same once Compo died but there's still another box set coming out soon of the episodes before he died, so after that set I will probably stop buying them.

It really has mellowed with age, getting better and better -- just like a wine. From Seymour's appearance (1987) to the death of Compo (1999) were its peak years. Really funny, charming and relaxing -- a portrait of a laid back way of life, strong community, frienndships and innocent fun!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)