Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
101
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2001
This is my favourite UB40 album, it sounds as though they're playing in your living room, very rootsy and Earl on Bass in pumping it very loudly. I truely believe that this album ranks alongside all-time reggae classics from Marley, Dennis Brown. This album opened up the way for a lot of artists in the UK to follow suite. Ali's voice sounds excellent and the band as a whole sound raw and full of genuine energy. There are so many highlights on this album (every instrumental for instance), but if I was forced to pick just one, it would have to be the fantastic King - a moving tribute to Martin Luthur King.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2011
There is a lot of criticism, not entirely justified, that UB40 became the reggae band for people who don't like reggae.Well, you pays your money and you takes your choice,but in my humble opinion, some of their most commercial stuff is very very good indeed. Before that however, there was this. A truly mighty, accomplished and extremely defiant debut album.Post punk, this identified with black britain in a similar way that the Clash had done for white disaffected teens.It challenges the norm socially (Eight black guys and one white guy in one band) Politically (more of which in a moment) and musically (reaching into deep Jamaican dub at a time when it certainly wasn't fashionable)and quite frankly redefines the idea of british protest music. Tyler ("is guilty. The white judges said so")King ("where are your people now? Chained and pacified.") Madame Medusa, Food for thought, the list goes on.A veritable feast of in your face direct challenge to the establishment.All set to a terrifyingly good dub/sax/reggae backing of a quality rarely seen or heard even now, and even more so back then. (There were other Bristish Reggae acts but none had the impact, the confidence, the sheer musical nerve of this band.)To think this was a debut is unimaginable. After 30 years it sounds as fresh and innovative as ever it did.Just breathtaking, and brilliant.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
This is by far UB40's best album. I bought this album when it was first released on vynal and brings back happy memories. The CD starts off with the superb Tyler which sets the standard for the rest of the set. The extras include 12 inch versions of the hits and tracks not included on the original album (Dream a Lie, The Earth Dies Screaming). The DVD is a bonus as this includes a 45 minute live set from televisions Rock Goes to College and the group perform the songs with energy and enjoyment.
I already had an old copy of Signing Off on CD but decided to buy this Deluxe Edition because of the extras included and I am very glad that I did. I cannot recommend this highly enough and if you have an old copy of Signing Off, sell it and buy this Deluxe Edition - you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 January 2003
The first album, complete with the contents of the free ep record that was slipped in with the original LP.
A reminder of what a great band this was before it became the Reggae equivalent of Status Quo.
Fabulous songs beautifully presented. All that lush saxaphone riffing and passion.
A mighty rhythm machine. The only UB40 album you need.
66 comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2007
before they settled into a blander niche, ub40 were a mighty british reggae band with the avowed intention of bringing dub into the charts and the mainstream. how they succeeded! tyler, king, food for thought and burden of shame were heartfelt political statements of their time set to infectious grooves,weird echoey dubs and ali`s unique vocals. the standout track has to be "madam medusa" which is the finest anti-thatcher record ever(they encored with it at glastonbury 1983 a few days after the tories election victory, introducing it as more relevant than ever), almost 13 minutes long with one of the longest and most atmospheric dubs ever committed to record- simply outstanding and worth the price of the cd on it`s own. signing off is simply one of the finest reggae albums ever made,totally unique and never bettered- buy it.
22 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2010
UB40'S Signing Off has always been one of my favourite albums of all time, with classic songs such as "King", "Food For Thought", "Tyler", "I Think It's Going To Rain Today" amongst others. This 30th Anniversary Edition is an excellent package, containing the original album remastered, a 2nd disc of B-sides, 12" Mixes and BBC Radio 1 Sessions and a DVD featuring the videos to the singles, debut appearance on BBC'S "Top Of The Pops" T.V show and the "Rock Goes To College" concert. Also inside is a booklet with the story behind the making of the album and comments from the band members. This is a fantastic collectors item.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
I got this cd last weekend and I'm very impressed with the sound of UB40. Most of the tunes I already know, and the opening track "Tyler" is really good and so is "Burden Of Shame". For a debut album, "Signing Off" is an album that you don't forget in a hurry! Marvelous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
I don't think you can beat UB40's early Dub reggae style from the late 1970's to the early 1980's. The period before the band went all electronic and modern for me was just the best.

I absolutely love the opening track Tyler and King, Burden of Shame & Food For Thought. The instrumentals are tops too.

This is British Dub Reggae at it's very best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a treasure trove of UB-40 from when they were very innovative and interesting.
The songs are captivating at times and seductive at other moments.
Great production and thought was put into Singing Off.
This has been a favorite of mine for over 20 years and I am glad it's available now as a 3 disc set.
The DVD contains some excellent concerts and clips from the same era this album was conceived.

A must get.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 December 2013
One of my first EVER album purchases way back when.
Im in my late 40,s and going through a nostalgic phase at the moment.
Would this album be as good now as it was then i wondered?
You bet!!!!!
Infact with my more mature listening lobes i can appreciate it even more.
You young ones out there this is THE only UB40 album you need as this is real emotional hypnotic music played with passion when the 40 had nowt!!!
Im not going even review the album as i want you to truly discover the music for yourselves.
Go on take a punt and thank me afterwards,or rather just after you bin your One Direction cd,s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)