Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 10 February 2014
I'm a big fan of the initial C&C series which I found very good almost 10 years back. Very complex and time consuming campaigns which made it very challenging and involving. Of course, as with all great games, there's a time to play... and a time to cry. And cry I did after I tried the last games from the series after EA purchased the company.
But for the few of us who still believe that a game should not be judged only by the number of girls they pack in, this Deluxe Edition will be great fun. I recommend it to anyone who likes puzzle games, true strategy and countless options in terms of playability.
I got this about a year ago for £10 delivered. So what you get for this? More than 200 hours of total gameplay. The first DVD is the C&C Tiberium Wars: Make sure you install the 1.07 patch to fix some bugs. It comes with a comprehensive booklet containing everything you need to know about the game: controls, campaigns, skirmish, units etc. You can play as GDI or NOD in campaign mode.
The second DVD is the C&C Kanes' wrath. Again, you are provided with a comprehensive booklet. In campaign mode you can play as GDI, Brotherhood of Nod or Scrin - some aliens which invade earth.
As this is the first release of the series after EA's purchase, the games is still true to the core of the series though you will get in both games interludes of brief videos with ladies dressed in very short dresses for a war zone. Nevertheless, the action can still be followed easily even with these distractions. However, I'll say it - the older ones where even better!
Let me know if you have questions.
Kind Regards
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 25 December 2014
I generally do not like expansions. They used to be additions only very successful games got to have. Nowadays they are mostly the...other half of the game the publisher withheld when selling us half the original for $50! C&C:KANE's WRATH is a rare exception that brings new dimensions to an already great game!

The original C&C3:TIBERIUM WARS is one of those graphically beautiful and gameplay intelligent games that will keep your interest for months! True, I could do without the wooden acting of Michael Ironside! (Gone are the days of Kari Wuhrer...Lock'n'Load!)

Story-wise, the expansion is somewhat of a prequel to C&C3-TIBERIUM WARS, as it is set on the history of NOD, starting off just after the 2nd Tiberium War and continuing well past the 3rd.
There is a big campaign comprising of 13 single player missions, new units and upgrades and a new (a la RISE OF NATIONS) Global Conquest mode, that can turn C&C3 into a Turn-Based game! What make this REALLY interesting are the six subfactions, each with its special units, strengths and weaknesses. Not to worry, all GDI, NOD and Scrin get their own off-shooting factions.
On the opposite ends of the spectrum, there is Reaper-17 (a Scrin sub-faction): with hard-hitting and powerful offensive options; and then there is Traveler-59 (also a Scrin offshoot): a much more devious faction that relies on mind control of humans (remember how much fun Yuri's Revenge? was). In between, GDI's (retro) Steel Talons and (futuristic) ZoCom and NOD's (mind-benders) Black Hand and (cyborgs galore) Mark of Kane.

Production of the new epic-units can tip the battlefield scales dramatically. Most are not only devastating but are pretty hard to take down too. GDI gets the MARV [Mammoth Armed Reclamation Vehicle], a souped-up triple-barreled tank; NOD gets the Redeemer, an augmented killer avatar; whereas, Scrin get the Eradicator Hexapod, a impressive six-legged mech.
Revamped units, such as the Shard Walker or the Reaper Tripod, or back-to-the-drawing-board units, such as the Prodigy or the Ravager all add to a renewed experience. Moreover, as a long-time C&C fan, I particularly enjoyed the reappearance of good-ol' units such as Titans and Wolverines on the side of GDI!

The graphics are beautiful, the physics detailed and the explosions and beam-weapons spectacular! Don't forget to turn on the volume on those speakers, because this is a total immersion experience.

As with the original: it misses the 5th star for fun because one cannot hold a battle formation while moving. As most units move at different paces (and although the AI has improved they keep bumping on each other), this results in the more agile, yet vulnerable, units having to face the enemy first - a short-lived sight... May be the next C&C (say, RED ALERT 3) could have some TOTAL WAR infused into it, with battle formations options.

Finally, be advised that for the expansion you do need the original C&C3: TIBERIUM WARS to play it. If you do not have it, take note that this pack is good deal, as it includes both the original game and the expansion. However, the prices of the separate items fluctuate (and some times the cost of buying the separate parts is actually less than buying the bundled pack) so make sure to get the best deal.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Great price for as new software- original purchaser had returned it due to install errors. When I tried from DVD it seemed to hang but others said it would eventually (30 mins to 3hrs) complete. Copying all the files to HD and running setup had the install complete in 15 mins. for each DVD

Having played a few missions I can say the graphics and effects are great. The new units are an evolution of ones I'm familiar with in red Alert 2 and Yuri's Revenge. Gameplay seems a little easy but I may have the skill level too low. I've not played enough to comment on Mission variety. It has gone back to a Fantasy/SciFi theme rather than the real-world theme of Generals

Anyone familiar with the C+C world should enjoy the game and the expansion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
I have enjoyed playing both these games. Since retiring it keeps my mind active and out of my wifes hair.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
I've got the whole collection of command and conquer etc... but these are ridiculously hard even on the easy level. would be nice to get the gaming industry to think about those of us who just enjoy playing and cant do 6 things at once just to get past the first stage of a mission :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
cheapest price for this games combo I have seen, installs without a problem on windows vista if you have it, does not install on windows 8, but may if you have emulating software etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
I've been a big fan of the Command and Conquer series ever since my cousin gave me his copy of Red Alert 2 several years ago. I have since played every C&C game out there and only bought this pack after my original disc was damaged. While some people hate EA for what they've done to the series, personally I love this game. Infact I would have to say it is one of my favourite games of the series. The graphics are impressive, the gameplay smooth and surprisingly balanced, though admittedly the GDI should really invest in better AA weapons. To anyone interested in the RTS genre this is a must buy. And certainly the last good game of the series, before EA ruined it with Red Alert 3 and C&C 4.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2016
Amazing game but the code within the game did not work so I had to do my own research to find my own code to install game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
Command & Conquer 3 Deluxe Edition (PC)THE BETTER ONES OF THE SERIES AS SOMETIMES THE SERIES GOT A BIT SAMEY.THIS WAS THE ONE THAT WAS A BREATH OF FRESH AIR,SIMILAR TO GENERALS AND ZERO HOUR,IT IS BIG AND LOUD WITH PLENTY TO SING ABOUT-NEW WEAPONS,VEHICLES AND IDEAS OF HOW TO IMPROVE THE GAME AND YOU HAVE THE ADDED BENEFIT OF BOTH THE GAMES WORKING ON YOUR SYSTEM AS THEY ARE FROM THE SAME COMPANY(MICROSOFT)AS DIFFERENT VERSIONS FROM DIFFERENT COMPANIES CAUSE LOADING PROBLEMS AND EITHER OR NIETHER OF THEM TEND TO RUN PROPERLY-A GREAT GAME FOR ANYONE WHO ENJOYS STRATEGY OR IS NEW TO THIS GENRE
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
brill game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)