Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
115
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2017
Another great album from the multi-talented Neil Diamond. This one is chilled and laid-back music, a series of ballads. I am delighted with my purchase and would buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Not up to his usual standard
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2011
The song selection is obviously made in homage to great music, as we'd expect. It doesn't necessarily follow that the songs suit the great voice and style of Neil Diamond though, no matter what emotion he brings to them.

Even though I like Neil Diamond and in particular his self-penned work, I would not recommend this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2017
A good quality album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
Great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Selection of covers which are ok. Just!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
I was a bit disappointed with this one. I love Neil Diamond, but these songs are better when sang by someone else.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
I am a long-time fan of Neil Diamond, that's why I bought this album. But do I have to like it? The answer is no, because one can be a fan, but one doesn't have to like everything he/she puts out.

When a singer-song writer or singer/band/group sings other artists' output, the listeners have a couple of expectations: (1) the new rendition/interpretation brings out a new dimension and/or aesthetic understanding to the old song; (2) the covered song is so well re-arranged to suit the singer's or singers' voice, temperament, pathos, etc., it becomes his/her/their signautre tunes.

Have these expectations ever been met? Yes Yes Yes: Jose Feliciano's reinterpretation of Light My fire, Juice Newton's Angels of the Morning, Rod Stewart's Reason to Believe, Peter Paul & Mary's Leaving on a Jet Plane, Carpenter's Superstar, Jeff Buckley's Hallelujah... the list goes on.

This is a very well-produced CD, but the problem lies in the fact that no matter how sincere and how earnest Neil Diamond tried, none of the tracks rival the original versions by the original artists. Some of the songs are rearranged completely, but some sticks to the original instrumentation more or less. Most songs just don't work, for example: it's excruciating to hear a mismatched blue-grass fiddle solo in the middle of Blackbird; the deliberate slowering of the tempo in Midnight Train to Georgia completely cancels out the heartwrenching urgency of the song; and the exclusion of the two-part harmonies/singing that is well associated with Let it be Me leaves the song rather humdrum and dry...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
What a dire CD. This is not the sparkling Diamond of old. I wish I had read the reviews before I parted with my hard earned cash for this badly done rehash of old favourites. Every song was a mullered rendition of what used to be my greatest all time hits. Im a believer? not in this rubbish. Save your money and buy any CD but this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.31

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)