Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
32
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2012
Cable ordered on 27 Nov 2012 and arrived in new and pristine condition today (2 days later). Thank you Quad Bikes Wales (Amazon shipped?)

Item is a Tecmate SAE-73STD extension cable, 4.6m long, which is rated at 5 amp max, down to temp of -20 degrees C (actual measured length is 4.65m including the plastic "boot" sleeve on one end)

Cable received new and unused in a shipping envelope, in it's plastic cylinder packaging. Package (200mm x 54mm) will be useful for storing the cable when it is not in use. Cable now in use with an Optimate 4 battery charger/conditioner.

There is a "waterproof" (or splashproof?) connector "boot" sleeve that fits onto/over the Optimate 0.50m "croc-clip fly lead" (connected to the battery).

The cable feels good quality if a little inflexible in this cold weather. I like these Tecmate products as they appear well-made - - but as always "time will tell" how good they really are.

Same good quality cable and connectors (unsurprisingly) as the cables on the new Optimate 4 and Optimate 6 battery chargers.

Any problems and I will update this review.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I thought this would be a thick stubby cable, like the one it lengthens. It's not. Neatly packed inside a tube, the Extender is about the same thickness as a cable to 4 socket extension. Good piece of kit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 November 2013
With both an OptiMate 4, for smaller batteries, an now an OptiMate 6, with its higher output, for the car batteries, the extender cable allows the car to be charged in the drive, without having to run a mains voltage cable to reach.

Having got one cable extender, found this was not quite long enough, so decided to get another. I would have preferred a shorter second cable, but the shorter OptiMate extender does not appear to be compatible.

I understand two extender cables can be used in series, though perhaps not endorsed, to reach even further. This means the old second car can now be parked in a more convenient position, but still be connected, to keep its battery in good condition while on standby.

The connection between the two cables looks to be fairly weather proof, but a bit of insulating tape around it should ensure it stays dry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
Standard Optimate charger doesn't have a huge amount of cable, with this I was able to plug my reverse-parked car into a socket behind the next car along, with cable to spare.

Nice clunky fit to the connections too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
I have a Mercedes SL as toy, it has service battery for the alarm and all the ancillary devices which due to lack of use would go flat triggering the alarm. Very popular with the neighbours at 3am
I used to run the mains extension cable out of the garage and into the boot of the car with the Optimate 6 charger. No more!
Optimate mounted on the garage wall. I now just run the 12v out to the car. Battery now all constantly nicely charged.
Well made with plug and socket shrouds..
If you need and extension or to run it outside (Much safer than mains) ideal..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
This is the new Optimate 4 type lead, which has different connectors to the old Optimate 3 or old Optimate 4.

I initially bought one of the older style leads which obviously did not fit, so I had to then buy this one instead.

Its a perfectly fine lead and does exactly what it should, but be aware of the different connector types and make sure you get the correct one for your unit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
Would not fit either of the male or female couplings on either of the two units I was trying this on. As a universal extension I would question this. Also having to pay for it to be returned somehow rubbed it in a bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
I bought this to go with the Optimate 6 battery conditioner. The generous cable length enables me to position the Optimate in a convenient location away from the vehicle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
Very impressed with Optimate gear, and with this lead I can now use the smart charger on the car as well as the motorcycle. Much easier than clearing out the garage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
This is very handy for my vehicle. It's easy to just plug in the charger without having to move the car or bikes closer to the power point. Very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here