Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
56
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2011
i think that this is a very tidy boxset and it is easily stored considering i have the rare vinyl press edition of this boxset. The reason i bought this again is because i dont want to use the vinyl as the lp's have never been played so i can listen to this collection for the very first time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
happy with purchase love this box set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
Great value with a vast number of tracks to enjoy even longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Excellent CD Set Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2007
It's fascinating to hear the evolution of Elvis's voice across these 5 CDs, spanning the decade 1960-1969, from the chocolatey-brown smoothness of 'It's Now Or Never' to the mature power of 'Suspicious Minds'.

The 130 tracks also illustrate Presley's unique ability to 'inhabit' a song. He can be slyly sensual ('Fever'), defiantly wounded ('It Hurts Me'), rugged and manly ('Inherit The Wind'), cheeky and playful ('Stuck On You')......any number of moods, in fact.

Everyone knows the million-sellers on the first disc, 'It's Now Or Never' and 'Are You Lonesome Tonight' but there are plenty of minor classics here too - 'A Mess Of Blues', 'The Girl Of My Best Friend', 'Like A Baby', 'I Feel So Bad' and so on.

They are all overshadowed, though, by 'Reconsider Baby.' Robert Matthew-Walker, in his excellent book, 'Elvis Presley: A Study In Music', says of this song - "It is a classic blues performance; timeless and awe-inspiring in its power and emotion. This track is a refutation of those who do not recognise what a phenomenal artist Elvis Presley was."

Disc 2 is not nearly as satisfying. The spirit of adventure, of trying out different musical styles, that characterises his first batch of post-Army recordings, is conspicuously absent by now. In their place we find formulaic pop songs and an over-reliance on sentimental ballads. There ARE some gems here - 'His Latest Flame', 'Little Sister' and 'Devil In Disguise' are all stylish cuts - but there's also feeble guff like 'Easy Question' and 'Echoes Of Love.'

Even Elvis's singing, though technically superb throughout, lacks passion and commitment on occasion; he doesn't believe in some of the material. Two exquisite ballads are notable exceptions though - 'Anything That's Part Of You' and 'That's Someone You Never Forget.'

Disc 3 is marginally better, if only due to the inclusion of the brilliant 'Guitar Man' and 'Big Boss Man.' 'It Hurts Me', 'Indescribably Blue' and 'Love Letters' are also love songs of considerable power and beauty.

But the real revelation here is Elvis's version of Bob Dylan's 'Tomorrow Is A Long Time.' Apparently, Elvis was haunted by the lyrics, especially the verse "I can't see my reflection in the water/I can't speak the sounds that show no pain/I can't hear the echo of my footsteps/I can't remember the sound of my own name", which seemed to sum up how he'd lost his way artistically in the mid-60s. Elvis delivers a mesmerising performance, one that sheds a whole new light on him as an artist.

Discs 4 and 5 comprise the legendary Memphis '69 sessions. 'Suspicious Minds' and 'In The Ghetto' both receive towering performances but there are several other songs of similar stature - 'Stranger In My Own Home Town', 'Wearin' That Loved On Look', 'Long Black Limousine', 'Any Day Now', 'Power Of My Love' etc. Elvis also revels in the tougher, more adult dilemmas of 'You'll Think Of Me', 'Kentucky Rain' and 'This Is The Story'. Even lesser tracks like 'After Loving You' and 'True Love Travels On A Gravel Road' are elevated above the ordinary by Elvis's fiery vocal.

You can hear Elvis rediscovering his love of singing on the Memphis recordings. In its gravelly authority, his voice really is a thing of wonder on these songs. He would never sound so impassioned or soulful again.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Most of you have your favorite era of his music. I like them all in different ways, but I like the sixties best, and this box shows why. There were many aspects to his music, but this set focuses on those secular recordings that were made in the studio and which were not connected to a movie. The best of the movie music is available on Command performance - Essential sixties masters volume 2, which I've already reviewed, while the gospel and live recordings are also available separately.
With those exceptions, every song Elvis recorded during the sixties is here. These include most of his big hits from the period, among them It's now or never, Are you lonesome tonight, Surrender, His latest flame, Good luck charm, Suspicion, She's not you, Don't cry Daddy, In the ghetto and Suspicious minds. Of course, there are a few missing, because they were from the excluded categories, but anybody who wants a Greatest hits collection will find plenty to choose from.
Apart from the hits, you get all the album tracks, many of them long forgotten except by fans of Elvis. These include covers of Fever (Peggy Lee), Memphis Tennessee (Chuck Berry), And the grass won't pay no mind (Neil Diamond), Just call me lonesome (Eddy Arnold), Gentle on my mind (Glen Campbell), I'm movin' on (Hank Snow) and I'll hold you in my heart (Eddy Arnold) among them.
Among the songs written for Elvis but which remain obscure to all but his fans, there are many good songs, any of which might one day be rediscovered and used in a movie or TV advertisement. The song Gently, from one of his early sixties albums, was translated into French and recorded by Petula Clark. I can't ever remember another cover of this song in any language, though there probably is one somewhere - just one of many great songs in this set that you're not likely to hear on the radio.
The last half of the final CD is made up of selected alternate takes of some of the songs, although the most famous alternate take, his laughing version of Are you lonesome tonight, is not among them. Nevertheless, this is a fine collection which will appeal to a far wider public than just his dedicated fans.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2002
After "The King of Rock'n'Roll" box, compiling the 60s box must have been a headache for RCA. They've left off the film soundtracks, gospel and live recordings to present Elvis' studio tracks in crystal clear sound and chronological order, complete with out-takes. Lacking the "must-have" appeal of the preceding and following boxes, this remains a superb and intelligent compilation.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
If you need evidence that Elvis didn't 'die' when he went in the army, as John Lennon once famously said, this set is it. The studio sides spanning five discs from 1960-69 are of the highest order and show that Elvis was a creative force throughout the decade.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
The year is 1993 and after the release of the essential 50's, it is time for the 60's now!
Again a wonderful box set was presented by BMG, with all the masters on it from this time period, except from the soundtracks and gospels.

Design
The box set looks really great, well taken care of with all the information in a very complete booklet. The pictures of the covers are wonderful and in excellent quality of course. BMG really did a fine job here.

Sound: They also did a great job remastering the sound. The quality is outstanding and makes it possible to enjoy this release over and over again.

Content
No where else you will find such complete image of the roaring 60's, which in Elvis' case are really a bit undervalued. Here is the ultimate proof Elvis did a lot more then making movies after he returned from the army. 130 high quality songs will reach your ears, listening to these great CD's.

Are there plans to reissue the 50s/70s box sets aswell ?
55 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)