Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Scoop
  • Customer reviews

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 February 2018
First off a word of warning about the particular DVD I purchased Scoop. I received a Region 1 product that cannot be played on standard European Region 2 devices. And this is in no way indicated in the product description. I cannot be sure if the description is wrong or if the seller simply made a mistake when dispatching the item. I've contaceted the seller who were quick to refund. As DVD revriews usually appear for all versions of a film, I've rated this purely on the merits of the film, which I've seen before and like, but would advise buyers to opt for a different version from the one I ordered (see product link above).

Now to the film itself. This is a bit of fluffy escapism - an unlikely romance with a murder mystery thrown in. Or is it the other way around? I don't think it matters, this is not a film that wants to be taken overly seriously. It's a bit of fun and light entertainment. And there is nothing wrong with that.

A recently dead star reporter (Ian McShane) contacts an earnest young student journalist (Scarlett Johansson) and reveals to her that a young and rich aristocrat with political ambitions (Hugh Jackman) is a wanted serial killer, urging her to investigate the story and land the big scoop. With the help of an ageing stage magician (Woody Allen), she sets out on the task. Complications (and romance) ensue.

It's a highly unlikely story, but if you're willing to go with it, it's actually quite enjoyable. You have to put up with Allen in front of the camera, but you are rewarded with a very enjoyable performance from Johansson. Jackman works well as her young millionaire love interest. He hasn't really a lot to do, but what he does he does well and he does look gorgeous. However, it is Ian McShane who steals every scene with his few short moments of screen time. The film is well cast with many familiar faces from British film and TV in supporting roles (Charles Dance has a very nice small part as newpaper editor). Apart from Allen whom I don't highly rate as an actor, all turn in solid performances. Nice little film for a rainy Sunday afternoon. Don't expect too much and you should enjoy it well enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2015
This Woody Allen flick went almost a decade before finally getting a DVD release here in the UK - in some ways I can see why, it's far from his best work but as a fan I still found much to enjoy in this one.

Allen takes a starring role this time out which adds an element to proceedings as we likely won't see that much more of him on screen. He plays a stage magician who teams up with Scarlett Johansson's amateur journalist after they get a tip off as to the identity of a notorious serial killer who's bumping off London prostitutes. This tip off comes from beyond the grave in the form of a deceased journalist (just go with it).

Allen brings his usual fast patter with the odd corking one liner hitting home while Johansson plays nicely off him - they have a pretty decent, amusing, odd couple dynamic. Hugh Jackman gives us his best Hugh Grant impression as the possible murderer while a raft of familiar faces from British TV and film fill in the background.

In terms of Allen's previous work it's similar in tone to Manhattan Murder Mystery for example with a dash of the fantastic from the likes of Midnight in Paris or The Purple Rose of Cairo. Each of those films are superior to this one of course but it's still worth a go. The plot is interesting enough and perhaps most importantly it is genuinely funny for the most part - bringing a fair few chuckles and the odd big laugh. Recommended for fans, cautiously recommended for everyone else.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2017
Being a male with red blood in his veins, it's impossible for me to fail to enjoy watching Scarlett Johansson. Unfortunately in this awful turd of a flick she's impeded massively by having a sidekick in the shape of a badly-cast Woody Allen. Allen is utterly dreadful in this, the script is beyond terrible and in short every scene with Allen in it is diminished by his awful "acting" and - his presence. Him apart, the cast is a decent assemblage of stalwarts who normally turn in workmanlike performances - and in general do just that.

But - three things spoil it. There's Allen, there's the deeply silly story and there's the overridingly awful script. Apart from that, it's not too bad. If Johansson had been elsewhere when this was being filmed I think her career would have taken no harm from that fact.

And - predictability. There's a moment not too far into the running time when anyone with an iota of plot and script awareness will have guessed what the outcome was likely to be. I'm not going to state who or what was that trigger, so no spoiler alert needed.

If you like watching Johansson do her stuff and can bear the rest of this limp piece of low grade cinema, go ahead and watch. Otherwise, watch something else.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2017
Mildly entertaining. A lot of people jumping at the chance to be in a WA film judging by the cast list, but not really a great movie- the plot was weak despite the obivous big budget, and it wasn't even that funny. Ok for something easy to watch, but not a memorable experience by any means.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2017
The story line is a little absurd -- including happenings that most would not consider part of their reality, without any attempt from the film to make it integrate it into your reality (i.e. to make them seem credible) . I can handle that. I like a little weirdness sometimes. But the main characters inexpert, ill-thought-out lying and tiptoeing around to investigate was a bit cringey (because it's the kind of things that are embarrassing for the characters) and not really humorous (which I'm assuming it was hoped to be), and Woody Allen made it rather irritating at times, for my tastes. That, I'm guessing, is what was what was meant by `silliness' in other reviews, rather than the slightly absurd story elements. I think to actually like this film you have to like Woody Allen's typical anxiety-stricken, excessive-talking characters, of which I have noted in another film with him in, and be prepared for another character that is written as slightly inept (and over talkative when nervous too) to be alongside that a lot of the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2014
Another Allen film that was generally dismissed by critics, but for me was worth seeing. Certainly it’s hard to argue that this is up there with Allen’s best work, but it still has a lot of funny bits, and Allen and Scarlett Johansson have a great on-screen rapport as a young aspiring journalist and a slightly pathetic aging magician who team up to try and solve a murder case.

The two Americans have to fake their way into the upper-class world of London, to chase the young aristocrat who a ghostly Ian McShane (a great reporter who died, but got a tip crossing the river Styx, and came back to tell someone) has informed them committed a series of murders. Allen is very funny in these scenes as he tries to blend in with the lords and ladies, and Hugh Jackman does an excellent job as the suave, likable ‘is he or isn’t he’ object of their investigations, who, naturally Johannson falls for.

There are weaknesses; some logic problems with the mystery, and a pay-off that’s less than one might hope. But this does a nice job of capturing some of the feel of a witty 1930s comedy. While no masterpiece, if almost anyone else had made this film, it might well have gotten praise as an enjoyable, well made romantic comedy thriller. It just doesn’t quite stand up when compared to the heights Allen is capable of.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2017
I suppose it depends on what you're looking for at the time.

I was simply looking to add films to the watch list, but when I noticed Woody Allen in the trailer, I watched it straight away.

Will it make cinematic history? No. But . . . it's a great way to escape for the time it took to watch it. Woody plays a bumbling magician to great effect and although the story line is a bit far- fetched, isn't that why we watch films - to escape reality?

There are also a couple of nice little twists that will have you wondering if you do actually know who the baddie is.

Would I recommend it? Let's just say that if it is shown on terrestrial telly and I notice it, I would definitely watch it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2014
This DVD had lots of promise with a fantastic all star cast, even in the minor roles.

But, oh dear, what a lightweight production! The acting was passable and I suppose it would have made a reasonable children's movie. But the whole thing was... yawn. It rather reminded me of the B pictures of the 50s and 60s.

And worst of all, there is a huge flaw in the storyline which made a nonsense of the plot. How could that happen?

I confess that I did watch it until the end, so it couldn't be all bad. Unless that was just me being tight as I'd paid the rental?
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2015
this is an hilarious comedy-mystery in which a recently deceased journalist (ian mcShane) returns from the dead to find someone to whom he can impart vital information about the possible identity of a serial killer. He happens to connect with an earnest young american student of journalism (Scarlett Johansson) in the middle of taking part in the act of a stage magician, the Great Splendini, (Woody Allen). From then on the film just gets funnier and funnier as Johansson persuades allen to help her investigate the suspect, posh Englishman Peter Lyman (Hugh Jackman). from the moment allen walks on stage as the Great Splendini he had me in fits of laughter, and when he has to pretend to be Johansson's father he's just sublime. This is a wonderfully funny film from beginning to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2016
Woody Allen knows how to tell stories like no one else. A story told by Mr Allen is so embellished and caricatural in a real life sense that it is always worth watching. I am also amazed at the odd ball in the story always Mr Allen himself. There is a lesson in this : we always appear to be the odd ball to others. And also, the good looking rich chap may not be the good guy like all the movies make us believe. Scarlett: what can I say except that the search continues for a more beautiful and better actress. Given how young she is it might be a very long search.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)