Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 11 October 2015
One of his masterpieces although I prefer stuff like Playtime, which really allowed Tati to express all his potential both in terms of photography, vision/perception of the world and ability to direct multiple situations in a single scene.
Here he is more geniusly focused on his main character and the absurd and visually comical adventure on a summer holiday.
You see how gently his story is told, the story of an "alien" not belonging to the common and middle class world, and, despite that, not surrendering to it even when trying to establish a "contact" in his everyday life.
Partially belonging to the glorious club of silent movies stars (although this is more a "few words movie") whose Tati is definitely one of the most representative and highest members, he refreshed that tradition just by making a film like that years after that era elapsed, and based all his cinema on that. Out of this world, out of time, and therefore always valid and enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2017
Absolutely loved it!
I saw this film when it was first screened in 1953, which rather dates me. I, and all the audience in the cinema, were virtually
"rolling in the aisles" at the comedic antics of Jacques Tati (Monsieur Hulot). Very few words spoken, but the visual comedy, based
on his observations of people and situations in real life, spoke volumes and provided the wonderful persons, scenes and actions in
this classic comedy.
After all the years which have elapsed since I first saw this film I admit to still finding it incredibly funny. If anybody wants a
good laugh, and wishes to be uplifted from normal worldly cares then I heartily recommend this dvd/film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2017
We return to this film every few years and each time we find it as charming and delightful as ever. From the initial confusion at the railway station to M. Hulot's manic tennis serve, the film is full of quirky visual jokes which will remain for years in the memory. Having spent many holidays on the Normandy coast when our children were young, this film brings back memories of less frenetic summers before theme parks and water parks had been invented.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2012
Bought as a Christmas present to replace the old cassette version when we replaced the old VCR as it's one of those films you can get out, watch again and spot something funny that you've missed before. In some ways a typical piece of work from Jacques Tati that captures the last days of the summer in a small French seaside resort perfectly - a very gentle form of humour and probably the most watchable and enjoyable than any of the other Hulot films produced by Tati.
It has the same feel about it as 'The Picnic' by The Two Ronnies, and you don't need to speak French to understand it as most of the humour is visual.
You may not split your sides laughing, but you'll probably enjoy a good chuckle.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2017
I was so pleased to be able to buy this 1953 classic film at such a reasonable price. I first saw it in 1954 and it established a lasting memory for me. A wonderfully funny film. My grandchildren found it equally as funny as me. Brilliant!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2014
The incomparable Jacques Tati as M. Hulot is one of the funniest films ever made. With no distracting dialogue, the comedy is brilliant and can be understood by anyone, no matter age or language. M.Hulot makes the simplest everyday action hilarious. If you have never seen this then you are in for a treat. It is quietly hilarious and, of course, nothing untoward takes place and it can be viewed and laughed at by the whole family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2013
I haven't seen this film in over 40 years and it still holds up as I remember it. Very funny. After Buster Keaton and before Mr. Bean started bumbling his way through the world Jacques Tati's M. Hulot was causing unintentional (most of the time) chaos. You get a great BD copy of the film, restored and in HD. You also get many bonuses including the original theatrical release, but not in BD, so you can see the changes that Tati made of the years, including the score, since it original release. The booklet has good explanatory notes. Well worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2016
A most delightful piece of 'people-watching' cinema: one of the truly great original works; no words just exquisitely detailed episodes of man the creature of habit.. What made this DVD all the funnier was that the elderly English couple had their few words of dialogue written in German(!) I suppose the words 'Die ferien' rather gave the game away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2017
Seen this lots of times but never tire of watching it again. An absolute classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2017
Reminds me of my dad and childhood such innocent humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)