Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I've used this CPU as a "super budget" processors for a few builds in the past.
My unlock rate is around 50% (check that the board supports core unlocking)

You can use it on socket AM2+/AM3/AM3+ boards

Performance wise it's good enough for a normal office or home pc that's not doing demanding work, such as browsing and email, watching videos and word processing. It's not really designed for heavy lifting but it can offer a cheap way of building a new pc if you are running an older single core from many years back, it's a good bit quicker than those (ie P4 3GHz models)

It gets around 850 for a single core in passmark
You can roughly double that if you can unlock it.

On the other hand the AMD A4-Series A4-5300 socket FM2 is around the same price, it's also a low power CPU and that pulls in a passmark score of 2100 odd, which is faster than the Sempron can muster even with both cores. You also get, "ok" graphics onboard as it's an APU (and whilst it's not a gamers chip it will do an ok job v the older onboard graphics you'd likely use on the Sempron)

It's worth a look if you need the lowest possible cost option for those sockets, it's probably not the best choice if you are building a super budget pc right now (it came out in 2010 and things have moved on a bit even in entry level processors) Other alternatives are hunting out second hand Athlon II dual core processors which are again better performers.

Still it's capable enough for a standard office pc and runs quiet with low power consumption. If you get one that will unlock that's a bonus.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
Since AMD motherboards are alot cheaper than intel ones, if you pair that fact up with this CPU you have most of your pc for under 100 pounds. there is a nice niche of AM3 micro atx motherboards that circle the 40 pound mark that are perfect for media centres.
I have heard this core can have a second core unlocked, but i am not sure how it works, but even without it everything works just fine. I havent tried it with games but this little devil makes movies, word processing, viewing pictures, songs etc.. all fast.
excellent value for money! It even comes with a cpu cooler with thermal paste already on it so you dont even have to buy that!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
I have waited a month to write a review so that I could thrash the socks off the product! It has run quite efficiently on my server/gaming machine. I have kept my server on 24-7 for over a month now and this processor isn't screaming for mercy like the Intel variants did. I ALWAYS GO FOR AMD, as they are Reliable, Sturdy and very well made. As far as basic processors go, this ones the daddy!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Others have given outrageous reports of how they unlocked the second core, and overclocked it to 4GHz. I was not so lucky - releasing the 2nd core did nothing - it still ran on just one in the case of the one I got. I tried overclocking it, and got it as far as 3.5GHz as opposed to 2.8, and it continues to run very cool, around 45°C with the supplied fan, maybe hitting near but not quite 50°C under stress. It's specified to run up to 70°C so I tried to push it up a little further but the BIOS wasn't having it. But I've found the 25% increase in the speed enough to clear the occasional logjam. No complaints as it's good value for money, and I'm not a gamer. In conjunction with a combination of SSD and Hybrid drives, I have to say that my computing experience is as smooth as it's ever been.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Bought this to replace the Chip in my Compaq Presario PC. All the major components went at the same time. Motherboard, Processor & Hard Disc. Managed to replace them all for around £130. Find it hard to believe we paid over £600 for the original PC. Fitting everything was a doddle. So don't be afraid to try it. Our local PC Supplier wanted £55 just to fit the Motherboard. Happy Computing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
Bought this to flash my AM3+ Motherboard to work with the new Bulldozer processors. Installed easily and did the job fine, BIOS straight away recognized it as running at 2.80GHz
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
Really pleased with this purchase. Took two days to arrive, UK to Spain, so no complaints there. My motherboard, an ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO had no problems converting it into an Athlon II X2 4450e @ 2800Mhz, the stock Athlon runs @ 2300Mhz! All for 33, so pretty good value for money too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've used this CPU as a "super budget" processors for a few builds in the past.
My unlock rate is around 50% (check that the board supports core unlocking) so best case you get a dual core processor for a good price, if not even the single core is fine for day to day work tasks

You can use it on socket AM2+/AM3/AM3+ boards

Performance wise it's good enough for a normal office or home pc that's not doing demanding work, such as browsing and email, watching videos and word processing. It's not really designed for heavy lifting but it can offer a cheap way of building a new pc if you are running an older single core from many years back, it's a good bit quicker than those (ie P4 3GHz models)

It gets around 850 for a single core in passmark
You can roughly double that if you can unlock it.

On the other hand the AMD A4-Series A4-5300 socket FM2 is around the same price, it's also a low power CPU and that pulls in a passmark score of 2100 odd, which is faster than the Sempron can muster even with both cores. You also get, "ok" graphics onboard as it's an APU (and whilst it's not a gamers chip it will do an ok job v the older onboard graphics you'd likely use on the Sempron)

It's worth a look if you need the lowest possible cost option for those sockets, it's probably not the best choice if you are building a super budget pc right now (it came out in 2010 and things have moved on a bit even in entry level processors) Other alternatives are hunting out second hand Athlon II dual core processors which are again better performers.

Still it's capable enough for a standard office pc and runs quiet with low power consumption. If you get one that will unlock that's a bonus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've used this CPU as a "super budget" processors for a few builds in the past.
My unlock rate is around 50% (check that the board supports core unlocking)

You can use it on socket AM2+/AM3/AM3+ boards

Performance wise it's good enough for a normal office or home pc that's not doing demanding work, such as browsing and email, watching videos and word processing. It's not really designed for heavy lifting but it can offer a cheap way of building a new pc if you are running an older single core from many years back, it's a good bit quicker than those (ie P4 3GHz models)

It gets around 850 for a single core in passmark
You can roughly double that if you can unlock it.

On the other hand the AMD A4-Series A4-5300 socket FM2 is around the same price, it's also a low power CPU and that pulls in a passmark score of 2100 odd, which is faster than the Sempron can muster even with both cores. You also get, "ok" graphics onboard as it's an APU (and whilst it's not a gamers chip it will do an ok job v the older onboard graphics you'd likely use on the Sempron)

It's worth a look if you need the lowest possible cost option for those sockets, it's probably not the best choice if you are building a super budget pc right now (it came out in 2010 and things have moved on a bit even in entry level processors) Other alternatives are hunting out second hand Athlon II dual core processors which are again better performers.

Still it's capable enough for a standard office pc and runs quiet with low power consumption. If you get one that will unlock that's a bonus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2012
I bought this In August 2011 brilliant little CPU for its monies worth, low heat and energy usage.

Certain people will be able to unlock the 2nd core turning this processor into an Athlon II Dual Core. Unfortunately i wasnt so lucky as my 2nd core was defective causing my PC to not boot up.

Currently though after browsing and getting addicted to overclocking forums I am Running this CPU not at its manufacture spec of 2.8Ghz but at 3.8Ghz which i and others were quite amazed at by this little beast.

Only using the stock CPU cooler it came with it runs 3.8Ghz at 40.50W with a maximum heat output of 51Degrees Celsius on a full Prime95 8 hour stress test and all is stable.

For under £30 you cant moan about its capabilities even more so in
the overclocking area.

Top Buy
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)