Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2017
I'm not deaf yet thankfully, this is excellent, especially "Go with the flow", one of the best rock songs ever written in my book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
Brilliant, love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
I've played it to death!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2002
I've only recently started listening to 'Queens of the Stone Age'. After purchasing the exceptional 'Rated R', I thought I'd give their new album a listen... and I was amazed. This really is the best rock album in years. I don't mean nu-metal, i mean rock album. Queens of the stone age are tight, loud and catchy as hell. I read some reviews on this album which say the album needs a few listens, but I personally found this album instantly addictive, AND I'M NOT EVEN A 'ROCK' fan, prefering the likes of Jeff Buckley. Another thing to note is Dave Grohl's outstanding drumming. I always considered him to be 'average' but from this album you'll see he is far from. Finally, ignore reviews which say the album recording is 'flat' and 'compressed'. The first 10 seconds of track 1 sounds that way, but that soon changes... you'll see...
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
One of those must have albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2003
Songs for the deaf is quite frankly, the culmination of nearly a decade and a half of hard work and experience in the business, and a group of musicians fulfilling their exciting potentials. Josh Homme has never sounded more confident vocally, alot of the tracks on QOTSA's third album being all over his range - whilst combining genial riffs. With the support of Dave Grohl of Nirvana and Foo Fighters fame, Nick Oliveri supplies the meanacing, creeping bass sounds that linger in the air only to be pummled just in time by Daves agressive, hard-hitting yet complex drumming style. Mark Lanegan returns for this album adding vocals to 'A song for the dead' 'hanging tree'and 'a song gor the deaf'. Songs for the Deaf is an instant classic that, although taking a darker, more melodic twist from 'Rated R' (previous QOTSA album) fulfills all of its promise. Troy Van Leeuw from A Perfect Circle supplies rhythm guitar and some excellent mandolin work when the haunting wails of songs like 'No One KNows' and 'The Sky Is Falling' are put into play. The album uses alot of different instruments to create their unique sounds, such as the mandolin, keyboards, effects and even a backing orchestral set at times. Queens Of The Stone Age fans will not be dissapointed. This album has done very well without losing that drug-induced QOTSA vibe, and new listeners will surley be hooked for good. I was. Having taken Black Sabbaths formations of stoner rock, and developed it through Kyuss, it is this incarnation of Josh Homme and Nick Oliveris work that stands out abopve all others. With the rest of the band playing an important part, Queens Of The Stoneage is becoming a household name - if your household is the dark rock fortress on the corner of Rock st. and Drugs ave. This band have definatley made their name and will forever go down in alternative rock history for THIS album. if you dont own it, your record collection is null and void.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 March 2014
It seems that 'Rated R' has come to be regarded by fans as the classic QoTSA album, but for me it will always be 'Songs for the Deaf'.

The reason is simple - the album is packed with strong melodies and powerful song writing from start to finish. Few bands can come up with such a consistently great selection of songs from beginning to end without having to reverting to filler.

'Songs for the Deaf' was one of those albums I just had to own when it came out and I can honestly say that the thrill of the listening experience has not diminished after all these years.

It would be terrific if this now received the expanded treatment. Perhaps a version without the pseudo radio links?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£7.99
£7.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)