Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2017
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2002
I've only recently started listening to 'Queens of the Stone Age'. After purchasing the exceptional 'Rated R', I thought I'd give their new album a listen... and I was amazed. This really is the best rock album in years. I don't mean nu-metal, i mean rock album. Queens of the stone age are tight, loud and catchy as hell. I read some reviews on this album which say the album needs a few listens, but I personally found this album instantly addictive, AND I'M NOT EVEN A 'ROCK' fan, prefering the likes of Jeff Buckley. Another thing to note is Dave Grohl's outstanding drumming. I always considered him to be 'average' but from this album you'll see he is far from. Finally, ignore reviews which say the album recording is 'flat' and 'compressed'. The first 10 seconds of track 1 sounds that way, but that soon changes... you'll see...
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2003
Queens Of The Stone Age have seen their stock rise steadily over the last few years and with 'Songs For The Deaf' it seems set to reach new heights, the steady increases multiplying into an unstoppable force.
Recruiting Dave Grohl and Mark Lanegan certainly helps. What band wouldn't be improved by these two talents. Grohl is back doing what he does best, adding a light and shade to the overall sound that isn't witnessed often enough from the drumming in most rock groups (including his own, overrated, Foo Fighters). Lanegan adds his considerable songwriting talent to three of the tracks on offer, including the superb single, 'No One Knows' with its jaunty guitar motif and all-too-hummable refrain.
'No One Knows' forms the centrepiece of the opening triumvirate of tracks, all three swept along on the kind of riffs most bands would kill for. 'First It Giveth' in particular gets the pulse racing and some consideration to likely speeding fines should be given by anyone planning to play this song whilst driving.
The album takes on many moods after its high voltage opening, evoking 60s surf music ('Another Love Song'), 70s glam ('Gonna Leave You' and 'Do It Again'), Zeppelin-esque mystique ('The Sky Is Falling' and the awesome 'Mosquito Song') and the obligatory Black Sabbath homage ('God Is In The Radio'). There's even a Kinks cover version in there ('Everybody's Gonna Be Happy').
This may all make it sound like a record from another age. And in a way it is, no-one out there is making records like this at the moment. Yet there is still a very contemporary feel to the overall sound of the album.
It's also refreshing to hear a band using influences to do just that - influence - rather than copying them wholesale. It adds a layer of texture to the sound that ensures you can't help but be drawn in. Nowhere is that more in evidence than on 'Mosquito Song', Josh Homme's warm yet weary vocal eating into your mind and soul with an intimacy most vocalists can't even imagine.
The Queens Of The Stone Age: the kings of a new era.
55 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
I have to say, for an album entitled "songs for the deaf! I was extremely disappointed! As a deaf person I was expecting something different, but I bet the album is probably pretty good... In fact it's probably amazing. :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
One of those must have albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2003
Songs for the deaf is quite frankly, the culmination of nearly a decade and a half of hard work and experience in the business, and a group of musicians fulfilling their exciting potentials. Josh Homme has never sounded more confident vocally, alot of the tracks on QOTSA's third album being all over his range - whilst combining genial riffs. With the support of Dave Grohl of Nirvana and Foo Fighters fame, Nick Oliveri supplies the meanacing, creeping bass sounds that linger in the air only to be pummled just in time by Daves agressive, hard-hitting yet complex drumming style. Mark Lanegan returns for this album adding vocals to 'A song for the dead' 'hanging tree'and 'a song gor the deaf'. Songs for the Deaf is an instant classic that, although taking a darker, more melodic twist from 'Rated R' (previous QOTSA album) fulfills all of its promise. Troy Van Leeuw from A Perfect Circle supplies rhythm guitar and some excellent mandolin work when the haunting wails of songs like 'No One KNows' and 'The Sky Is Falling' are put into play. The album uses alot of different instruments to create their unique sounds, such as the mandolin, keyboards, effects and even a backing orchestral set at times. Queens Of The Stone Age fans will not be dissapointed. This album has done very well without losing that drug-induced QOTSA vibe, and new listeners will surley be hooked for good. I was. Having taken Black Sabbaths formations of stoner rock, and developed it through Kyuss, it is this incarnation of Josh Homme and Nick Oliveris work that stands out abopve all others. With the rest of the band playing an important part, Queens Of The Stoneage is becoming a household name - if your household is the dark rock fortress on the corner of Rock st. and Drugs ave. This band have definatley made their name and will forever go down in alternative rock history for THIS album. if you dont own it, your record collection is null and void.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 March 2014
It seems that 'Rated R' has come to be regarded by fans as the classic QoTSA album, but for me it will always be 'Songs for the Deaf'.

The reason is simple - the album is packed with strong melodies and powerful song writing from start to finish. Few bands can come up with such a consistently great selection of songs from beginning to end without having to reverting to filler.

'Songs for the Deaf' was one of those albums I just had to own when it came out and I can honestly say that the thrill of the listening experience has not diminished after all these years.

It would be terrific if this now received the expanded treatment. Perhaps a version without the pseudo radio links?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2007
If, like me, you heard of QOTSA through the fact that Dave Grohl is drumming in this record. you actually wont be dissapointed. fair enough it doesn't immediatley get you on the first listen but if you perservere you will be rewarded with some brilliant songs.

I've had this record for about four years now and its still in heavy rotation in my stereo. That can only really prove how good it is.

Unlike the other reviewer on here that stated he didnt like the pretend radio station intros to a lot of the songs, i think it makes the cd a bit more fun and i dont find them anoying in any way, shape or form. It would be really strange if they werent there and i dont think it would be quite as entertaining in the long run.

The best way to describe the album itself is a mixture of Kyuss and say early Screaming Trees with a bit of Black Sabbath thrown in for good measure. If you've never listened to the bands I mentioned this CD is best described as sort of sludgey, dry "stoner-rock" for want of a better term. Kinda like if Motorhead had lived in the middle of a desert for their careers writing music that fit the landscape. Not necessarily heavy. More grungy and dirty. F****ng awesome!

This is kind've a concept album - in that the album plays through as a companion for the drive from LA to Joshua Tree, tuning in to radio stations along the way. In that aspect it works perfectly as it does feel like you could make that drive, listen to this album and have it fit perfectly.

I do think that it is more of a summer record, perfect cd to put on when it is sunny outside, and it will make you want to jump about and go mad - especially the first song "you think i aint worth a dollar but i feel like a millionaire" which admittedly does take a few listens to appreciate fully.

Although i'm maybe a bit biased concidering i have had it for so long already and it does remind me of some good times i had a few summers ago it really is a worthwhile addition to your cd collection.

I'd recomend it if you like Mark Lanegan (solo or with Screaming Trees), Kyuss, Mondo Generator, Black Sabbath, Motorhead, even early Nirvana/Foo Fighters... etc

A very worthwhile purchase especially at the price its at now, you really cant go wrong!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£7.99
£4.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)