Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
172
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2002
There are quite a few Police/Police-Sting compilations doing the rounds at the moment. Avoid all of them and buy this ! Greatest Hits is just that, a sixteen-track, chronologically correct retropsective which provides us with all the big hit singles, plus a couple of classic album cuts such as Beds To Big Without You, Tea In The Sahara and the utterly brilliant power-pop of Synchronicity II (a US single). With Sting's ever-thoughtful lyrics, Andy Summers' sublime muscianship (he was the real cornerstone of the band) and Stuart Copeland's brilliantly tight percussion, there is something here for everyone. From the reggae-esque Roxanne (1978), the gorgeous simplicity of the bass-line on Walking On The Moon (1979), the pure pop joy of Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic (1981) to their all time classic single Every Breath You Take (1983), you can really begin to appreciate the musical evolution of the band over the years, with the quality control never letting-up throughout.
They probably had another classic album or two in them after 1983 but by then they were all fist-fighting in the studio, couldn't stand the sight of each other and Sting was being rapidly lulled by the A&M money men into his solid if not a little dull solo career. They briefly reformed in 1986, and as a prequel to a new album, cut a poor remake of their 1980 single Don't Stand So Close To Me, which the compilists have thankfully not tagged onto the end of this collection. Once again the punch-ups and musical differences prevailed and The Police were finally and lamentably laid to rest.
Between 1981 and 1983, The Police were deservedly the biggest band in the world and much of their best material was produced during this period (especially on their Synchroncity album), but this is not to criticize their first three albums from 1978-1980 which were also brilliant in their own right. All of their key material between 1978 and 1983 is present and correct.
Thus, The Police Greatest Hits is by far the best compilation out there and will probably not be bettered, so go out and get it now before the record company deletes it from their catalogue.
11 comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2001
Incredible. I love every track on this album; pure listening pleasure. This is the only album I have that is truly consistent - I adore every track. I would never press skip to hear the next track because they are all equally superb!! Now how many of you reading this can say the same about any other album in your possession?? Every track is pure gold on this CD.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a superb collection of Police singles, from the early days of Roxanne and Can't Stand Losing You - both of which were considered controversial songs because of their subject matter. The Police very successfully integrated reggae rhythms into their sound, as demonstrated by the aforementioned and by later smashes like Message In A Bottle and Don't Stand So Close To Me. My other favourites include Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic, Spirits In The Material World and Every Breath You Take. Not everything here has stood the test of time well - De Do Do Do is one those irritating novelty numbers that I skip when listening to this album. These songs, although mostly simple and catchy, are a cut above simple pop because of their clever lyrics that often contain a twist or two, innovative rhythmic patterns and the band's professionalism. This greatest hits album is perfect for the casual listener although hardcore fans might want to get all the band's output on CD. There is also the 1997 collection The Best Of Sting And The Police with a slightly different track listing, containing more of Sting's ballads.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 January 2016
key tracks:-
can't stand losing
dont stand so close to me
every breath you take
message in a bottle

i've always been a fan of the police, and this greatest hits collection is the best place to start. all the hits are here, and they still sound great today. its worth noting that this is the only greatest hits cd i could find that contained the original version of 'don't stand so close to me' which i think is much better than the slower re-released version and this was the information i was looking for when i was trying to find the right cd, so i hope this helps you too
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 March 2015
15 big hit singles in not quite chronological order and a popular album track make for a genuine Greatest Hits package of top quality covering the hit singles from all five of their studio albums. For any casual fan of The Police you would be hard stretched to find a better compilation unless you wish to have some of Sting's solo hits included too - and probably that's just the market this is designed for. It's easy to forget how big this group were, and how much they did to help popularize reggae amongst a punk audience, with breakthrough track "Roxanne" kicking off proceedings.

There are plenty of classic radio staples here, with "Can't Stand Losing You", "Message In A Bottle" and later hit "Every Breath You Take" all present and correct. Stylistically there's development of the sound to a more polished product over time. It's a fine reminder of how much time The Police spent in the charts and how many excellent songs they produced. An essential addition for any fan of the post-punk era, and a superb introduction for anyone born too late the first time around.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
From about 1979 to 1983 The Police were one of the biggest bands on the planet and here's why, their fusion of New Wave pop sensibilities and white boy Reggae laid the foundations for their success, gradually developing into a more sophisticated AOR sound. The skank of "Roxanne" mixes with the (for 1984 anyway) cutting edge of "Synchronicity" by which time Andy Summers was practically redundant and ego clashes ended the band. The Police did have some interesting album cuts showing their quirkier side but these hits are what the band are remembered for and rightly so. A good reminder that the early '80s wasn't all about cross-dressers and New Romantics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 January 2013
I've got an awful lot of albums I'm playing through at present. Bought this coz it's got Spirits In The Material World, which wasn't on my other Police/Sting compilation. Love all the songs here. Originally had the album on tape, and WE ALL KNOW what happens to tape, eventually, hahahaha!

So glad to see this collection was also released on CD. I gobbled up a copy while I still could. If you like the Police, maybe you should consider doing the same! This really is a stunning album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2000
The Police are, in my opinion, a very underrated band. OK, its not as if they weren't successful in their time, but nowadays, everyone seems to have forgotten how good they were. Sting is an excellent vocalist and a songwriter of tremendous imagination and variety- just look at the contrast between the earlier slick reggae sounds of "Roxanne" and "I Can't Stand Losing You" and the later darkly storming effort of "Syncronicity II". If you are not a fan, or would never have really considered purchasing this album, why not give it a try? Here's a little carrot: "Every Breath You Take" is not the best song on this album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2001
Bad puns aside, I really recommend this CD, it's packed with simple, true rock songs. I can't believe I'm the first person to write a review of this-The Police were the biggest band in the entire world at one point, undoubtedly one of the best singles bands ever a la The Kinks, Slade et al. Sting is pretty boring as an artist today, and not to everyone's tastes as a person either, but he was a god at this point, especially on hits such as "Every Breath You Take" and "Roxanne". Even the titles you might not recognise straight away become part of you after a while. They really were that good, and a such a value price here you'd be mad to not get it. Top CD.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
No complaints here - this is quite simply all the Police's classic singles, plus the lovely 'Tea In The Sahara' from the 'Synchronicity' album as well. It seems unfair to highlight any of the 16 tracks here but 'Wrapped Around Your Finger' is a beautiful, slow number whilst the rumbustious 'Synchronicity 2' is an absolute belter. The stark 'White Reggae' sound of the early hits juxtaposes nicely with the sophistication of the middle/latter hits. Definitely worth adding to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)