Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 October 2010
Extraordinary guitar virtuoso, Dave Mustaine, has always been a contentious individual, something he makes no bones about in this `warts and all' history of his life and career thus far. Dave's memoir (written with Joe Layden), is a revealing and entertaining read that moves at breakneck pace from his troubled childhood through to the early days of thrash metal's biggest act, Metallica, before topping the heights of metal stardom with his own act Megadeth. Dave wryly and honestly guides you through the highs and lows of both his public and private lives to an apparent career ending injury followed by a startling rebirth of both Dave himself and his band.

Great things - piles of anecdotes and proper explanations of some of the more bizarre moments in Dave's history as well as what really happened in every lineup change, the stories behind (at least some of) Megadeth's catalogue. The story of Dave's time and influence in Metallica's early days and how those events went on to fuel a bitter feud that, reading between the lines, continues to trouble him today, even though hatchets are apparently long buried.

Not so great things - quality of the paper and photos printed on that paper that gives the book a cheap feel. Also, as others have noted these images often don't relate to the section you're reading. These are minor quibbles though in comparative terms.

Overall this is a fascinating insight into a life driven by anger and fear exacerbated by drugs and alcohol that is by turn funny, sad and more than a little frightening. Love him or hate him, Mustaine tells it like it was and whilst `regrets - he's had a few' - you feel he has come out the other side of a tornado of a life more at peace with himself than ever before. A riveting read which goes past faster than one of Dave's excellent arpeggio laced solos - highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
This is a book that is clever, extremely witty (laughing aloud a lot on this one), and very well written. I really recommend this book regardless of whether you're familiar with the music of Megadeth or just a metal fan in general. David Mustaine opens his heart on a lot of things and has a refreshing down to earth approach. With one section in particular I had a tear that I didn't realise until it was running down my cheek. An emotional and entertaining book. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
This book is touching, inspiring and humorous life into the one and only Dave Mustaine. Reading this book makes you understand how mis-understood he is and his reason his mindset at various points in time, UN-biased opinion of a man we only can judge from the media, even those loyal to this man will be surprised at who he really is.

Brilliant Read for any metal fan and and aspiring musician from an intelligent individual and a true survivor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Just finished reading this and am slightly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I'm not a big Megadeth fan at all, they were always my least favourite of the big 4; but this is just a really interesting, occasionally funny, very well written book. I guess if I were a bigger fan I'd have liked more info on the background to songs and stuff, but as a casual reader it's up there with the best rock biogs I've read. A perfect holiday read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
If you are a fan of Megadeth, thrash metal, metal or in fact even if you are not, this book is absoultely stunning!
Mustaine goes into extreme detail of his hedonistic lifestyle and his personality shines right through!
A gripping read of a the life so far of one of the most influential musicians in the metal industry!
I wasn't able to put this book down from the minute I picked it up!
Can't recommend this enough!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2010
i have never read all the way through a book from start to finish without distraction until now ! dave mustaine a life in metal is a great read , funny , sad and at this price a bargain ! if you are interested in megadeth even just a little bit i would strongly recommend this book . i read it in 2 sittings and i am not a book reader . i had to keep reading more ! pick up this book now , you won't regret it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
I first stumbled on the band Megadeth through a friends copy of a Kerrang video. The track... Peace Sells... and thus began my love affair with the sound.

So, in looking to fill my bookshelves with biographies of my choice, I came across this and what a read. Couldn't put the book down. A definite must for rock fans everywhere.

All hail, Lord David of the Mustaine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
This book is an essential for any Megadeth fan, whether your of the "die-hard" type or just if you love their music. Mainly though if you are a young aspiring guitarist (like me), who wants an insight into the early days of a very successful musician's life and how not everything was easy as some people seem to think, buy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
If you like D.M you need to get this book so that you can see his life through his own eyes. In my opinion there were a bit too many drug stories compared to the music facts. It will not disappoint you, provided you like the guy before you get the book as the character the book unveils is sort of what you expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
I was quite unsure what to expect from this book - to be honest 'Angry' Dave was the suspected undertone, but it is quite an honest and interesting read. I had always quite liked Dave Mustaine - I think his music is fantastic - but this book has elevated my opinion of him that bit more. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)