Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
The Desperate Battle of the Birds
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.49

on 3 September 2010
Again Breabach have out done themselves. I really enjoyed their first album and this second album comes up to that high standard. All the instumental part are tightly performed and beautifully orchestrated and produced with superb melodic interactions between pipes and strings. My only qualm is the choice of songs that they have on the album, with the exception of the "Silver Darlings" which I enjoyed. However, that is just a personal opinion and should not put anybody off buying this album. It definately looks like Breabach have taken over the mantle from Def Sheppard and Ossian.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2010
I saw them live at the Weigh Inn Motel Thurso. They were performing for the Blaas Festival.They were absolutely amazing. I ordered the cd the next day and I was not disappointed when I played it.They are all talented musicians and as a group are brilliant.
If you can't get the chance to see them live, buy the cd.The Desperate Battle of the Birds
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2010
Fast, furious, mournful, moving, funky...Traditional music with a bit of a twist - fantastic musicians with wide repertoire
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2012
I agree with the other commentators Ms. Eleanor Ragg and marags "marag": this is a breath of fresh air here in Scotland. Very creative - and it grows on you (as any good experience should). Song-writing, arrangement and instrumental performance are up front - while the still young voices (as they are!) offer a lot of promise. A beauty!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2011
I saw this band on catch up t.v (BBC Alba) and thought they were great so bought this CD. As good as the tv broadcast and at a good price. Easy to download and burn onto CD.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2012
I saw and heard this band on 'Celtic Connections', and was knocked out by their skill, virtuosity and excellent feel for traditional music fused with new vibes.

Great music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2014
There's enough sheer drive and expertise on this album to fill a universe. So glad I purchased it. Don't miss out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2014
Bought as a gift but seems very popular with recipient.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2015
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Bann
£7.49
Astar
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)