Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2011
This works. Its really a cost saving option compared to the Canon original. Canon overcharges for a power adapter. The only reason I give it 4 stars is because when loaded in camera (5DII) it gives you a warning that it cannot communicate with battery. So its not chipped, but since you're running from a mains, it doesn't really matter. If you need battery / ac information in the meta-tags of your pictures, then go for the original canon version.

A little note: I had not used a power adapter with my canon before buying this, so i didn't know how to properly install it. What ever you do, do not force the cap of the camera to close ONTO the cable. The battery has a little fit-and-slide space for the cable to go through, to exactly avoid 'cutting' the cable. Make sure you do this before inserting the battery in the camera.

A note for outside the UK. This adapter comes with a UK cable. Easily switchable to other types of plugs by replacing the cable, or with a plug converter.

Great, great purchase.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
Bought this as it was a superbly priced alternative to the Canon offering. I use it for shooting video on 7D so that I can be in the studio without having to think about battery worries. Had it for over a month now and have had no problems whatsoever.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2011
This little adapter is perfect for the 5D mk2. At first I had no idea how the lead fitted in with the battery door shut. On the dummy battery there is a little clip to hold the cord at a 90 degree angle, slot the cable into that clip and you will see when you slide the dummy into the battery compartment that there is a small flap exactly where the power cord is, open that flap and slot the dummy in and you will be able to shut the door and power up. The cable isnt tight or in danger of being damaged, it fits perfectly!

Powers up nicely, easy to disconnect the dummy battery cord from the main power supply but it's a nice tight connection so there is no chance of it accidentally unplugging in the middle of a shoot but if you need to unplug you dont need to take the dummy out etc... just unplug the cord from the adapter and you can reposition.

If you are thinking of getting an adapter but cant justify over £100 for Canon OEM then I would recommend this adapter. Do bear in mind however, as it is a third party replacement your warranty may not cover any damage caused by it, but then if you have a 5D without accidental damage insurance you must be mad anyway :D
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
I bought this for a Canon 7D. Its designed for the 5D mk2 but since the 7D and 5D mk2 use the same battery I thought I'd give it a go as its considerably cheaper than the official Canon unit.
The "dummy battery" fits in the camera OK but you can't close the battery compartment door as the power lead needs to come through it. Herein lies a problem, the 7D has a micro-switch to detect if the battery compartment is open and won't power up if it is. The solution is however very simple. Just get a small cable tie (or any other suitable sized bit of plastic) and jam it in the micro switch compartment. Now this might sound horrendous but all you're doing is manually replicating pushing the micro-switch down, something a little dimple on the battery compartment door does when its shut. With a cable tie and battery compartment door hanging beneath the camera it sure doesn't look elegant but it works.

I shot an hour long time lapse sequence (too many shots for a standard battery pack) with the 7D using this unit and it worked just fine.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
Being a sucker for branded goods I was reluctant to go for this instead of the canon one. But at such a price difference I had to try it.
Some people have mentioned it may not be so robust as the canon one but having used it quite a bit I cant see any weak points.
most canon pro products are built for pros,as they will be being used outside, on the move and/or in difficult situations.
The very fact you will probably use this mainly indoors automatically means you will have more opportunity to take care of it.
Its very simple but one thing I like is that it can be disconnected a short distance from where it comes out of from the
camera just in case you want to move where its plugged into the mains without having to carry the camera and whole cable
at the same time or take out the battery connector.
Id say save yourself £90!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2011
Apart from getting an error message that you're still running on battery power, this works fine with the Canon 7D.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
This product functions as a replacement for the original Canon ACK-E6 power adapter. The unit works flawlessly. Came without a manual, but was very intuitive to use on the camera. The power cord fits into slots on the adapter and the camera has a rubber flap to let the cord pass the battery door without problems. Buy this instead of the original and save money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
Bought this adapter for my Canon 6D and I use it in conjunction with Anker® 2nd Gen Astro Pro 15000mAh Triple Port Portable Power Bank Pack External Battery USB Charger with PowerIQ™ Technology for iPhone 6 Plus 5S 5C 5 4S, iPad Air 2, mini 3, Galaxy S5 S4 S3, Note 4 3, Galaxy Tab 4 3 2, Pro, Nexus 4 5 6 7 9 10, HTC One, Digital Cameras, Camcorder, PS Vita, Gopro and more while shooting video. This set-up will last you for 6-10 hours easily. Great set-up for timelapse as well.

The cable quality is good and the connection between the adapter and the battery is firm.

I would totally recommend this to anyone trying to shoot indoors or with a power pack. I've been using this almost daily throughout the last year and it still looks like new :)
review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
I was initially looking at a similar product which was out of stock. This product had no reviews, but I took a gamble and ordered it. So far so good! The adapter fits in the camera perfectly, it is lightweight and doesn't take up much room in the kit bag. The lead is a generous 13 foot long all together (approximately) and there is a safety coupler on the lead which is a brilliant feature; that if someone were to trip on the wire it would detach rather than pulling the camera off the tripod. This coupler is a little loose for my liking as I'd be using it for film work so there would be a fair amount of movement of the camera at times, but a little bit of tape ensures it stays attached.

All in all I'm very satisfied with this product and highly recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
I had purchased this a cheap alternative, the official Canon adapter is stupidly expensive given its limited purpose. I am pleased to report that this does in fact work, and does the job very nicely with no over-heating and causes no damage to the camera etc (this is my worry with buying unofficial accessories). It's very light-weight, fairly durable so no worries about it getting kicked around abit. It is not chipped so it will not communicate battery information through the camera, but of course as its a continuous power-source that doesn't matter. I recommend this product for those in need of an adapter but lacking in funds to buy official brands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)