Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
75
4.4 out of 5 stars
Country Strong [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 August 2011
I've been a country fan for a long, long time but had 'fallen away' from it a bit in the past few years. I heard the Gwyneth Paltrow song (me and Tennessee)on the radio and it was much better than I'd expected, so I thought I'd give this CD a whirl. The best price was Amazon. CD arrived quickly and I've thoroughly enjoyed it, not just that track but all of them. Some CDs you play once or twice and then they fade but I've had this one on loads and it's very catchy. Although I haven't got round to it yet, I'll buy the DVD as well to hear the songs in their movie context. Thoroughly enjoyable.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
This was bought after seeing the film on DVD. I had enjoyed the original music used in the film and was looking forward to hearing it again. Some of the main tracks are grand and were sung by the people in the film but some of the other tracks such as "Give in to me" are not sung by the actors/singers from the film. I was disappointed in this and in line with the other reviews I read, I bought the second soundtrack album which is much more satisfactory and I recommend if you buy this album also buy the second one too.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
If you liked the film, you will be disappointed by the soundtrack as most of the songs are sung by other singers, particularly delightful "come on" song which is sung by a lady on her own instead.

What a shame
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2012
This Soundtrack is Great, very well done Tim, Gwyneth, Garret & Leighton, very well done.
Excellent Film and one of the best Soundtracks i've heared,(however read below comments) Great song choices for the film.

Only Dissapointment with the Soundtrack was that:

Faith Hills song; 'Give in to me', was expertly covered by Garret Hedlund & Leighton Meester during the Film, and on the soundtrack the only version is the Faith Hill original..............?
I understand that it may be someone else's song, however when you buy a soundtrack, you want to hear what you fell in love with on the Film, Hence why your buying the Sundtrack!!
Did Faith Hill not want to let Garret & Leighton cover the song? I can see why she would'nt want too,after all, their version was alot better than Faith's original!!

Also, where are Garrets versions of Silverwings and others? Did Merle Haggard feel the same as Faith!! Well done Garret & Leighton, very well done. xx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
When I first heard that the movie called Country Strong will be released at the end of the year, I instantly knew that first of all I have to buy the accompanying soundtrack. The reason behind is the leading man of the movie and its executive co-producer Tim McGraw, which meant that at least one song on the album will be sung by his wife. Being a huge fan of Faith Hill it's a bit upsetting that there was no new music from her for over 5 years now, so even if it's only 1 song, the soundtrack is still worth buying. Give In To Me is fantastic, Faith's voice is silky and subtle, in the vain of the sound she put on Oh Holy Night (which I personally think is one of the best renditions ever) on her Joy The World album. And at 5 minutes long you can fully enjoy that voice, even putting it on repeated plays. But that's not the only strong point of the album. It's actually a great collection of contemporary country tunes sung by one of the best artists of the genre. Patty Loveless sounds as "country strong" as ever, as is Lee Ann Womack with her unmistakable angelic voice on Liars Lies. The biggest surprise of the album however is the movie's leading lady, Gwyneth Paltrow. She sings 4 out of 13 songs and sounds fantastic, well, at least her singing is miles away from the sound of passable country star of the moment Taylor Swift. Thank goodness, that even with her Tim McGraw song, she still wasn't convincing enough to Tim McGraw to be included on the album. All in all, great album with fantastic songs, well worth buying. And yes, Faith is amazing, but all the rest is 2 thumbs up too
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
Saw a preview of the movie and was struck by how good Paltrow's voice was - should take over from hubby!! For once a really good soundtrack with a tremendous supporting cast of country performers helping it along. Wonder if GP may end up doing duet album with Patty or Lee Ann certainly got the chops for it
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Very pleasant songs that are great for when you feel the need to wind down.. Surprised that Gwyneth Paltrow has such a great voice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Disappointed that most of the songs are not from the movie. Or not sung by the actors on the film. Not worth buying the album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
If you like country music you will enjoy this. Gwyneth can sing and could hold her own in this work if she ever gave up acting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
It an amazing CD!!! It did take a long time to come though be around a week and a half, but the songs on it are just brilliant, theres plenty of Tim McGraw and Gweneth Paltrow but the only song that i would say is badish is Give into me because it was not sung like in the film, but i would so recomend purchasing this if you love tim or just country music.
BUY BUY BUY
CD was in perfect condition when recieved as well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)