Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
24
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2010
If you haven't come across Soft Machine before think 'psychedelic jazz fusion' for this period of the band. Lovers of the quirky charm Robert Wyatt brought to the band will love '3', barely notice his influence by '4' and mourn his passing by '5'. The band that remains still produces many fabulous moments though and 5 albums of this quality for this price would be crazy to miss! Cheaper than downloading, a hard back up copy, a cheap way of getting them on CD if (like me) you already had some of this on vinyl and, the thing that really matters, wonderful, wonderful music.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
Bargain 5pack of CDs - just getting into them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Amazon do not seem to have placed the track Listing so I thought this would help.
Also its actually not on 1 disc as Amazon state but 7 for there are 2 'double LPs' on here.
So this really is excellent value.
I actually love the cardboard cases!

The track Listings
THIRD:
1. Facelift
2. Slightly All the Time
3. Moon in June
4. Out-Bloody-Rageous

FOURTH:
1. Teeth
2. Kings and Queens
3. Fletcher's Blemish
4. Virtually, Pt. 1
5. Virtually, Pt. 2
6. Virtually, Pt. 3
7. Virtually, Pt. 4

FIFTH:
1. All White
2. Drop
3. M C
4. As If
5. L B O
6. Pigling Bland
7. Bone
8. All White [Take Two]

SIX:
1. Fanfare - (live)
2. All White - (live)
3. Between - (live)
4. Riff - (live)
5. 37½ - (live)
6. Gesolreut - (live)
7. E.P.V. - (live)
8. Lefty - (live)
9. Stumble - (live)
10. 5 From 13 - (live)
11. Riff II - (live)
12. Soft Weed Factor, The
13. Stanley Stamps Gibbon Album (for B.O)
14. Chloe and the Pirates
15. 1983

SEVEN:
1. Nettle Bed
2. Carol Ann
3. Day's Eye
4. Bone Fire
5. Tarabos
6. D.I.S.
7. Snodland
8. Penny Hitch
9. Block
10. Down the Road
11. German Lesson, The
12. French Lesson, The
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Complete collection from Soft Machine. The early years, before they turned to the fusion rock. Perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Canterbury's finest are here collected in a neat box set, with each CD housed in a mini facsimile of the original vinyl sleeve. Yes, the first two albums were groundbreaking records but very much of their time, and some of the material sounds quite dated to my ears now. By the time they got to Third, the band were moving into more obvious jazz territory - with jaw-dropping results. The music on these five albums is breathtaking, beautiful and baffling but never less than absorbing, and the obvious joy the players take in interacting with each other oozes from every groove. For me, the standouts are Fourth and Five, while Seven starts pointing towards the more ambient direction their future path would take. A priceless investment, which will repay listening time after time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an outstanding collection of five superb albums by a most incredible band that skirted the fringes of rock and jazz, yet never actually becoming a fusion band, not in my book at any rate.

The style of the band changes significantly across these 5 albums, from the lighter song orientated vol 3, through the longer improv weighted vol 4, after which Robert Wyatt left, and then well into the pure instrumental work of the last three.The band, regardless of lineup, were always first class musicians and I can honestly say there is not one track on any of these 5 cds that I feel like skipping. Some of Elton Deans solos are as good as it gets.

I bought this box set after being impressed with the 2 cd compilation Outbloodyrageous and would have to say at this price buying this is a no-brainer.

Essential!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
These ''Original Album Classics'' are presented in the most absolutely basic, some might say too basic, packaging - a simple cardboard reproduction of the original LP sleeves - and therefore virtually unreadable (although to be fair, in this case, Soft machine covers were never very informative anyway!!) in a cardboard box which in itself contains little or no information. One nice aspect is that the albums are presented as they were originally issued, ie each LP on a separate CD (and double LPs on 2 CDs) Sometimes too, the selection of the ''classic'' albums is a little ''eccentric'' to say the least. Again, in this case, that is irrelevant as the box contains studio albums 3 - 7, ie the ''Jazzier'' albums in sequential order. Generally, there are no ''additional'' tracks either, unless the CDs included have subsequently been reissued with such tracks (eg the Thelonious Monk box)

Having said all that I have bought a number of these sets because they are just so cheap and a compact way of having, in this case 7 CDs, in a box no larger than the usual plastic double CD case.

So, if the box you are considering happens to have the CDs you want and you are not looking for any additional ''packaging'', books or information, these are fantastic value.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
A few weeks after coming - out, as a young guy, I bought one of the LP's from this CD-box.. Turned it over and over for days and days, only this one.
Then lost it by lending out and now have it back again. Plus a lot more against a very low price..
Enjoyed it and heard how I first found the Jazz in the rock, send to me by Soft Machine and all those other jazzrockers from that time.
Nice to be there again, the sound is dated now, but still a joy because of the memories that blow-in trough this music.
But I don't hear it as the top now. After all those years with way better music it is dated. That is a criterium, because other music from the same time does not date, stays standing.. Still: very good for a smile !!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2012
This review is not only about the Original Album Classics box, but includes the first and second album of Soft Machine. I would like to honour them with an award. This is the group I have listened to by far the most often in my life. 40 years ago I became a fan. Today I still play at least once a week one of their first four CD's. I often ask myself why I never get tired of this music. It must be because it makes you feel good, free and balanced. The ingredients: an explosion of creativity and ideas, a little bit of craziness, the smell of the hippie era. More's the pity that the magic of their playing together lasted only until the fourth album. After that Soft Machine was dead: the sound continued to be good but there was something missing. Dear Robert, Mike and Kevin, if you read this, thanks a LOT guys! Hugh and Elton alas won't be able to get the compliment.
The documentation included in the editions of the first (The Soft Machine) and second (The Soft Machine - Volume Two) album is very nice and full of memories. The Classics box contains only CD's (a large amount of music at a really cheap price), but no extra's, no background information.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
The Soft Machine were a seminal avant garde jazz/rock outfit .... this collection represents some of the finest music of the late 60s-70s era.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.84

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)